We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oxwich Bay Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxwich
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Oxwich Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

895 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 893: English reviews
Start your review of Oxwich Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Lovely stay for wedding. Used facilities of the hotel but stayed in spacious caravan with breakfast included. Lovely for a few days. Friendly and helpful staff. Super breakfast. Wish I could be brave enough to have cockles for breakfast. 70s loos in hotel could do with some tlc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah C
Dawlish, Devon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is in a lovely position with views over the bay. Plenty of nice local walks and also plenty to do and see just 15-30 mins in a car. We booked one of the six pods in the Secret Garden which was crabapple. When we first arrived we found the lounge and shower room but no bedroom. All was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bartonbelle
shropshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stunning views Nice food Friendly staff Beautifully decorated Wedding room is lovely Marquee is spacious & overlooks the bay-comfy sofas & chairs Clean & tidy Good baby changing facilities Well stocked bar

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank helen t
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ample hotel parking then outdoor tea plus tea cakes while enjoying the view. Luckily weather good. We wandered onto the beach ( 2 minutes ) and enjoyed watching sand castles, kite-flying and a horse-ride. Great outing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George T
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

You certainly seemed to find some of the best activities on your visit down to Oxwich! We're glad that you could enjoy it all with tea cakes at the Hotel. We hope you'll be back soon for another memorable outing!

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

£4.25 for a latte. £7.50 for a desert. Total rip off. Since the new Bay Restaurant has opened on the beach, with exorbitant prices, the Oxwich Bay hotel has decided to up its prices also. Totally taking advantage of their location and the fact that they effectively have the monopoly in Oxwich. Don't go there!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kwilliams24
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you are going to eat / drink at the hotel then you can park for free. Had a great walk along oxwich bay and then a cream tea at the hotel outstanding service. If you have a dog then the hotel will let you take them onto the lobby or plenty of settings outside.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James4573
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so pleased that you called in to see us for a cream tea after your walk on the beach. We hope to see you again soon.

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite being on an beautiful location, the service received was awful. After a long walk in typical Welsh summer weather (yes, cold!), we both really fancied a warm drink and a bowl of handmade chips. After waiting 25 minutes on our table outside, with just a smattering of other customers, I decided to check on the status of the order....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank julesmpayne1974
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are bitterly disappointed with your experience and can only apologise for what happened. Please be assured that we take the matter seriously and are in the process of reviewing procedures. We do hope that this one-off experience will not deter you from visiting again. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by accident with a friend. We were given a warm welcome, and enjoyed a delicious lunch. I decided to go entirely veggie as my companion was a veggie and we shared a variety of lovely dishes. Highlights include the chickpea pâté and poppadums, and the filo parcel filled with winter veg. Good cocktails too! There are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry the service was a bit slow at the end of your meal, but glad that you enjoyed the veggie offerings that we have and the cocktails! We hope you will both be back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights here at Oxwich Bay and had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were very helpful and the food was delicious, especially the breakfast each morning, which we were able to enjoy with magnificent views out towards the beach as well with beautiful glorious sunshine. I would like to say thankyou to the hotel manager for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy E
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay (especially breakfast!). We're glad that one of our managers was able to give you plenty of ideas on what to do in our area... we only hope you haven't done them all this time and come back to see us to finish off your list!

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed two nights at Oxwich Bay Hotel over a weekend for a friend's wedding. I stayed the first night in their new secret garden and the second in the main hotel. Over the weekend I ate dinner in their restaurant, lunch in the garden and two mornings of cooked breakfast. Absolutely every part and detail was perfect! The sun...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth J
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your 2-night stay with us and were able to try out our new Secret Garden as well. It sounds as if you had a lovely weekend! We hope you'll be back soon.

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
3.4 km away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
151 reviews
4.2 km away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
602 reviews
6.0 km away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
144 reviews
11.4 km away
Norton House Hotel & Restaurant
11.9 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Price Range: $87 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Neath, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Camberley, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not applicable”
julesmpayne1974, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“static caravans 1-4 have very small double bed - or a large single”
JMM738, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room with sea view”
GaryS664, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A cottage for a quieter room, but main hotel for hotel facilities”
nicklC2384MY, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Standard rooms have views over roofs of building with a wooded hill behind. More expensive rooms have wonderful views of the bay.”
548lesleyj, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5