We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Rectory Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Old Rectory Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again the group of around 40 of us all descended on the Old Rectory for our Christmas meal. Great service great food in a warm welcoming atmosphere. Staff impeccable as was their service. Great place to eat all year round. Big or small parties catered for and ideal for big family occasions or weddings. Lovely dining room or large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean L
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to this venue several times over years. And the food and service is always first class. Have attended several parties & weddings. And stayed over night. The New Year's Eve party night which is always well run with excellent food and entertainment. Staff are always helpful and nothing is to much trouble for them. Always look forward...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spudgeraldgaynor
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just spent New Years Eve at the Old Rectory Hotel and can't praise the hotel and staff enough. The hotel is warm, comfortable and clean, the staff efficient, friendly and very accommodating. The Gala Dinner was excellent , food delicious and plentiful as was the breakfast. Will definitely be returning in the warmer weather as it is an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JanVerney
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Small hotel with parking. Our room was in a separate block. Large double bed with crisp sheets. No road noise was heard. Room was very dark with window facing to the rear of the property. Breakfast was comprehensive with cooked breakfast to order.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bridget S
Norfolk UK
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Great food, great surroundings and great service. We went with a small group of friends and all love it. Beautifully cooked food, plenty of choice, we had pre ordered. This is a lovely setting for any occasion.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Wonderful place to stay with clean rooms, great staff and a quality restaurant. The breakfast was locally sourced and well cooked. We stayed for 2 days and will definitely go back as soon as we are able.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert R
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The most effective way to judge a hotel is how they deal with the exceptions and in this case it was, disappointingly. We arrived late having phoned ahead and were eventually greeted by someone whom I assume was the night porter, who had clearly been out the back having a cigarette. We were pointed in the general direction of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian B
Owner88, Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. We do apologise whole heartedley that you were disturbed by the "Cricket Club" and you were disappointed. Just to clarify you had made an online booking of a twin bedded room with two additional beds and not one of our family suites. Your booking worked out to be under £30 per person night (inclusive...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

I've just come back from a 2 night stay at the Old Rectory. First the staff. Friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile. They also saved me from the spider in my room. Second the food. Wow. You can not get better. Good menu with £20 for 3 courses and a good selection. Cooked to perfection. No microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bmurkin
Owner88, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the food was to your liking, so glad to hear someone came to your rescue with the spider and we hope to see you again if in the area.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We had a truly perfect and magical wedding day at this wonderful venue. We want to give a massive thank you to Ian and his team for all the hard work they put in on our wedding day. Ian helped us to decorate the venue on the morning of our wedding and his team took the decorations down on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gemmafaith2002
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both. It was a pleasure to be part of such a fantastic day. From all at The Old Rectory Hotel we wish you all the best for the future and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

strathaven
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Poor food at dinner dismal restaurant,seems to be fine for function business.Finding staff seems to be a problem never anyone on reception,very busy with function business but not particularly welcoming to guests.Pub down the road goes the extra mile and the food and ambience is far better they also do B&B.ROOM WAS COMFORTABLE ENOUGH. Grounds could be much improved with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bigglesStrathaven
Owner88, Owner at The Old Rectory Hotel, responded to this review

I am disheartened to read your review of how felt regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and is frequently commented on. Had any issues been raised with us at the time i am certain we would do anything within our power to rectify. With regards to the grounds we invest a large amount of...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crostwick
7.4 km away
Maids Head Hotel
Maids Head Hotel
#5 of 50 in Norwich
1,021 reviews
16.4 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,027 reviews
3.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
14.2 km away
Dunston Hall
Dunston Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Holy Cross
2,277 reviews
3.9 km away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Rectory Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the best that Norfolk has to offer. With easy access to the Norfolk Broads, Norwich City Centre, Tourist Attractions, Norwich International Airport and the North Norfolk Coastline. The Original Old Rectory dates back to the mid 18th Century and served nearby Crostwick Church (one of the oldest churches in Norfolk). Now privately owned the Solomon family have transformed the rectory into a beautiful Country House Hotel. Set within 3.5 acres of landscaped gardens We have 16 comfortable and well equipped en-suite rooms, bar, beautiful conservatory restaurant, 2 function rooms, cosy lounge, and outdoor heated pool. Just 4 miles north of Norwich our rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and transport routes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Rectory Hotel

Address: Old Rectory Hotel North Walsham Road | Norfolk, Crostwick, Norwich NR12 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich > Crostwick
Price Range: $101 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Rectory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Rectory Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from the function area”
 of 5 bubbles V6800WKianb, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ROOMS to the rear are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles bigglesStrathaven, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to book rooms 2 to 5”
 of 5 bubbles raysD3612BT, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just ask the staff in advance”
 of 5 bubbles painter100, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 21 not recommended”
 of 5 bubbles ajstevens0n, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay