We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matungou - Mentawai Surf

Save
| Desa Katurei Kecamatan, West Sumatra 25393, Indonesia
Traveller (54)
Pool & Beach (20)
Room & Suite (19)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good21%
  • Average0%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Pets Allowed
Babysitting
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
15
5
0
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
15
5
0
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito nets providedboat captainmentawai islandsadrifansbintangspotsboysrightsworldbeautysurfmealsaccommodationcampwaves
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had a week long/10 stint in february this year and absolutely loved it! Adri and his family were amazing hosts and my friend and I would definitely go back. Matungou is a small surf retreat that provided us with 2 daily trips to the surf...More

1  Thank nerbanks
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Such a terrible experience at Matungou Surf, that I departed after 5 days into my 19-day surf photography trip to stay elsewhere. In my opinion this is a failing business. We came to an agreement about a refund, one instalment was paid, but I was...More

3  Thank Kevin G
Response from Matungou, Owner at Matungou - Mentawai SurfResponded 4 March 2018

We are sorry that the expected standards were not met on this particular trip. Our website and advert within trip advisor has been updated to ensure that our amenities are clearly described so that there is no false expectation. It was unfortunate that this trip...More

Reviewed 9 October 2017

The islands are beautiful and the waves are truly great. Me, my husband and my sister found the islands a very special place. But Matungou Surf Camping was a big disappointment. The problem was simple: they sold me something that they did not provide when...More

2  Thank Gabriela R
Response from Matungou, Owner at Matungou - Mentawai SurfResponded 4 March 2018

Our website and advert within trip advisor has been updated to ensure that our amenities are clearly described so that there is no false expectation. The majority of the issues in this review are due to the fact that the camp relies on a generator...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

The only reason it wasn't terrible because the surrounding area is so dang beautiful. First off. When we booked. We were not told of the ferry running only 3 days a week. We planned on staying 10 nights. We payed up front and they never...More

3  Thank Phil K
Response from Matungou, Owner at Matungou - Mentawai SurfResponded 4 March 2018

Please allow us to respond: The ferry schedule was communicated clearly in email exchanges from an early stage. They were also told clearly that the pricing was per day as it is a package rather than simply accommodation. All of our costs are per day...More

Reviewed 18 July 2017

We visited with our two young sons and had the best holiday experience and it is so affordable. It is amazing what Adri and his family have created in this remote and beautiful location. We highly recommend a stay here - the food was so...More

2  Thank MP P
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Babysitting
Details
Price range
USD 50 - USD 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Details
Price range
USD 50 - USD 70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Smoking rooms available
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (54)
Pool & Beach (20)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (10)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
edanvha
30 April 2015|
Answer
Response from oliquick | Property representative |
Hello there! Please drop us a message via our facebook page :)
0
Votes
jonalport
24 December 2014|
Answer
Response from oliquick | Property representative |
Hi! We are safely tucked away in an east-facing bay on the other side of the channel opposite BengBeng, Ebay and Pitstops. All within 10 minutes! There are a number of less well known breaks that are equally as close-by. The... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"all rooms quiet and ocean views."
Read review
"Second floor rooms have sweet views and a breeze"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing