We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ruakaka
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

PROS: - Along the TA trail - clean showers - cabin or campsite options - TA discount - nice wildlife nearby CONS: - poor excuse of a kitchen (charge by the appliance- half of them don't work, NO pots/pans/dishes/utensils either- so what's the point?) -cabin door did not lock -roaches in our cabin- ew! -clearly trying to nickel and dime... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlinjenkins
Whananaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Beautiful view from campsite, friendly and extremely helpful staff. After leaving I found that I had left a bath towel drying at campsite, called and was informed that it would be available washed, dried and folded upon my return.

Helpful?
Thank Watertraveler2000
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My husband and I have just spent a night at this camp in our motorhome and it was amazing. We had a beachfront site and there was always something going on on the beach to watch. The only problem we had was that we didn't understand that once we turned our laptop off we would lose all the data we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Great location, and friendly staff. The cabin we stayed in was very new, clean and nice. But... - This is the only site I have been where you have to PAY for cooking and showers, this is 2016, not the 1960s! I havent been to somewhere like this since I was a kid - The facilities are not worth paying... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattmerw
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Great place to camp. Handy to the beach. Kids loved the playground. Well run camp. Facilities were clean and always had hot water. Had everything we needed with the boat - boat wash and fish filleting station. Definately plan to return.

Helpful?
Thank TripleGee3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2016 via mobile

This camp ground could be the best holiday location north of Auckland. But it is heavily let down my the staff and management. Rude from the start. Staying with family between Christmas and new years, harassed by staff from day one, day two threatened to be kicked out for things no one in our group did. Very aggressive staff and... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Aaron G
China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016

2nd visit and does not disappoint. Short lead time but efforts were made to accommodate our family where we asked to be located. I made an error with check-in date but no issues and they cheerfully made the changes. As before, safe and a great environment for the family. Filled with like minded people and if it is a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank BensonChina
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

This is a great location but a joke of a holiday park. We were banned from doing anything. No riding bikes No music No laughing No talking loudly etc etc etc The management are arrogant and rude and can't allow people to simply have fun. There was constantly a smell of effluent which made our trip worse. The male manager... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank heyfrienda
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our location. We apologize that you felt banned from doing anything. We emphasize being a family camp and have polices in place to promote a safe family friendly environment. Unfortunately we were unaware of the effluent smell therefore unable to deal with this issue. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, we will now look into... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Huge campsite. Plenty of separation from camps 1-8. So why can't they group people according to the type of holiday they want. The older people, family areas, and people with teenagers! We got harassed every night at 8pm for playing music! We were grouped with 4 other tent sites in a row, and the noise could not be heard, it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our camp emphasizes "family camp". We have regular campers every year who request sites, therefore we can not group customers to holiday type. Procedures are followed to accommodate the enjoyment of all campers including quiet time at 11 pm. We apologize that you felt harassed, we had to deal with a... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We camped here for 6 nights as a family of 5 on a non powered site in Camp 8. Very happy with the facilities. We were close to a toilet/kitchen block which was reasonably modern and kept fairly clean for high season usage. Showers were by token which seems pretty standard in a lot of places these days. We have... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulieONZ
ruakakacamp, Manager at Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and recommendation for future campers. Pleased you enjoyed the beautiful environment we have with the estuary and surf beach. More 

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruakaka
14.5 km away
Waipu Cove Resort
Waipu Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Waipu
50 reviews
14.4 km away
Camp Waipu Cove
Camp Waipu Cove
#1 of 5 in Waipu
278 reviews
23.5 km away
Mangawhai Heads Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Bream Bay Lodge
Bream Bay Lodge
#3 of 6 in Waipu
41 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waterfront sites with beach view, powered sites suitable for campervans and caravans, tent sites and backpacker cabins. Family orientated camp ground, open all year. 2 minutes off State Highway 1 travelling North, 1.5 hours North of Auckland, 30 minutes south of Whangarei. Hot showers, kitchens, washing machines, dryers, internet, tennis court, playground. Safe swimming both in estuary and beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park

Address: 21 Ruakaka Beach Road, Ruakaka 0116, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Ruakaka
Price Range: $29 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ruakaka Beach Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would recommend Camp 6 for families”
 of 5 bubbles JulieONZ, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If it's windy, choose a sheltered site, not beach front. If you don't like walking far to the toilet, ask to have a site near an open amenity block-for safety purposes some are closed during off peak. Regardless, walk around every day and explore.”
 of 5 bubbles SmithCampers, 14 Jul 2014 | Read review
“When booking ask for a site with water view, or near an open facilities block.”
 of 5 bubbles auckwood, 29 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a site with a view of the water.”
 of 5 bubbles TorbayFive, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Loads of different tent sites to choose from, depends what you are after, make sure you talk to person when booking about what would suit you best, ie waterfront, larger site, sheltered etc etc”
  • Ruakaka Estuary from our campsite, dusk... low tide
 of 5 bubbles JacquiP247, 27 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5