Pebble Point
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pebble Point

20 Old Coach Rd, Princetown, Victoria 3269 Australia
view
Traveller (87)
GORGEOUS - UNIQUE  :)
Room & Suite (53)
View from Great Ocean Road
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Princetown
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Pebble Point is an exclusive bush retreat nestled behind the cliff tops and rock formations of the world famous Twelve Apostles. Six spacious luxury tents are conveniently situated at the end of the Great Ocean Walk in the small coastal village of Princetown, approximately two and a half hours from Melbourne. Pebble Point is one of the few places in the world situated within metres of three national parks. The three parks highlight world class coastal scenery, wildlife viewing and marine environments. Pebble Point accommodation provides a unique opportunity to experience this special part of the world while ensuring your impact on the environment is minimal. The highlight of your stay at Pebble Point will be immersing yourself in nature, including amazing walking opportunities, migrating southern right whales and secluded beaches. However we also understand that comfort is nice at the end of a day of adventure and exploration. You will be provided with luxurious king size beds with a natural latex mattress, a choice of pillows, 100% cotton linen and spacious en suite bathrooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Non-smoking hotel
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Great View

Location

20 Old Coach Rd, Princetown, Victoria 3269 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Warrnambool Airport
75.3 km
See all flights
Melbourne Airport
186.8 km
See all flights
2 Restaurants
within 10 kilometers
108Reviews3Q+A35Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 38
  • 14
  • 11
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Travel2022 wrote a review Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The tent and views were fabulous. Great location between destination. The Kitchen area could do with some serious work! Everything felt dirty and needed a good clean before use. There were no tea towels to use. For the price it could do with an overhaul.. Some dry fire wood for the fire would have been nice too. Tents were great and view was lovely.. I know it's Glamping but, if you offer the use of items and you pay for them you want them clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Room Tip: If you're big on cleanliness bring your own cutterly etc....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nickrylancetravel wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom54 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great experience - 2 nights whilst exploring the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne. Pebble Point is the best location if you want to easily see the 12 Apostles and also all the other incredible rock formations and beaches along that coastline. The tent (no 6) was really comfortable, well equipped, good bed and good bathroom next to the tent. We used the kitchen only for breakfast but amenities were there incl fridge, toaster, cooking facilities etc Fun to get to know others and mingle a bit around the fire if anyone has put it on, or sit on your own balcony overlooking the countryside and stunning sky, filled with birds. Great location for going further up the coast too to Port Fairy and Tower Hill (if you have a car). Made a change from hotels, camper vans and lodges. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wanderer63628526998 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a beautifull site, but do not let the pictures fool you. The tents are nice but there are no tea/coffee amendities and road is close by. Site is not closed off with security/reception. . Bed is Very good and clean. Kitchen really needs some tlc. Fridge was durty and so was the kitchen. This is not according the pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No shops nearby. Make sure you bring everything.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew1357 wrote a review Nov 2013
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Pebble point is fantastic,

Do not let this review stop you from going, but please let this review stop you from booking tent 4. If there are no other tents available then don't stay! Or book another weekend!

In short, if you want to stay in a room facing a bush with no views at all, and stay next to a communal area which is noisy in the evenings and mornings then this is the place for you.

For everyone else who is expecting views and a place to put your feet up, stay in any other tent BUT TENT 4!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie A wrote a review Apr 2017
1 contribution9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights, had tent 5 probably the best tent for the views. We shared our tent with mice which was very off putting. The bathroom was clean and very well maintained. The communial kitchen was very dirty and tired, the cook tops didn't work properly and had knobs missing. The bbq was old and very dirty which actually caught fire durijng our stay and was then unuseable. Again this area was over run by mice. I wouldn't agree with the catergorizing of Pebble Point being luxurious at all.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tent 5 has the best view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scott K wrote a review June 2014
Sydney, Australia2 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Tents looked great and the bathrooms were very nice. But during the night we woke to the sound of something in the tent. We turned on the light and there were more than half a dozen mice scurrying inside the tent. This was at 3am and we had no other option but to sleep in the car.

On bringing our experience to the attention of management, they promised a refund. Over a month later and after following up twice, this has still not happened....lame excuses about issues with their internet provider.

I wouldn't stay here again and couldn't recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ColoradoHighlander wrote a review Jan 2016
Denver, Colorado267 contributions160 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really looking forward to our stay here over the christmas holiday. All of the tents were rented and we generally enjoyed ourselves, both alone at our tent, and in the communal kitchen. However, everyone staying there agreed that they were charging too much for what we were provided. At the price point they charge Pebble Point is competing with hotels, and they are not even close to providing an experience worth the price.

The Good:
The tents were nice and the bed was comfortable. There are large Eski's (coolers) in the tents, which is nice, but they don't tell you that upfront. It would be nice to know so that we could have brought ice and put it to good use. The bathroom was nice, albeit in need of a good clean. The location is great with access to cliff top trails and only a short drive to the 12 Apostles and other sights close by. The knives in the kitchen were razor sharp, which was a nice surprise.

The Bad:
It is very close to the road, so you hear all the traffic noise. It generally slows down at night, but still audible. The communal kitchen area is partially open, so it can be expected that there will be a little dust and a few bugs present. However, it appeared that it had only had a cursory wipe down recently. The refrigerator was rather dirty inside, the floor obviously hadn't been swept in a long while, there is a drawer missing in the cabinets, and in general it needed a good cleaning. We were the first guests there at 4:00 "check in" so we saw it before it had been used, and presumably after it had been prepared for our arrival.
The barbecue is a fire hazard. None of the controls or lighting mechanism work, so you have to adjust the gas flow at the gas bottle for the burners. Getting it started was like trying to start a flame thrower. Once lit, the challenge of keeping it at a level low enough to cook, but without the flame extinguishing, was an art form. It needs to be replaced immediately.
Our bathroom was probably very nice when it was first built. It's still pretty good, but the floors need a good clean, and the screens on the wall vents are filthy.

