We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Villa Awang Awang

Jalan Melayang Melayang Village, Melayang, Ubud 80571 Indonesia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (530)
Room & Suite (425)
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Melayang
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nurture body and soul in a luxury villa.A choice of 1 , 2 ,3 or 5 bedroomed villas Situated ten minutes drive from Ubud, the cultural centre of Bali, overlooking the sacred Petanu River and lush tropical jungle. It is designed according to ancient traditions. 22 Staff including masseuse, chefs, and drivers.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Bicycle tours
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, Indonesian
434Reviews8Q+A66Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 344
  • 70
  • 13
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Rolands Varsbergs wrote a review Feb 2020
Copenhagen, Denmark36 contributions4 helpful votes
What a secluded place in Ubud. If you’re looking for the best retreat, this is a place to stay while in Bali! Breakfast was really tasty. Helpful staff, very friendly people, it’s also possible to go down with a guide to the hidden waterfall and swim in the river right by the willa!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
matt c wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions
If you’re looking for a unique secluded beautiful place to stay just outside of ubud shopping district, this is your place. The villas have panoramic glass walls that you can just lay in your bed and watch monkeys climb trees and lizards pass by. Incredible views, excellent service, and not too expensive either.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ashraf Shaikh wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
Had a very Pleasant stay at the Luwih Villa. Everything was great especially the staff, very friendly and helpfull. The only problem were the lizards!! But than that is a problem every where in Bali.. Enjoyed my stay. Thank you..☺️
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist48276507668, Owner at Villa Awang Awang
Responded 24 Jan 2020
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay . At least our little gecko friends keep us relatively mosquito free .We choose not to spray with poison as some other accommodation venues do, then guests can still enjoy all the other lovely creatures , fireflies , dragon flies , butterflies .Hope to welcome you back for your anniversary .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jackie S wrote a review Dec 2019
Perth, Australia37 contributions4 helpful votes
First time in Bali, absolutely loved this Villa, very secluded, loved the infinity pool, rooms where clean and tidy, staff where exceptional, a most relaxing place, with beautiful views, pictures dont do it justice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Matt B wrote a review Dec 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates90 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
The setting is lush. Set with the forest, you really do feel you’re in nature’s hideaway. The attentive staff, who continually greet you by your name, can never do enough for you. Even checking if you wanted breakfast, if you hadn’t placed your order. The drivers that took me into town were kind and friendly. The handy shuttle service is a great touch. The room is as described, authentic! If you’re not a fan of critters, then don’t choose a place in the forest. Being away from the centre of Ubud can be challenging but once you’re back, you appreciate the calmness and tranquility. My only reason for 4 stars was because the private pool was a little chilly. Nothing that they can do but couldn’t find a half star.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Marc W wrote a review Nov 2019
Austin, Texas172 contributions70 helpful votes
+1
For the first part of our Bali vacation I book Villa Awang Awang because I wanted to stay in the Forrest rather than downtown. Boy were we rewarded with amazing scenery and wildlife. It's about 15 minute drive to the villas so you get to town fast but when your there you feel like your hours from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Kwak and the entire staff could not have been more friendly, helpful or professional. They made the stay an incredible experience. One morning Kwak the manager took me and my wife to the river just below the Villa. It's a place the village considers a special and religious site, the go there to pray. It was a hike down but once your there wow, what a beautiful place. We stripped down to bathing suits and dove into a natural pool area. It was cold but so refreshing. If you go get him to take you there. Our villa was Mellah, a house from Java that was taken apart and reassembled on site, it was very old with ornate carving. No A/C but the time of season it was not an issue. It has an open airy feel and waking up and going to bed to the sound of the jungle made it even more special. The other villas are more modern. We saw monkeys most mornings including one morning where the showed up while we were in the pool having coffee. They were maybe 10 feet away at times, 20 or so monkeys. We watched them for 30 or 40 minutes as they ate and played all around us. Even running across the roof and at one point peaking into the open shower watching us take a shower before heading out. The views from the infinity pool were beyond amazing. A stay of a lifetime and I never thought I would say that about a hotel or staff. Simply incredible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Dear Marc , thank-you for taking the time to share your experience . We are very happy that you enjoyed our special place, the unique surroundings and our friendly staff . We look forward to your return visit next year .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TIJU wrote a review Nov 2019
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates7 contributions4 helpful votes
The place and the property is nice but not maintained properly. The pictures look stunning but the reality is far from it. We had taken a 3 bedroom apartment. The big bedroom upstairs does not have AC or ceiling fan. It has 2 small pedestal fan. Cannot stay during day time as it is very hot especially since the doors and windows need to be kept locked. The room will also have lots of big ants,frogs, big lizards and other insects. Even if you keep the door locked, they will still come in through the holes in the wall and doors. And lot of mosquitoes. We stayed in the small room downstairs as it had AC. When we booked the hotel, it said breakfast included but there is really not much option. Please do not expect buffet. We had the same breakfast all the days. The only 2 good things about the hotel is the staff who are very helpful and friendly and the pool in our room. But the pool also need to be maintained. People who want to enjoy the nature and do not have problem with insects should definitely stay here but families with kids should totally avoid this place. The staff were so caring and was always there to support us. Very good staff !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tourist48276507668, Owner at Villa Awang Awang
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Dear Tiju, it is very disappointing to receive such a negative review since I personally met you on your last day to ask about your stay . You did not mention any of the above complaints and even said " you have a very nice place here " Our villas and pools are thoroughly cleaned on a daily basis.If something was not satisfactory you needed only to mention it to one of our 15 staff who are on duty from 7am until 11pm. The fact that you were bothered by the wildlife has nothing to do with maintenance. All of the creatures you mention abound in the tropics and are found everywhere in Bali and not specific to our property ..It is clearly stated that we are in the jungle and close to nature.This is noted on the site you booked through, for guests to see before booking ."Due to the open plan design, gaps under the windows, and closeness to nature, animals like gecko, frog or firefly might enter the villa. The villa is not recommended for guests who are afraid of such harmless insects." Guests book with us to enjoy the closeness to nature and the opportunity to be open to fresh air and the sounds of the river below ,rather than being sealed in an air-conditioned box.Some of our villas which are of a more enclosed nature do have air-conditioning if needed ,however you chose Villa Melah which is a very large antique teak house with soaring ceilings and we clearly state that the main section is not air-conditioned .There is absolutely no need to lock the doors and windows . When the large double doors on 2 sides of the house and the windows are open there is always a cool breeze up from the river . We have an extensive breakfast menu , see pasted below .If you had the same breakfast every day it is because that is what you ordered. You may have liked to mention staff going out of their way to provide you with breakfast every day after 1 pm when the breakfast service finishes at 10.30 and the free airport transfer worth USD40 which you were actually not entitled to receive but obtained by deceit . Breakfast Order Form VILLA NAME: _________________ TIME:_____ In Villa _____ In Pavilion ______ FRUIT JUICE Mango (when in season) Orange Pineapple Coconut Tea Coffee SMOOTHIES Banana, Dragon Fruit, Strawberry Muesli bowl shaved coconut, dried fruit, berries and topped with Yoghurt and a side of honey A LA CARTE (Mains section) Bubur Injin Banana Pancakes Asian Breakfast Omelette plain Omelette Savory Eggs – Fried Poached Scrambled Boiled (Extras section) Sourdough Toast Croissants Bacon Avocado Mushroom Grilled tomato
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
livelaughtravel1125 wrote a review Oct 2019
California17 contributions4 helpful votes
We were so fortunate to call this wonderful place home for 4 nights while in Ubud, Bali. We stayed in Villa Melah, which was just the greatest escape from everything. Villa Melah was just so comfortable and roomy. This resort is truly away from it all, yet just a very short drive in their shuttle to town, which was the perfect blend for us, to enjoy some peace and natural jungle beauty. Keuk, the asst. manager, was the kindest soul, always there to help with whatever our needs were, as was the rest of the staff. If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay when in Bali, look no further than booking one of the villas at Awang Awang, you will never want to leave....miss you all so much already. Thanks for such a wonderful stay..... what a fantastic place this is....and as their saying says, is where Heaven Meets Earth! :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang
Responded 27 Oct 2019
Thank-you for taking the time to write us a review . It was a pleasure to have you stay and to know you appreciated our staff . We consider ourselves lucky to have such wonderful staff and Kuek is a good chef as well as a hard working assistant manager.Hope to see you next year .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Raluca wrote a review Sept 2019
Romania10 contributions1 helpful vote
Villa Awang Awang it's a wonderful place to taste a little bit of Bali. We've spent here 10 lovely days, with kind people and a perfect view from the villa. I can say that the villa looks even better than the photos shows on website. Thank you for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
begumiko wrote a review Sept 2019
Istanbul, Türkiye138 contributions71 helpful votes
+1
It was absolutely like heavan. Villa is in the Jungle. We stayed at villa Luwig . It was ok for 2 person. It was very good designed and natural villa. It has private little pool for relaxing. breakfast was also good . And the staff was very friendly .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from 1Anila, Owner at Villa Awang Awang
Responded 4 Oct 2019
Thank-you for your positive review - we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in nature . Villa Luwih is the perfect little retreat to relax and enjoy the sounds of the river below. We hopw you will visit us again .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Melayang area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$49 - AU$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa awang awang hotel ubud
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliGianyar RegencyUbudMelayang
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA AWANG AWANG (AU$49): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Melayang, Indonesia) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa Awang Awang
Which popular attractions are close to Villa Awang Awang?
Nearby attractions include Puhan Art & Craft - Art Class In Ubud (0.9 km), Bali Simple Wood Carving and Batik Class (1.0 km), and Tanah Merah Museum (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Villa Awang Awang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Villa Awang Awang?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Villa Awang Awang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa Awang Awang?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villa Awang Awang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Apéritif Restaurant, CasCades Restaurant, and Warung Tepi Sari.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Villa Awang Awang?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Villa Awang Awang have airport transportation?
Yes, Villa Awang Awang offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Villa Awang Awang located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Melayang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa Awang Awang?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villa Awang Awang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Indonesian, and Danish.