BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park

86 Paranaple Rd, Kelso, Tasmania 7270 Australia
Traveller (79)
Solar Heated Swimming Pool
Pool & Beach (7)
Wombat outside 2 bedroom cabin
Room & Suite (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Kelso
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
2 Bedroom Cabins sleep a maximum of 6 persons and the 3 bedroom premier cottage sleeps a maximum of 9 persons. Free wi-fi in the park. Wildlife freely walk around the park in the evenings for guests to see.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Pool
Fence around pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
136Reviews0Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 34
  • 7
  • 4
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Annie W wrote a review Jan 2020
2,580 contributions110 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here to recharge ourselves before going back home after our busy trip around the State. We planned to stay for two nights but stayed for three. So quiet and relaxing with no noise at night, clean amenities, bbq/camp kitchen. We took trips up to Greens Beach and the National Park as well as Beauty Point and Beaconsfield. Nice water frontage is good for a stroll and the wallabies at night are very cute. Plenty for kids to do with a pool, playground, volleyball net, soccer posts and open spaces. The only downside is the $1 coins needed for the bbq and shower for 5 mins. We have been to other parks that have 5 min showers that cut out but don’t cost anything and the bbq’s are free. If I was the owner I would be promoting this park as a good stay for some R & R before heading back to Devonport to get back on the Spirit, it certainly did the trick for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara R, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 11 Jan 2020
Many thanks for your R & R response. As always, your response is so welcome, even your comment about the $1 coin for the showers & BBQ. We do appreciate your concern. You mention the shower that cuts off after 5 minutes. We also thought they would be great & put them in originally, but kids will be kids, & there is only a 2 minute brake in between each 5 minute shower, & the kids were having up to 45 minutes in the showers quite regularly. Many areas in Tasmania & certainly some mainland townships are running out of water & having to sink bores & cart water to survive. Water is the most valuable resource on our planet & a small price to pay. The wallaby's & paddy melons are out in force each night and so lovely to sit and watch. Wish there were more wombats with them but unfortunately most have not survived mange which spread though Tasmania in the last 4 years. Wonder if you saw the Tasmanian Devil that has been out in the camp area at night. Again, thank you for your comments. Hope you had a good trip back on the Spirit. Kind regards Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jemma wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This park is very well maintained and staff were very welcoming and accommodating on arrival and throughout the stay. It is a beautiful quiet space with plenty of animals coming out from dusk to dawn. It’s also a great place to use as a base to explore the Tamar Valley.

The pool was absolutely beautiful To relax around and was lovely and warm.

We paid $45/night for a powered grass site and struggled with the fact that we then had to pay for a hot shower on top of that however noticed that quite a few parks in Tasmania were set up like this.

We were travelling with young children who enjoyed the basic play equipment available.

It did feel that there were an overwhelming amount of signs and rules in common areas that made it a little harder to relax and enjoy the spaces but understand that some guests may have taken advantage of the spaces prior to us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Hi Jemma, Thank you for giving readers some great information about our park. Showers as you rightfully pointed out are charged for in many parks around Tasmania & also mainland Australia. Water is such a valuable resource & some towns in Tasmania actually run out of water each year so I feel that paying $1 for a wonderfully hot 5 min shower which doesn't cover gas & electricity cost for a 5 minute shower, is a small price to pay. On saying that you said you paid $45 for your stay. That covers 2 people only. You mentioned you had children also so wonder if you actually paid for them. We asked some campers about the signs in the park. They had been here for 2 days. Asked them if they thought there were to many signs & they were more amazed than myself. We looked at the signs & analysed the wording of the 3 in the camp kitchen. Sorry, but not all campers come from Australia, not all have an appreciation that wildlife don't like cigarette butts on the ground. I guess it takes all types but Common Sense ain't so common any more. We do appreciate you taking the time to give your feedback & hope you will come back again. Regards Barbara & Bob Owner/managers
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our second trip to Big4 at Kelso. 4 families joined us in their caravans and we all had powered sites. The sites are so generous in size with grass well maintained and trees nearby for climbing and playing in. Barbara is so welcoming and accommodating and runs a beautiful clean park. The bathrooms are maintained well throughout the day, showers have great pressure and easily accessible from different parts of the park. The kids loved riding their bikes, the soccer goals, all the room to play cricket and the pool. It is so peaceful at night with limited noise, wildlife surrounding our vans and beautiful sunsets. This is our favourite caravan park in Tassie and we will all be returning next summer!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hey guys that is a beautiful review & we are so very happy that you guys think of our park as your most favorite in Tassie. It was great to see all the kids all playing games during the day & riding their bikes & playing games. Forgot to ask you about how the fishing went. Have a great year & look forward to seeing you all again next year. Warm regards Barbara & Bob
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robyn C wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with friends and our sons and had an amazing rest. Very kind and lovely caretakers, Robert an Jan.. Also very very clean. The beds are comfortable and it really has everything you need.
The showers are hot and the teenagers played with a Frisbee, basketballs, and even got given extra time on the pedal carts!
All up was a wonderful time away and definitely will stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 8 Jan 2021
Morning Robba, Sorry I missed replying to your review. Glad that you and the family enjoyed their stay & you went away with good memories. Thank you. Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mikhyla wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Barbara communicated very well before and after booking. Was able to check in early if desired. Grounds were very clean and peaceful, nice clean pool and short walk to the beach. We paid for extra people that didn’t end up coming and she offered and gave a refund for both nights for the people that didn’t come. We will go back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Afternoon Mikhyla, So glad you enjoyed your stay & glad that we in some small way contributed to that. Such an exciting time for your family to be out with your new van. Enjoy your trips & I hope you do come back one day to share some stories with us. King regards Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Absolutely beautiful caravan park, so clean and tidy, the owners were so friendly as were all the residents and campers.
We had such a great time and any questions were answered by the owners, even after hours.
The pool was also nice and deep and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Glad you had a good stay and enjoyed your family get away. Glad you all enjoyed the pool especially on those hot days. Come back and visit again soon. Cheers Barbara & Bob
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin2058 wrote a review Mar 2024
Mount Barker, Australia25 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This holiday park is a hangover from earlier and simpler times. It has an old world charm to embrace its visitors. It's a bit out of the way, but worth the effort of finding it.

Not crowded! Our site was drive through and about 10 metres from any other site. The amenities were spotless and comfortable, unfortunately the showers needed a dollar to work.

The onsite host, Barbara, was incredibly welcoming and helpful - certainly a welcome change from some of the parks we'd used in the previous weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a few $1 coins for the showers.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Morning Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review. We always appreciate guests feedback. Hope you had a wonderful time in Tassie & take home some great memories of this beautiful state. Warm regards Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tameka wrote a review Jan 2023
Devonport, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked and paid for a site. It was expensive already at approx $80 per night for a powered site. When I booked it asked for dimensions of our equipment which we gave (caravan and tent). Once we were there half way through our stay we were told we need to pay more for the tent. We didn’t take up any extra space than what was allocated to us on the day of arrival but they ended up charging us an extra $36 per night so our stay was almost $120 per night just for a powered site. Absolutely unheard of and will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs, you will get charged extra for your site on top of what you pay when you book...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 4 Feb 2023
Thank you for your review. To be fair to readers, one of the main things when putting up a review is to give all the facts. We were told when the booking was made that there was a 21 foot caravan & tent for 4 adults plus 2 children. Over the phone I was told the tent was a small to medium tent which was fine but on check in when I said your have the van plus a smallish tent, the mother said oh no, it is huge & she was right. It was huge. After you set up you were hanging out over the site onto the clearway which need to be clear at all times for vehicles or emergency access. A solution was found by offering two unpowered sites in an absolutely beautiful location. It cost an extra $38 per night which allowed you loads of space. The mo ey paid for 1 powered site was adjusted onto the other site so great outcome for the 3rd January when all sites are at a Premium.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay wrote a review Mar 2024
Burnie, Australia8 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an absolute brilliant time when we stayed. We had powered camp site 1 right next to the camp kitchen. It was relaxing, clean and we loved the wildlife which is out everywhere at night. All the amenities were always kept in immaculate condition, nothing was ever found dirty or unkept. They have music playing in the showers and around the pool which I thought was brilliant. Plenty for the children to do, we hardly saw (always knew where he was) our grandson who made friends and was off playing on the equipment or exploring the park. The nicest thing I thought was the fact that Barbara remembered my grandson's name and said a friendly hello everytime she saw him. Barbara was always friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be back to camp.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 15 Mar 2024
Good morning, What a beautiful review. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review & to give other readers an insight into our park. We look forward to your return visit. Please feel free to ask for the same site if you like that area. If you book far enough ahead, we can often oblige by giving guests the same site or one close by. Warm regards Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen H wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our stay , very peaceful, cabin beautiful & perfect for a base to venture away from each day.Pool was heated we used every day . Our stay from Thursday 23rd to Tues 28th in cabin 4 was perfect.Nothing to complain about , bed was great slept every night really well , kitchen was great full size fridge excellent, bathroom very modern ,we didn't use spare room . I have left a review on the business facebook page of places we visited . Hosts where lovely & we arrived earlier than we expected wasn't a problem so Thank you so much for accepting us earlier , safe secure & permanent residents where lovely .We watched the Launceston to Hobart race start down the Tamar from the beach front of the park.
Thanks again for our perfect break. Regards Karen
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barbara Radley, Owner at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Responded 31 Jan 2022
Morning Karen, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback & we are so pleased that your holiday was so relaxing & that you loved your cabin. Hope to see you back again one day soon. Kind regards Barbara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
happytraveller202021 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The best beaches are a short drive away, not at Kelso sands. "
Read full review
Kevin2058 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Mount Barker, Australia25 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a few $1 coins for the showers."
Read full review
Mark G wrote a tip Feb 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of space available for a tent even in mid summer."
Read full review
BVMRM wrote a tip Jan 2024
Devonport, Australia22 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stock up on $1 coins for the showers (or use the coin machine in the laundry)"
Read full review
tameka wrote a tip Jan 2023
Devonport, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs, you will get charged extra for your site on top of what you pay when you book and way overpriced"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kelso area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$181 - AU$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaKelso
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG4 KELSO SANDS HOLIDAY & NATIVE WILDLIFE PARK (AU$181): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park
Which popular attractions are close to BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Nearby attractions include Platypus House (7.3 km), Seahorse World (7.4 km), and Bass & Flinders Maritime Museum (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, kids activities, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The River Cafe at Beauty Point, George Town Seafoods Pty Ltd, and Gray's Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to BIG4 Kelso Sands Holiday & Native Wildlife Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting York Town Historic Site (6.7 km).