We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oxwich Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxwich
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Oxwich Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 841: English reviews
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Sat at the dog friendly bar after a cold afternoon walk on the beach, the log fire was roaring which was very welcoming. The coffee and scones were nice, although a little overpriced, and the scones were a little on the small size!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have been 3 times and it gets better each time. The food is just beautifully cooked and presented and served with great friendly staff. Just a stones throw from a 2 mile beach and or dunes walk or woods walk. Great chill out areas and good room. So friendly and unassuming comfort. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and it's lovely to hear that you've been several times and we are improving each time... we are always looking at ways to make our customer experiences even better! We love your description of "friendly and unassuming comfort." We hope you're planning your 4th visit soon!

Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Attended a friends wedding here from Ireland. Loved the location and surroundings of the hotel. The food, drink and service at the wedding was superb and the marquee setting with dimmed lights made it a real nice evening. I was disappointed that the We stayed in the nearby cottages after the wedding and it was ideal as there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damienshealy
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad that you loved our hotel, and the Wedding team will be very pleased with your comments about the service and the marquee. We hope that you'll visit us again, maybe for a short break!

Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Did not stay at the Oxwich Bay Hotel on this occasion as it was just a day trip, but we did go in for lunch - what a fantastic tasty fresh lunch. We had two items off the light bite section, my husband had the lamb stew, which he said was very good, hot and lean meat. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank powell7
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your lunch both in terms of the food and also the staff. We share all reviews with our staff, so they will be very pleased to read yours. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not sure what others see that I found the experience disappointing we were at a wedding did our menu beforehand state la carte but it was very ordinary tasteless gravy for chicken was like porridge surroundings could have been better and certainly no access to disabled people up to the marquee would I go again never

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 291,958
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so sorry that you found the food was not to your liking at the wedding you attended. We usually have very good reviews about our wedding food, so we will speak to the chef about the meal you had. Thank you for your comment about the disabled access. We will review how we can improve this for those customers...

gower
Reviewed 1 week ago

After a lovely walk across the beach, we decided to call in and have a drink. I had a pint and the wife had a bottle of beer. I got 20p change from a tenner. The lounge where we sat was lovely, with the log burner going and the comfy sofa. On the way home we called to The King...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cliffclop
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're so glad that you were able to enjoy the surroundings and the lounge and fire... there's nothing like a fire at this time of year! Our pricing policy takes into account many things, including the location of the hotel and also our desire to employ, train and retain our exceptionally friendly staff whose...

Solihull
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well a great place to come, pet friendly, stayed in the the refurbished cottage on the ground floor, fab room bathroom with roll top bath, however fir such an large pace the shower could have been a little larger, However this is a personal point and may be fine for others The staff where so warm, helpful not meet a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor C
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff are very pleased with your comments. We've liaised with the kitchen about the soup so they can review that, but we're glad you enjoyed our "proper" chips! We hope to see you again soon.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another wonderful 4 day Christmas break. Stayed again in Ivy Cottage, our daughters stayed in the hotel ,The great tor ,a lovely sea view room.We would like to thank you all for making our Christmas together so special,from the housekeeping staff ,all the waiting staff and you must have the best chef ever !!!! Will be returning next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill R
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay and the staff, and we're so glad you enjoyed Christmas with us. We look forward to seeing you next Christmas!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding here before Christmas. It was a fantastic day, the food and venue were fantastic, the staff worked really hard to make the day special for us and our guests. Everyone spoke very highly of the day. We had a very comfortable stay in the hotel and fantastic breakfast the next day. A truly wonderful venue and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EJWales
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your wedding and your stay and we hope you are enjoying life as newlyweds! The staff are very pleased with your comments. We hope that you'll pop down and visit us soon, or perhaps for your anniversary!

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you all for the most amazing Christmas all of you, I hope to post this on Trip advisor to, we live in Bedfordshire our journey travelling time varies between 3-6 hours. We have stayed at the hotel on several occasions, had our wedding their and eaten at the hotel many, many times. However, this Christmas we broke family tradition...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MariePrice-Peters
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I know I have written back to you personally in an e-mail, but it's so kind of you to post your comments on Trip Advisor as well since you clearly enjoyed your Christmas break so much. We hope that you will come back next Christmas and see us again!

209 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (200)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxwich
3.4 km away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
146 reviews
8.2 km away
The Gower Hotel
The Gower Hotel
#9 of 25 in Swansea
290 reviews
4.2 km away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
340 reviews
11.9 km away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
126 reviews
11.9 km away
The Mumbles Hotel
The Mumbles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mumbles
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oxwich Bay is set in 8 acres of private grounds at the western end of the beautiful Oxwich Beach. Just yards from the beach, The Oxwich Bay is an ideal location for a day out or a short break. All guest rooms are en-suite and many enjoy sweeping views of Oxwich beach. Luxury or standard and family or pet friendly, we have the room to suit you. Gower in general, and Oxwich Beach in particular, is great for relaxing. For the more adventurous - water sports such as windsurfing and sailing are popular in the sheltered bay of Oxwich. Boat trips, golf, pony trekking and surfing are all available locally. The Oxwich Bay is located within ten metres of a beach on the Gower Peninsula – Britain’s first designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Oxwich Beach has been named as “Britain’s Best Beach” and one of the “Twelve Best Beaches in the World.” The Oxwich Bay has been a family managed establishment since 1959 and prides itself on the little things that will make your time here that little bit more special. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oxwich Bay Hotel

Address: | The Gower Peninsula, Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Oxwich
Price Range: $86 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Oxwich Bay Swansea
Hotel Oxwich Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Camberley, United Kingdom
Harrogate, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oxwich Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Three Cliffs”
 of 5 bubbles L7644TEjohns, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay in the cottages nearby”
 of 5 bubbles damienshealy, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As we have a dog a refurbished Cottage room would be great if taking your pet”
 of 5 bubbles 276trevorc, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All very good rooms, cottages, caravans and pods”
 of 5 bubbles MariePrice-Peters, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Excellent hotel”
 of 5 bubbles penyrheol, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5