We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oaklands Country Manor

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Oaklands Country Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oaklands Country Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Gorgeous vistas, incredible rooms and the opportunity to decompress - we LOVE everything about Oaklands! The owners are hands on and think of everything (from the fireplaces in each of the rooms for winter to their permaculture practices and the food... Oh my word... the food!!!!). We definitely recommend a stay at Oaklands!!

Helpful?
Thank The-Wanderlust-Boys
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We arrived late on a Thursday night and were welcomed in to the dining room. The kitchen had just closed but that was no problem and the served us dinner. The staff were a little unattentive but that may just have been due to the late hour and the other guests all getting ready to have desert, coffee and leave.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Greg G
normandy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2016

From the second we arrived until we left with heavy hearts, the warmth, service, facilities, food, hospitality and geography was mind boggling. Can not wait to get back to this home away from home, with many added extras.

Helpful?
Thank 722Default1234
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We were completely blown away by Oaklands on ALL levels. The stunning scenery of the Drakensberg surrounds, fresh air, amazing views, fantastic location and all this with stylish, relaxed and uber comfortable accommodation - feels like a home to share. We were made to feel so welcome and our children (age 4 & 6) were in their element - riding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
Annie B, Owner at Oaklands Country Manor, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte, thank you for truly wonderful feedback. We loved having you to stay as much as you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again when you in SA. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2016

A great little getaway within hours from Joburg. The feel is laid-back, charming, down to earth, yet sophisticated. The kind of place you can lounge all day in shorts/riding gear, mucking about the dams, hiking or riding or just reading a book...and in the evenings dress up for an outstanding dinner experience. The room decor is modern, clean, stylish and... More 

Helpful?
Thank InScreenNameHell
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Oaklands remains one of the most magical places I have ever visited and I simply love it. I could live here and that's saying a lot from a City girl! Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and staff and they make you feel so comfortable that whether it is your first visit or your third (in our case);... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NiciM2475
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2016

A great treat just off the beaten track. The food keeps getting better and the rooms more comfortable. I took a little more time to explore the spectacular surroundings on this trip and the drive out north is well worth it. Graceful country style!

Helpful?
2 Thank TimbavatiTrent
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We booked in advance for Christmas holiday and clearly mentioned we had twin toddlers. We had a rude shock when we arrived after our 6 hour journey to find we were in tiny rooms and the two cots in the room made even smaller. The bathrooms were very small with a shower in the tub and a fixed glass in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2015hols2015
Annie B, Manager at Oaklands Country Manor, responded to this review

Dear guest We were somewhat surprised by your review & felt that the review was biased & factually not completely accurate. As always there are two sides to every story & we feel that our side needs to be represented to paint a more complete picture. When you originally made the booking we had no family rooms available for your... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2015 via mobile

I have driven past the Caltex plenty times. But 7 km off the road is a lodge that is run by four passionate sisters and a brother. What a team they make! Half way between Durban and Joburg. This will be my must stop spot in the future. Think Asian styled salmon done perfectly with subtle flavors to enhance the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Sunday lunch at Oaklands is a real treat! A mix of old farm character and sophisticated polo charm, the food is the best we have eaten in a very long time. G&T's on the deck looking onto the hills, the happy local staff softly spoken and eager to please, the quirky Great Danes & Jack Russell, all corralled into the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Durbsishome

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Van Reenen
39.4 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
6.7 km away
Green Lantern Inn
Green Lantern Inn
#2 of 5 in Van Reenen
74 reviews
0.0 km away
Oban Guest Farm
Oban Guest Farm
#3 of 5 in Van Reenen
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
Lala Nathi Country Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Harrismith
66 reviews
52.1 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
26.1 km away
Mount Everest Guest Farm
Mount Everest Guest Farm
#3 of 9 in Harrismith
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 4 star holiday and leisure destination in sunny South Africa. Nestling in a beautiful mountain setting at the top of the Drakensberg Escarpment. Midway between Johannesburg and Durban. It provides the ideal mix of tranquility and activity. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you to your ‘home away from home’ which boasts country club privileges, every creature comfort and a safe environment that is affordable. We offer catered & self-catering facilities. Stay for a day or stay for a month! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaklands Country Manor

Address: Schaapdrift Road | Off the N3 Highway, Van Reenen 3372, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Van Reenen
Price Range: $149 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oaklands Country Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oaklands Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaklands Country Manor staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oaklands Country Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suites provide a better standard of deck furniture.”
 of 5 bubbles Paul210156, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Loved the private terraces with loungers for guests to relax and enjoy the fabulous views.”
 of 5 bubbles sianmorganhall, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We enjoy the suites, splendid views and away from the main public areas”
 of 5 bubbles LewR, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles cammoyoung, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“get there early”
 of 5 bubbles 30GregG, 1 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay