We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Expedia.comUSD 122*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We made a last minute booking as we had not planned to stay in KI overnight but realized it was essential. The accommodation in a courtyard room was better than expected after reading other reviews. Considering the remoteness, we found the accommodations quite nice, albeit simple - comfortable bed, clean room, friendly staff, convenience items available for purchase and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Closetlovers
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi 'Closetlovers," Thank you for staying with us here at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent here with us, and thank you again for the lovely review! Kangaroo Island is deceptively large, so it probably is a good idea to spend the night here (or two) if you are traveling...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay here and were lucky enough to get an upgrade to the courtyard. The rooms were great. Bed and bathroom excellent. We didn't really use our lovely verandah because it was too cold. We did the night walk with Nature and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. He knows a lot about this fabulous place! The breakfast was great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue P
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "Sue P," Thank you very much for the positive review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with us. I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Nature and Jackie (the Canadian Waitress) im sure they will be happy to hear that you had a good stay. We hope you enjoy the remainder...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had one night in this place and this has been pretty cool. Nice room, nice bed, nice restaurant and we received the visit of wallabies at breakfast time, which is really unusual when you're leaving at 25 Km in the southern suburb of Paris ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian B
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "Christian B," Thank you very much for the kind words and the fantastic review! Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your time spent here with us. The wallabies that frequent our Courtyard are definitely a feature point (they are still equally as amazing even if you are used to them!) If you ever make your way back to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a overnight stop here what a lovely relaxing place , our room had a beautiful king bed ,we had a entree each in the restaurant which was very nice prices may be a bit higher but u must remember where u are , our court yard room was great and we were pleased with the price . Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "Wendy C," Thank you for staying with us here at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, and an extra thank you for the lovely review! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your time spent here with us, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again some day! Warm Regards,

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Short version: If it were half the price you wouldn't complain. Same for both the accomodation and the food. Complete verdict: This place could be awesome, but it isn't. To be fair it's not completely terrible either, but given the price point you'll expect so much more than it gives that it will seem like it's terrible. The room: it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OzGobo
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "OzGobo," Thank you for staying with us here at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat. I do apologise that we did not seem to meet your expectations, and that you had a less than perfect stay here with us. I do however think that a few of your points are a little bit misleading for other potential visitors to this...

Sydney
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This interesting hotel is located towards the Southwestern extreme of Kangaroo Island and takes a couple of hours to drive from the ferry terminal at Penneshaw. Accommodation choices are very limited in this part of the Island. You do need to pre-book. It is right at the edge of the Flinders Chase National Park. That, along with the other National...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilthetravellerXI
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "PhilthetravellerXI," Thank you for staying with us here at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and that you had a great time on Nature's Nocturnal Walk! If you are ever on Kangaroo Island again in the future, we hope to have the chance to welcome you back....

Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 17 March 2017

This hotel is a great base from which to explore the western end of Kangaroo Island. It's near Chase Flinders National Park, Kelly Hill Caves, Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary and Vivonne Bay. Although the rooms are quite spartan, we did enjoy our stay here. It is very quiet and you feel immersed in nature. The Eco Lodge itself is best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexandrasmom817
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi 'Alexandrasmom817,' Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate the constructive criticism as much as the kind words! The Eco Lodge itself does contain our more budget-wise rooms, with our "Up-scale" suites being located in our Courtyard region of the Retreat. But even Budget rooms can always have space to improve. We have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Ideally located at the opposite end of the island from the Sealink Ferry terminal, adjacent to the Flinders National Park, this Lodge is remote and gives one a good sense of being surrounded by nature. Considering this, the accomodation itself is very comfortable, spacious rooms with aircon, mini bar, safe, tv and porch. The reception area is a bit basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbc722014
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi "mbc722014," Thank you for staying with us here at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, and a special thank you for the kind words about us! We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again one day, and if so- we would love to reserve you a space on our own Complimentary Nocturnal Walk (for in house guests...

Reviewed 15 February 2017

The retreat puts you within thewildlife and within the wilderness. Be prepared to travel the island to get there. I like that, because if you plan it right, you get to see the island and it's size. Kangaroo Island is certainly not a small quant little island. It is very large and beautiful and I recommend travelling there to anyone....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for the kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat. For any other potential guests planning their trip to Kangaroo Island, it is always a good idea to have at least a general plan in regards to how you will spend your drive...

Petaluma
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The property is tranquil and very close to Flinders Chase NP. It's a 1 1/2 to 2 hour drive from the other end of the island so was great to have a place to stay near the park after spending the day exploring. There is a large open area where wallabys come in at night. We did not see any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellBuddies
KIWR, Front Office Manager at Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat, responded to this review

Hi 'TravellBuddies,' We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat. If you ever make your way around to staying with us again, we will have to make sure to reserve you a space on one of our New Complimentary Nocturnal Walks so that you can see some of those...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
83.8 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
807 reviews
91.4 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
408 reviews
107.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
121.0 km away
Sea Dragon Lodge
Sea Dragon Lodge
#1 of 2 in Willoughby
185 reviews
83.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaview Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly situated adjacent Flinders Chase National Park a unique mix of eco-friendly facilities, local food and wine and located in the middle of the forrest provide an unforgettable wilderness experience. The idyllic location provides the perfect base for discovering the splendor of Kangaroo Island's natural wonders before returning to the tranquillity of the retreat to enjoy comfortable accommodation in the company of friendly native animals and an amazing array of birdlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat

Address: Lot 1 South Coast Road, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Price Range: $136 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Hotel Flinders Chase
Hotel Kangaroo Island
Wilderness Retreat Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat Flinders Chase
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth staying in the courtyard<”
suep654, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a porch -- they're bigger and have a view of the wildlife.”
Alexandrasmom817, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a room on the courtyard. Makes it easy to sit on your deck/porch and watch the animals in the evening.”
TravellBuddies, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 1and 2 are close to the reception and you could get the Wifi in your room”
TheTrick70, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay more for a nicer room, the eco-lodge rooms are very tired”
Nixxypies, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 122* /night
View Deal
CancelonUSD 159
Orbitz.comUSD 122
Ctrip.comUSD 126
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates