We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dog & Gun Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 59: English reviews
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We booked Dog and Gun 18 months ago as the venue for our daughter's wedding. Everything about "the wedding package" was great. It included florist service, luxury cars, and delicious wedding cakes. The staff at Dog and Gun were so nice and relaxed about it all, and anything we asked for they did it. The food was delicious and included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susangreen154
Cuddington, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Unfortunately I do not know where to start. Firstly this was not our first choice but due to unforeseen circumstances our preferred booking was cancelled at the last minute due to personal reasons that being Rudby Hall. It was half term holiday and we had no choice but to book the Dog and Gun Potto. Whilst travellingto the hotel we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Micheal D
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments however.... First of all we do not have family rooms, nor do we advertise this anywhere. Your mother in law rang up and due to your hotel cancelling on you last minute and a member of that hotel actually ringing us to warn us before you arrived about the way she had been spoken...

Potto, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We celebrated our sons christening at the dog and gun and it was perfect from start to finish! The team went above and beyond to make it a very special day. The food was excellent all our guests loved it Thanks for making his day perfect we will be returning very soon x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Had a fantastic meal on Monday 23rd May 2016 to celebrate my 50th birthday. Food was fantastic - complimentary celeriac soup, which was an unexpected surprise, gorgeous!! My daughters loved the Parmesans, we had the lamb, steak pie and burger. All fabulous. It was a quiet night in the pub but this did not detract the fabulous service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallyGNE
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This was our first ever stay at this Country Inn for my wife & I. Overall I would give it a very good rating - excellently furbished room & bathroom facilities (would put some 4* hotel's I have stayed in to shame); & we had no complaint's re the quality / quantity of the breakfast provided. We did have some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hts0204
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Having been to the dog & gun on numerous occasion for meals but haven't been there in quite a while we decided on friday to nip over for a spot of lunch, got there about 12:30, the waitress behind the counter said they were waiting for the fish delivery, within a couple of mins she said the fish had arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roberteK7241SV
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here and eaten here a few times. The rooms are great couldnt fault them. Food also great we stayed on a saturday night there was a great atmosphere and a band playing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pub inside was very modern and fresh looking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellie W
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We were a party of seven with a small baby (my grandson). We were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in and served with drinks in the bar area and given the menu to order our meal. With only a short wait we were escorted to our table which was in an annex off the main dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

A very hardworking team at The Dog & Gun in lovely Potto make staying, eating and relaxing easy. Add a top draw chef in the kitchen and you'll be hard pushed to find a better place around, especially one that can match the value here as well. We actually had a problem in our room, but the manageress was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wirelesskev
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Visited this place fora meal for the first time It was empty in the dining room The room itself was comfortable , and nice decor The meal was slow in arriving and a bit disappointing The dessert choice was limited and what surprised me when I chose the Bakewell Tart and asked for custard with it, I was told no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John N
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. First of all you were the first table we had booked that evening (upon the restaurant opening) so when you did arrive the restaurant was empty but as you know when you left or even during your visit this was not the case. With regards to the dessert, you ordered...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potto
5.6 km away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
829 reviews
7.1 km away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
8.7 km away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
372 reviews
3.6 km away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
60 reviews
9.2 km away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#3 of 5 in Yarm
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Address: 2 Cooper Lane, Potto DL6 3HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Potto
Price Range: $102 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Dog And Gun Country Inn
The Dog & Gun Country Hotel Potto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dog & Gun Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
York, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Dog & Gun Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were ultra modern, unusual for a country inn”
 of 5 bubbles susangreen154, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Premises located in a small rural community - so no issues of noise, etc”
 of 5 bubbles hts0204, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Get the suite!”
 of 5 bubbles wirelesskev, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
“pay the little extra for the suite”
 of 5 bubbles chez4226, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Our room 2, was a standard Twin/double. the bed was vast and the bathroom spacious. All the guest rooms face north and overlook the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles mikewY4108RN, 19 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5