Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tanah Merah Art Resort

Traveller (717)
Room & Suite (550)
Dining (104)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in Melayang
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Unique Tanah Merah Art resort is located only 4 km (4000 m) from the center of busy Ubud. The short scenic route from Ubud winds thru rice terraces with view of the big volcanoes until you arrive at the hotel with the only access in Ubud to the Petanu river in the jungle, where you can swim up to the waterfall. The 18 villas and rooms are decorated with art and antiques. The unique museum and gallery here take you thru 2000 years of Indonesian and Balinese history.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Billiards
Table tennis
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Massage
Massage chair
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Gift shop
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, Indonesian
452Reviews5Q+A89Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 300
  • 98
  • 26
  • 7
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lianna S. wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I went back in December for our honeymoon. This was the last stop of our trip, and I am SO glad we ended it here. First of all, the people in Bali are the sweetest and humblest of people you will ever meet.

We booked the Mads Lange Villa, primarily to get some good photos in the infinity pool. But everything about this villa was impressive. The jungle views was the epitome of serenity; from the pool, balcony, and our restroom. The art and history of Mads Lange and his family that is displayed throughout the room is a great starting point to dive into the history of Mads Lange himself. And last but not least, the staff here are AMAZING! We felt like we were home the entire time. Everyone was so welcoming, attentive, and genuinely loving. Bali is a place we will definitely come back to visit and Tanah Merah is the resort we will stay at again. Kudos to the friends we made and everyone that worked to give us the best experience! <3
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms near the jungle make it worth while!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue W wrote a review June 2023
New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just stayed here for 2 days, during our visit to Bali. We chose this accommodation as we wanted an authentic experience, staying in nature. The location, creative artistic ambience really appealed, and the stand alone villa with artworks and rich coloured walls perched above a deep bush covered river valley was magnificent. The deep pool with a lovely water feature was close by. Breakfast was served in another stand alone villa or you could choose to be by the pool or dine on our own balcony. The owner, Peter, was a lovely host, and we enjoyed his stories and history telling of his beloved Tanah Merah. Peter also has an eye for beautiful and colorful artwork and a Museum as well, which we unfortunately didn't get time to explore. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This is a special place that has been handcrafted with love. Just enjoy it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ketut Ginastra, Agen/Konsultan at Tanah Merah Art Resort
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Dear OysterRiverOwner, Thank you for selecting Tanah Merah Art Resort and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It's wonderful to know that you found our resort to be an authentic experience, the location, creative artistic ambience really appealed. Also, Thank you for your kind word to Mr. Peter as a lovely host and and colorful artwork. We will make sure to pass on your gratitude to him. We understand the feeling of wishing for a longer stay, and we would be more than happy to welcome you back for another fantastic experience. With kind regards, The Management of Tanah Merah Art Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
inge-Marie Holst wrote a review June 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Tanah Merah for four nights and had a great time. During the pandemic the resort had been greatly upgraded and maintained and we enjoyed the super surroundings, the ambiance and the staff who, as usual was extremely supportive and helpful.
We can recommend Tanah Merah for a wonderful relaxing holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David D wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
While this resort had amazing views and great architecture, my wife and I had three problems that made us decide to cut our honeymoon stay short.

First, there was an annoying hallway light outside of our room that could not be turned off, which reflected through the glass above the entry door into our room throughout the night.

Second, the toilet area had not been cleaned properly prior to our stay, with some sort of dirty residue left on the floor and an empty tampon wrapper. The rest of the room was very clean, though.

Third, and most important for us - being woken up at 4am by a very loud and proud rooster within close proximity. One main reason for us coming to a secluded area of Ubud was to get some solid sleep, since back home we don't get much with our toddler. It mentioned on their booking page that the rooms were 'soundproof', though this wasn't the case at all. We understand that this is part of the village life outside of the main city, but it was a non-negotiable for us.

We gave the front desk agent the opportunity to rectify the issue with even a partial refund for our remaining days, which he flat out refused, which led us to leaving this transparent review.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ketut Ginastra, Agency / Consultant at Tanah Merah Art Resort
Responded 21 Jan 2024
Hi David D, We thank you for your compliments regarding the surrounding environment and the unique architecture of the property, which are proud to showcase being an authentic Art resort. However, your comment regarding the room comes as a surprise for us, as you did not report such issues during your stay at the property, and we feel that your comments need to be clarified. The hallways lights are obviously located in the hallways and there was no way that you were able to see them from your bed. If we were made aware of your complaint during your stay, we could have simply turned the light off, or moved you to a different room further away from the lights. Our rooms are always cleaned to the highest cleaning standards and your comments regarding the toilet cleanliness are further perplexing us, especially with the fact that it is another issue that you did not mention during your stay. Again, we could have simply rectified the issue by further cleaning the room or moving you to another room – if we were made aware of this issue. We are however happy to know that the rest of the room were up to your standards. With regards to the crowing noises of the roosters, your review already speaks for itself – that it is a part of the village life, especially in this rural part of Ubud where the village is still traditionally Balinese and such issues can occur. Nevertheless, since your review we have successfully coordinated with our neighbors to minimize the noise disturbance. With regards of the refund request, as it was yourself who chose to book the room with non-refundable policy to get lower rates and yourself is the only one to blame. Regards, The Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
landstein wrote a review June 2020
Madrid, Spain127 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
During the Covid-19 period (when most hotels in Bali were sadly suffering), a friend of mine and myself decided to visit the hotel to have a drink (in case they were open which we didn't know). Upon arriving, we parked the car and an old expat exited the Reception building, and in a very aggressive and unwelcoming tone addressed us with "What are you doing here?" to which I replied we were looking forward to have a drink in case the hotel was opened, so we could also discover the place. With te same aggressive tone her replied "The hotel is closed! You have nothing to do here, the owner decided so" and in the most rude manner, he turned around and left in a very impolite manner. We then left to never go back. To whoever that person was: if your resort is closed and you don't want anyone there, close the gate, the chain or install a fence to avoid anyone going in. And that person should get a bit of the usual Balinese pleasant, welcoming and friendly attitude, it would be beneficial for the hotel and for the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AnnaILW wrote a review July 2022
Copenhagen, Denmark16 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Being a regular and unquestionably satisfied guest at Tanah Merah Art Resort over a period of 10 years now, I returned for my first visit after the pandemic and was thrilled to see that it is looking more magnificent than ever, as the owner has made an impressive renovation effort during the past 2 years.

The resort has always been outstanding with its unique natural rainforest surroundings on the unspoiled riverbank of the Petanu River + waterfall (with access from the resort), comprehensive integration of local art in the surroundings and last, but not least, incredibly fascinating local heritage museum collection. There is even a tribal adorned rooftop bar and restaurant, where I have taken wonderful pictures of the sunrise with Mount Agung in the background and enjoyed meals/drinks overlooking the jungle canopy and sunset.

This place has just the right distance to busy Ubud, it’s heaven to retreat here after a day of touring. The staff are helpful and friendly, always making sure that I am feeling my best, and during every stay I have encounters with delighted and amazed guests from all over the world. This is exactly what I needed - it’s pure joy to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet H wrote a review Sept 2023
21 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT GO HERE! The positive reviews are deceiving and they must be fake. We just booked 4 nights and are leaving before our first night despite being charged for it. This hotel is like the scene from a horror film, there’s blood dripping down from the ceiling in front of our door, blood on the curtains by the bed, everything is dirty, it’s such a scary place too. There don’t seem to be any other guests apart from us, there’s creepy paintings everywhere and it’s so eerie. Everything is badly maintained and the roof terrace has a few plastic green chairs on and some sort of tarmac flooring and a few unberellas with holes in. The windows in the room have a 5cm gap all the way around and there are mosquitos in our room.The only good thing is the pool but it is very green and dirty. Stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MortenAndNiluh wrote a review Mar 2022
Malmö, Sweden11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing place, and Covid time was wisely spend on total renovation by the owner.
This hotel looks better then ever, we stayed at the Mads Lange Villa, witch offered an amazing view.
We had great food at the restaurant, and found Ubud only 10 min drive down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GauriPoswal wrote a review May 2022
Chandigarh1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The property itself has so much to offer. Our room, Studio 5 exuded Indonesia's heritage, as did our neighbouring room complete with a Java bed. Each day we got to explore the property bit by bit, starting with the sky bar going on to the waterfall and of course, the museum! The collection is breathtaking as is its arrangement. Much respect to the owner, Peter, the man behind all of this that made it happen. Kudos to the team headed by the ever-so-vibrant, Nura (Hope I got the spellings right). You are amazing. The visit to this property, located where it is, is humbling and enchanting all at the same time :)

With love from one of the BHX Tribe.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JulMomo33 wrote a review Apr 2022
Singapore, Singapore99 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the villa (Villa Bintang Suite no.1) with a private pool and a fantastic view of the Pertanu River. It was a short drive from Ubud town centre. The hotel was well maintained and I really loved the beautiful landscaped garden. We were also lucky to be given a personal tour of the hotel grounds by the owner, Peter. I personally enjoyed the world class museum conducted by the staff. Look out for the playful cat, Missy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristen wrote a tip Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore287 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay, even if it’s on big discount."
Read full review
Sue W wrote a tip June 2023
New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a special place that has been handcrafted with love. Just enjoy it."
Read full review
Sanjay Khandelwal wrote a tip June 2023
Indore, India79 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away"
Read full review
Arnielavo wrote a tip May 2023
Belfast, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t book"
Read full review
Vish K wrote a tip May 2023
Crowthorne, United Kingdom16 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You will enjoy as only 15 mins car ride to main Ubud market. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melayang area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$68 - AU$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tanah merah resort & gallery hotel ubud, tanah merah resort and gallery, tanah merah hotel gallery
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbudMelayang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TANAH MERAH ART RESORT (AU$68): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Melayang, Indonesia) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tanah Merah Art Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Nearby attractions include Puhan Art & Craft - Art Class In Ubud (0.9 km), Bali Simple Wood Carving and Batik Class (1.0 km), and Tanah Merah Museum (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Air Cafe & Lounge, Apéritif Restaurant, and CasCades Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tanah Merah Art Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Tanah Merah Art Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Tanah Merah Art Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Melayang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tanah Merah Art Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Indonesian, and Danish.