Mahan Garden Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mahan Garden Resort

Circumferential Road Caliclik, Babak, Mindanao Philippines

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.5
#4 of 4 resorts in Samal Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Private Beach Resort, Caters To Affordable Vacation For Families On A Budget, No Corkage For Food And Drinks. Convenient Location, Excellent Transportation Accessibility. Encourages Guests To Cook Their Own Food With Free Unlimited Hard Fuel Available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
21Reviews8Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 4
  • 4
  • 3
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lorelyn Caballero wrote a review Jan 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From the broad selection of beach resorts in Samal Island, Mahan Garden Resort should be included in your list. It is to be found in Brgy. Caliclic, Babak District and takes pride for its crystal-clear beach waters and white sand. The resort has several cottages for you to pick from, including that of a cottage with a gazebo, Gazebo, clustered rooms and a dormitory for huge groups. The resort has also very affordable entrance fees, with a huge parking area and a pavilion. Not to mention Mahan doesn’t ask for corkage fees, they have good pressurized water and guests can makes use of its cooking vicinity with free firewood.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claudine A wrote a review Mar 2017
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we get there the place is not clean and the staffs there they are not accommodating us well. And the beach has lots of garbages that is unpleasant to the eyes of their customers. I hope that they will improve their resort because it so accessible and that is their advantage.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2018
maybe you stayed when there was a lot of sea debris due to freakish strong rains up north, which is washed by strong southern currents...we cannot control that. we do give our best to dispose the garbage as fast as we can. another thing though, even with our reminder and plea to our guest to place their materials at our garbage bins...some more often than that do not do that. they would rather have our staff pick up their trash to be disposed of. i hope this answers your complaints. thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marion wrote a review Aug 2015
Davao City, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For those visiting Mahan Garden Resort for the first time you might want to checkout this review I made for them based on my experience. I hope this will help you decide whether to stay here or not.

Communication: They can be contacted through a phone call or text message specially if you want to get a reservation (Yes. They have reservation). The only issue I have is it takes them some time before they can respond to your queries.

Location: Mahan is just few minutes away from Samal Wharf which makes it very convenient for those who doesn't have any vehicle. You can reach the place by taking a 5-10 minutes walk, take a motorcab or ride a "habal-habal". You'll know you're in the right place if you see a yacht parked at the beach.

Personnel: I'm not sure how many staff they have but there was this guy am not sure if I still remember his name but I think it was Oliver. He's an all around dude, I see him as a receptionist, I see him in the store, I see him clean the beach, I see him as the cashier and I see him where I don't expect to see him. Just find him whenever you go here, he's really helpful.

Room: Always ask for their gazebo as it will include a two-level cottage. The ground level will serve as your cottage that is connected by small spiral staircase to your room. Their gazebo can accommodate up to 3-4 persons.

Facilities & Amenities: This is not the place where you want to experience a banana boat ride and you don't scuba dive here if you're even thinking of that. Am not even sure if they had a playground. One thing is for sure, they have a karaoke in the function hall that you can use all night long and a pantry that you can use (Just make sure to ask Oliver first).

Corkage: Worried? You shouldn't be. They don't have any corkage fee (For now). Hooray to those Red Horse and lechon baboy lovers!

Shower and Comfort Room: There are two sections: one on the left wing and the other on the right wing of the resort. The shower and comfort rooms in each wing are close to each other so don't ask if you smell like you took a pee after taking a shower.

Expenditures: Their "sari-sari" store does not offer overpriced goods so you do not have to worry about that. I paid well over P600 for the gazebo for an overnight stay and I find it cheap given that it offers a cottage and a room. The expenses in the end was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 29 Aug 2015
thank you for your insight...we always have been catering to people who wants to spend time with their family without busting their wallets...we try and succeeded in accommodating groups catering to their specific requirements. as for our pricing...well...you know it was all worth it. even with your experience with the common toilets and bath..its really not that bad considering what the other resorts of lower standards have...we originally started the NO CORKAGE POLICY, the first ever in samal and we have done so for the past 7 years...so its not as you stated 'as of now"..we find it funny...because its a 'NOT EVER' affair with mahan except for catering of course. the resort is not big..its a 'just right' size and we do have other staff to cater to your needs. you just see oliver everywhere because he is our head staff and as part of his fringe benefit, he runs the convenient store to provide extra income for him...call that employee accommodation, which i'm sure other establishments will never do that. As for recreation...all you have to do is ask..if you want to play volleyball..we have a big court in front..totally FREE of charge, water sports? yes we do provide it too...from snorkeling all the way to para gliding...all established resorts have a third company to provide those services, if the guests wants it....we call them up, no extra charges...we also provide tours which are affordable in comparo to our world class counterpart. now with communication...majority of the resorts do not cater to reservation, most of the time its a walk-in basis...delays considered is primarily due to the time allotted for in-bound inquiries and reservations, we cater to this from 8:30 am to 6pm daily, standard phil. time, maybe you called or texted a tad bit off time or maybe the seasonal sheer volume of incoming calls and reservation was already peaking...anyways, we do appreciate your review and this will make us better, thank you very much and thank you tripadvisor for relaying the update. much appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
slazenger552 wrote a review Mar 2017
Davao City, Philippines
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mahan is just a small place or area, but it's organized. The gazebo is good to stay and cheaper, and it is fronting the sea for a romantic view of Davao Gulf. The dorm air-conditioned room is also good for groups.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: You may choose the gazebo fronting the sea. The upper room has electric wall fan.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2018
thank you very much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charmjoy L wrote a review Sept 2017
Bacoor, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oh well, i was invited by my husband's co worker to celebrate his son's Bday.. the beach same as usual. area is bad, rooms are not good, its a small place to hang out... so sad cause it was the day that it has a heavy rain and earthquake when it happened.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2018
bad rooms?.do tell.....we never claimed to be a world class resort. we cater more to people looking for a place that they can afford for their budgeted out lay. our facilities are convenient and we usually cater to big groups who are on a budget. maybe you are used to an upper class expensive resorts, i suggest maybe next time have your events at pearl farm or secdea instead. but we do welcome anybody who wants to stay or celebrate their events at mahan, as long as there are available units. thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elim S wrote a review July 2014
Davao City, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
my experience in mahan was excellent. the service of the staff was good ,especally oliver he facilitates and accomodates us well. the cleanliness is thier and the relaxing air. i love mahan so much. i would like to express my big thanks to the management of the resort because we enjoyed our bonding so much.keep it up.. GOD BLESS
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 29 Aug 2015
so sorry for the delay...thank you very much for the review, this makes us warm and fuzzy all throughout. we have just finished our bi annual last quarter refurbishment, you might like it better...looking forward to your comeback. thank you tripadvisor for the update.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
zaidah d wrote a review Apr 2018
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Malansa yung aircon dorm, amoy cr na hindi namin maintindihan. May mga tumatakbo po na sobrang laking mga daga, not just one ang dami nila! Mas takot pa yata yung mga pusa sa mga daga, nakikipag eye contact pa. Pagdating pa namin nilalangaw yung table sa cottage. Horrible place!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shane S wrote a review Mar 2016
Budapest, Hungary
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The place is very simple.They have very few cottages that looks like it's been worn out over time. Cheap place that's good if you're on a tight budget & walking distance to the wharf,the only reason why this place is an OK place to go.The worst thing is the beach is very bad because it's full of sharp corals that can really cut you no matter how careful you are.It cut my sister's toes.Everywhere on the beach area even when you swim up to the 5 feet depth is full of sharp corals in different sizes.So better use beach shoes.If you intend to feel the fine sand on your toes well this is absolutely NOT the place to go.
Plus the staff were not properly oriented regarding their policy on pets.We brought my one year old terrier because he loves to swim & the receptionist said dogs are not allowed inside the resort.When we were about to leave to find another resort that will accommodate us she said it's ok to bring the dog as long as I pick up after his litter.And of course I will.Leaving time came at about 5 P.M.,a guy came up to me & told me dogs are not allowed.And that next time if I go back to their resort I cannot bring the dog with me.And guess what, I told him I was not going back ever again.
So I was furious because the receptionist said it was OK.My dog didn't poo that day & was never a nuisance.So I went back to the receptionist & asked for an explanation regarding their policy & that she should coordinate with the other staff.
Horrible place.Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 19 Mar 2016