It might be acceptable at half the price they charge, but not worth it for the $175 per night they charge in Dec/Jan. A lot more attention to the cleanliness and keeping the facilities in proper working order could make this a great place.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tents 5 and 6 are the most private, but also close to the road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex B wrote a review Mar 2017
7 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Pebble Point for two nights in tent five. Close proximity to the road meant we had very poor sleep the first night; and managed to sleep the second night only with sleeping plugs purchased from the local hardware store. The traffic is reasonably limited at night but very noisy - it would be more so in peak season. If you are a heavy sleeper, you'll be fine, otherwise, I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

The common area was VERY tired and dirty. The gas hobs mostly don't work, cupboard doors are cracked and generally in need of replacement. The sole BBQ was also tiny and not sufficient for multiple guests - and in serious need of a clean. The area was being expanded so perhaps this will be rectified in time.

The setup has many sights close-by, including some lovely secluded beaches which are about 20 - 30mins walk away via a bush track. The view itself is nice, but not stunning -
looking out over wetland grasses/scrub. Pebble Point was no doubt worthy of 4 stars once upon a time, but it feels like it hasn't seen much love for many years and the attention to detail that makes glamping special was largely missing.

The level of cleanliness was poor, with the tent dusty and the bathroom poorly cleaned (e.g. orange grout in the shower and the wooden worktop varnish peeling off). It certainly feels like nothing more than a light surface clean is ever done, and even then there was much dust in the tent, under the beds etc.. that could be easily wiped away.

I'm not one to unfairly complain about a small business operation, but we were disappointed and couldn't recommend it given the proximity to the road and the poor level of cleanliness and maintenance. A shame - it certainly has much untapped potential!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Tent 5 and 6 appear to be the most secluded
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelDuo wrote a review Jan 2017
Sydney, Australia49 contributions51 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My son & I stayed here for a few nights. The thought of Glamping with a view was extremely exciting!

I thought the check in time of 4pm was just too late especially when you have young children.

Our tent was just average . . . My expectations were maybe too high to what we received.

Our tent was dusty & not clean as I thought it would be. Our view we're covered by overgrown bushes. Very basic that I thought my set up of my very own normal tent when camping was more inviting and warm compared.

The common kitchen was old and when we arrived the sink were full of dirty dishes.

We enjoyed our stay due to the close proximity to the sights.

I probably would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
purplemuse wrote a review Feb 2016
Paris, France227 contributions213 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have requested specifically for tent 6 as I have read that this tent has amazing views. We had to adjust our date of stay here as the tent we wanted was unavailable.

Pebble point from a far looks fairly decent. Unfortunately, when we got there, we were VERY disappointed to find out that the zipper on our tent was busted. We have this majestic view, but couldn't really see it from our beds because we have to go all the way back just so we can go to our viewing deck (terrace).
The tent ceiling is bang on pure filth, don't even look at it. They have a kettle for tea and coffee, but their spoons, glasses were disgustingly sticky and gross.

Our stay took place a couple of weeks ago. On the day of our arrival, we communicated with management and brought to them our concern. They agreed that a partial discount will be refunded, but disappointingly, I have never heard back from them. I have contacted them on Facebook as well, but they just keep on ignoring.

I really wanted to like this place so much, but they hardly maintain the facility And as mentioned above, their service is terrible. They will ask you to pay full amount prior to their arrival so that when you get there, you DO NOT get what you pay for.

I have never written a review so bad, but this place takes the award. Seriously, don't even bother. This place is such a rip off.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Georgia Q, Owner at Pebble Point
Responded 25 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Pebble Point. We have now fixed the zip on the tent and changed our cleaner. A refund was completed nine days ago and it concerning to hear you have not received it, given the number of emails we have shared together to date. Can you please contact me directly on contact@pebblepoint.com.au to resolve this.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from AussieGwailow
Melbourne, Australia42 contributions27 helpful votes
No you don't. You pay upfront for your stay and grab a code for the key safe. You then need to zip it back up, lock up and pop the key back into the key safe on check out and that's it, too easy.
Lisa S asked a question May 2018
Carbondale, Colorado73 contributions34 helpful votes
Is there wifi? What were some favorite places to pickup food?
Wanderer63628526998 wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No shops nearby. Make sure you bring everything. "
Read full review
Travel2022 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're big on cleanliness bring your own cutterly etc...."
Read full review
Hui Fang D wrote a tip May 2018
Singapore20 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tent 2 has a good view of the sun rise and scenery"
Read full review
donnachadwick wrote a tip Dec 2017
St. Albert, Canada125 contributions78 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tent # 5 has the best view!"
Read full review
NickyTaylor11 wrote a tip May 2017
Mornington Peninsula, Australia77 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spectacular views, comfortable beds, electric blankets, balcony, modern en-suite, sunset and sunrise at your door step."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Princetown area.
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaPrincetown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Pebble Point - Princetown Lodge 2023 Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pebble Point
Which popular attractions are close to Pebble Point?
Nearby attractions include Twelve Apostles (5.0 km), Great Ocean Road Wildlife Park (6.9 km), and Princetown Wetlands Boardwalk (1.2 km).
Is parking available at Pebble Point?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars