We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tennants Arms

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Tennants Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 282: English reviews
Start your review of The Tennants Arms
 Click to rate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited the Tennants Arms in April for a one night stay in the hotel. We love the area and the location of the hotel is beautiful in such a tranquil setting. Over 12 months ago, we visited and ate in the restaurant, but have to say we were shocked by the recent transformation. It’s clear the new owners have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjleeds201
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've eaten here previously but decided to stay for 1 night this week now the place is under new ownership. What a difference! Bright, beautiful, clean , fab menu and beers ......... and the bedrooms are wonderful ; I peaked in some other rooms to see what others were getting. All looked fabulous and mine was lovely with a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merryl P
Yorkshire, England
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here as a small group for a family gathering. The rooms were large with a quirky feel. They were exceptionally clean and bathrooms were modern with a choice between a walk-in shower or a bath. The location is ideal as a base for walking and exploring the Dales and the setting is so peaceful with stunning views. A large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIMPLYSHAUNA
Alaminos City, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago

just called in on spec for lunch, mid week so quiet as tourist season only low season. beer was excellent, staff welcome was very good, as there was only a chef and a receptionist, we ordered of the menu, my wife asked for her choice to be altered from written menu, no problem, only slight complaint was plates were only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALUN P
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was very good and I hope to see you again. Kind Regards

Darlington
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been visiting this pub whilst on walking holidays in the Dales for over 20 years. the Sunday lunches have always been superb, but sadly this was not the case last weekend. The pub has changed hands relatively recently, I'm sad to say that the new management need to up their game. On entering the pub, it took five minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouDarlington
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. I am currently looking in to your experience to see why the bar did not have a member of staff present and why the quality of the food you received was not up to standard. We do currently only offer beef...

Holmfirth
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here last night. We were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our room which was a large double, nicely decorated and well equipped. Enjoyed a walk into Grassington, over the hills and through the woods on the way there, and the (easier) back road route on the way back. Evening meal was a disappointment; the veal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PuddyCat99
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not have a very enjoyable stay. We had some problems with the veal which was supplied by a local butcher this weekend and actually took it off the menu that evening so please accept my apologies as we are currently looking in to this matter. I can only...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Tennant Arms a few times over the years and always enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal for those looking for some peace and quiet in an atmosphere where it's OK to don your comfy clothes for dinner(bliss). It is fair to say it does need a little TLC but it has recently re-opened after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allisonem1969
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for such an in depth review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In such a big building there are a lot of little things which we are still working our way round as you notices but we are nearly there now as I hope you would agree and we do hope...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to visit here for dinner one evening over the bank holiday and must say I didn't enjoy the atmosphere in the pub. It was lacking a friendly vibe. Unfortunately the food wasn't really amazing either. The chips were undercooked and portions pretty small for the price. Based on my own experience, I wouldn't recommend visiting unless you're in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarshmallowMountain
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and this is the first time I have ever had feedback about the pub not seeming friendly. I do apologise and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your bank holiday. Kind Regards

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had an overnight stay at The Tennants Arms. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome. We made a request for a twin room at late notice, which they accommodated us with no fuss. We had bed and breakfast both meals were excellent and the evening meal especially the dessert (lemon meringue) was fab. It was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I will pass your comments on to Caroline. I am also glad that you liked the recent refurbishments. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed over the bank holiday weekend in order to take in the sights and sounds of the famous Yorkshire Dales. The hotel is just a stone's throw from Kilnsey Trout Farm and a mere 3 miles from Grassington (I recommend walking down the back road on a nice day). My room was both comfortable and spacious, while the freestanding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMski23
bhgrass, Owner at The Tennants Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilnsey
4.8 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
107 reviews
8.8 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
769 reviews
9.0 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
926 reviews
4.7 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
104 reviews
22.3 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a boutique hotel situated in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, nestled under the spectacular Kilnsey Crag. We are an independent run business that prides itself on locally sourced British food, good range of cask ales, fine wines and friendly Yorkshire hospitality. Our pub/hotel is suitable for all occasions, whether it is a family activity holiday, romantic escape with roaring log fires, wedding parties or just simply a visit to the Dales. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tennants Arms

Address: Mastiles Lane, Kilnsey, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 5PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Kilnsey
Price Range: $130 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tennants Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Tennant Arms Hotel Kilnsey
Tennant Arms Skipton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tennants Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Tennants Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front and some at the side offer excellent views of the dale.”
SIMPLYSHAUNA, 24 May 2017 | Read review
“The twin room was compact but the double rooms spacious and all decorated in a different theme”
262judithm, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Superb views, great atmosphere”
TonytheFilmGuy, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great fell views from front facing rooms”
des2568, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“wharfdale was lovely, fourposter bed, huge ensuite”
kerrygold48, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5