thank you for your entry....but sadly we do not believe your statement to be true with all due respect. cottages are worn out? really now.....we have just finished our pre season refurbishment and repairs and yet you imply that it is worn out? get real. if you have been to samal there are seasons where the sand shifts and it exposes the corals lying underneath, and its a seasonal thing which last for 1 and half month... we are not allowed to take those corals off because DENR (the environmental arm of the government) does not allow it. and most probably you tried wading during the low tide which explains that 5 feet is far off from the shoreline...the wise thing to do is wait for the high tide to come in just 2 hours for you to have a better swimming area...however, from the beach line and a half away its still sandy, only at the farther stretch is where those corals are. now about the dog, we do not allow pets anymore due to many complaints that preceded that policy, guests were complaining of disturbances and animal waste that are not picked off or cleaned by the dog owner. if the receptionist allowed that then thank you for the information, she will be reprimanded for that, maybe you were forcing the issue that made her/him allowed you for that. good thing too that your dog did not poo that day....and if it did, you will end up cleaning it. at least you were spared. lastly, have you ever bothered to ask our staff to assist you? bet you did not. anyways, you always have the option to transfer to another resort and yet you still stayed...which makes us think....that you were the one haggling to give you discounts with already a very minimal price point for things far better than the other establishments with the same or even greater price points, which might be the cause of your complaint...anyways, thank you for your insight, it will help us more in our future operations.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richthof R wrote a review Aug 2015
Davao City, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice looking beach with a city View plus calm waters that is great for snorkeling and night swimming. Very near and with a reasonable price. for family getaway or friends and can be home to office convention. check it out
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 29 Aug 2015
thank you very much....we have recently finish our pre season last quarter refurbishing...you might like it...hope to see all of you soon... thank you for the update tripadvisor, much appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert W wrote a review June 2014
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at mahan for the second time, the other time about 3years ago.then it was great but now they have not done any maintainance on this place. It's falling to bits and if you like ants everywhere this is the place for you.Never again will I venture to this resort (what a joke) The place has never been cleaned the staff are lazy could not be bothered to do anything.the rubbish from the night before was cleaned up at 2pm at our request. The only bright light in this depressing review is Oliver who helped us get through it all. Thank you for all your help.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mahan Gardens S, Manager at Mahan Garden Resort
Responded 25 June 2014
thank you for the comment robert, we'll do better next time, and by the way before you took the room, everything was prechecked. even the floors...you brought a lot of guests specially kids who probably left that so called rubbish under your bed. as we have told your wife before do not bring food inside the room. all of your request were taken care of. you have to understand the resort has been operating non stop since december...our schedule for maintenance is during the low season. which is around july or august. we are the only establishment left without raising our tariff to maintain status quo with our prices even the cost of operating and taxes have gone way way up. likewise with regards to our staff, thank you for informing us, we would surely do something about it. and its about time to change employees. i emphatize with your complain. this will surely help us make it better.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mahan Gardens S
Samal, Philippines
it's quite hard communicating under trip advisor, i suggest if possible browse our website. prices ranges from Php 400 to Php 1,750 depending on the units you will be choosing. thank you.
margamangin asked a question Mar 2017
Davao City, Philippines
Pwede ba magdala ng tent? Magkano ang overnight?
Answer from Mahan Gardens S
Samal, Philippines
it's quite hard communicating under trip advisor, i suggest if possible browse our website. prices ranges from Php 400 to Php 1,750 depending on the units you will be choosing. apologies, we do not allow tents. thank you
Answer from Mahan Gardens S
Samal, Philippines
age limit?...no age limit.
Martin_Abiquibil asked a question Feb 2016
Davao City, Philippines
What is your email address?
Answer from Mahan Gardens S
Samal, Philippines
it's quite hard communicating under trip advisor, i suggest if possible browse our website. prices ranges from Php 400 to Php 1,750 depending on the units you will be choosing. trip advisor will not post our website, apologies.
Answer from Mahan Gardens S
Samal, Philippines
please do communicate via email or call us (082) 271 5378, so we could attend your inquiry better. thank you for inquiring. thank you for the referral tripadvisor. great day.
slazenger552 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Davao City, Philippines1,106 contribution288 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"You may choose the gazebo fronting the sea. The upper room has electric wall fan."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Samal Island area.
LOCATION
PhilippinesMindanaoDavao del Norte ProvinceSamal Island
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAHAN GARDEN RESORT - Reviews (Davao/Samal Island, Philippines) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mahan Garden Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Mahan Garden Resort?
Nearby attractions include Ayala Malls Abreeza (7.4 km), SM Lanang Premier (5.0 km), and Monfort Bat Sanctuary (5.5 km).
What are some restaurants close to Mahan Garden Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Benjarong Bar and Restaurant Davao, Siam Lounge, and Madayaw Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Mahan Garden Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Japanese Tunnel (13.3 km).
All Samal Island HotelsSamal Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Samal IslandHotels near Mahan Garden Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars