Silverwood Inn Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Silverwood Inn Hotel

389-399 Conception Bay Highway, Bay Roberts, Newfoundland and Labrador A0A 1G0 Canada
Have you been to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Post photosWrite Review

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 2 small hotels in Bay Roberts
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Inn,located within the breathtaking natural beauty of the Baccalieu Trail, offers our guests hospitality beyond expectation! Encounter the magic, mystery and wonder of our Newfoundland as it lifts your spirit, clears your mind, and brings peace to your heart. We have 20 spacious rooms, LCD, Cable TV, Wi-Fi, Mini Fridge & In Room Coffee. Hotel offers licensed dining room with traditional Newfoundland cuisine, cozy lounge, library or chat room, a children's play centre, picnic area with firepit. Located in the Town of Bay Roberts within minutes of shopping, walking trails, recreation complex and marina.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
20Reviews1Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 7
  • 1
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
M.S wrote a review July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall nice place but the staff seem very condescending, especially the female manager (?), I didn’t feel welcome,. and did not feel good about asking for anything from her,,we only seen the two owners there, anda young girl. the young girl got us extra towels when we asked and was very polite, the male owner was also nothing but nice. I feel this place needs to work on its hospitality,, and does seem a little overpriced
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Matthews wrote a review May 2018
Conception Bay South, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting town to see a local artist. A good experience! The owners were very friendly and offered to cook meals anytime we wanted. The room was also nice and had very comfortable beds. The only thing I would mention is when we were out of town to attend to a concert, we never got back to the building to after 2:00AM. Once we got there, we were terrified as we realized the door to the lobby was locked and we couldn't get it in. We called the number shown in the porch and the owner came and let us in after about 5 minutes. After a few drinks and for a few minutes we thought we were going to be sleeping in the porch of the hotel. This was a very minor concern during our stay, as the service and friendliness of the owners were great. A heads up would of been nice that doors would be locked at a certain time, but all was great, and we would return!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duals98 wrote a review Sept 2016
Fergus, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
yes, a bit tired as someone said earlier, but the people really make up for it.
The basics are there and the amenities are basic but all there.
They are very welcoming, and helpful and really want to please.
They will go above and beyond as someone else has indicated.
if I returned to this area, I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All rooms to see equitable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded 18 Sept 2016
Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmN wrote a review June 2022
St. John's
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The place smelled really old upon entering, we proceeded to room which was ok, screens in windows was broken, no air-conditioning,view from window was OLD bikes and a unused outdoor pool full of crap. Went to go to bed and one of the kids seen creature on mattress which appeared to be bed bugs OMG owner just said ok and gave money back, like really and then we seen more. 10pm we left to find new place to stay The owner then knock on car window said it was Flys trying cover his butt but in fact was bedbugs So discussed
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gary M wrote a review Aug 2023
London, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The lobby and restaurant was welcoming and the owner(?) was friendly, but the rooms were dated and run down. AC was not available in one of our rooms and the door to the bathroom did not close properly. We cut our visit short after only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Team_Panic wrote a review Aug 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was by far the greatest hotel we visited during our roadtrip in Newfoundland. Upon arrival, when noticing we were traveling with our (adult) daugther, the owner Randy provided us with a room 'en-suite' which gave us 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a lot of space.

He also gave us pointers to the laundromat and a great walk that is on no map - but turned out to be exceptionally beautiful.

The hotel may not be the most modern and when you are into luxury or high class amenities, you should probably not go here - if you can appreciate friandly people, good honest food and a decent place to stay - I would recommend you go here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T.Vo wrote a review Jan 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was there for a week in the middle of cold winter just after the New year. But a warmly welcome from the owner and his staff makes me feel like home. Nice room and clean , home cooked meals were awesome . I will definitely stay there again on next business trip .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2019
Thank you for the great review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Siro89 wrote a review Aug 2017
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We never had the opportunity to stay at the silverwood inn because the reservation did not get that far so I cannot comment on quality of the facility itself, however, I can comment on the level of customer service I received as a potential guest.

We had originally reserved a room at the silverwood for two nights. They have a 48hr cancellation policy so 4 days before our stay we cancelled for the first night as our plans had changed. This seemed not to be a problem. Upon a phone call from a friend to discuss a call she received from the silverwood inn about her reservation, I called to see what the issue was. I was very rudely spoken to by a woman who I assume to be the manager and patiently listened to her rant on about how they were a small hotel and only make their money in the summer and for anyone we know to cancel now or their card would be charged. I tried to explain how our plans had changed and we no longer needed two nights but was abruptly haulted mid-sentence because she wasn't finished yelling at me. She ended the conversation by hanging up on me after I asked to cancel my reservation (which I was not within the 48hr window as their policy states). It was despicable and outright rude and not what you would expect from a facility who you were going to give business to. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is unfortunate for the owner since I had multiple conversations with him and he seemed to be nice and understanding. But he needs to choose his staff more wisely if he expects to receive business. Not a good experience at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2017
Thank you for your review. We had several rooms with 3 day stay blocked out for a team travelling from St. Anthony for many weeks during our peak season. We turned away many guests for that time period. A few days before the booking we had multiple bookings cancelled or request less nights. Knowing that we would not have the time to re-rent these rooms in our peak season was very upsetting. As I tried to explain that a small hotel in a small town have limited opportunities. Some hotels charge a non refundable deposit for team bookings and we will look into this for the future. I apologize for ranting this to you. You were the last guest from your group to confirm or cancel your reservation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne E wrote a review July 2016
Corner Brook, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Silverwood Inn. We had a death in the family and needed a place to stay on short notice. The staff were super helpful, kind and friendly. I felt as if I were not in a hotel at all, but staying with family. The room was spacious and clean. And the beds were so comfortable. One night after a long day we were having a drink in the bar chatting with the girl about having steak the next night at Jungle Jim's. She told us that we should try their strip loin. Well let me tell you it was the best thing I ever put in my mouth. Way better than JJ. I like mine well done which can be problematic,but not here. Melt in you mouth. If you're looking for the Ritz this might not be the place for you, but if u want a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay then look no further. I definable will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Janice M, Manager at Silverwood Inn Hotel
Responded 10 July 2016
Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you all again in the future. Janice
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MacIsaac wrote a review May 2016
Antigonish, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I we heading to Bay Roberts for a couple of days and had difficulty finding a place to stay. We came across the Silverwood on the internet and decided to give it a try. The Silverwood is not a 4 star but is in good shape and the rooms are plenty big with the usual amenities, the hotel staff / owners are really friendly and made you feel welcome. For the price and overall conditions we were pleased with our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LC422 asked a question May 2017
Marystown, Canada16 contributions8 helpful votes
Do you allow pets?
Duals98 wrote a tip Sept 2016
Fergus, Canada17 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms to see equitable"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bay Roberts area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$196 - AU$198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandBay Roberts
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVERWOOD INN HOTEL (AU$196): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Bay Roberts, Canada) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silverwood Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bay Roberts Shoreline Heritage Walk (3.2 km), Cupids Legacy Centre (4.9 km), and The Newfoundland Distillery Company (2.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Quay, Skipper Ben's, and The Captain's Table.
Are there any historical sites close to Silverwood Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Brigus Tunnel (7.1 km).
Is Silverwood Inn Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.