We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lion

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Claphamlady
Reviewed 22 August 2014

we dined here twice during a long weekend staying at the delightful Walford Court (see reviews!). On the Friday night we dropped in for a drink and were delighted to find a fairly extensive cocktail list - hurrah! I decided I wanted a light meal and a table was immediately found for us: there was absolutely no problem when my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Claphamlady
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good morning Clapham Lady Thank you so much for your glowing review. We look forward to your return (and please tell your husband that if he would like some sauce with his steak he is welcome to ask and we will top it up for him - not a problem.) See you soon.

Belper Derbyshire
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a table at lunchtime for my husband and son's birthday, We had read the reviews and were not disappointed. Beautiful surroundings, tastefully furnished and very attentive staff. My husband and son really enjoyed the moules. Everything was beautifully presented and of high quality. We will definitely return and perhaps book a room next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinefan
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

A belated happy birthday to both your husband and son! Thank you for choosing us as a venue for your celebration, thank goodness we were up to scratch! I am glad you had a good lunch with us and hope that you will return - perhaps a birthday celebration for yourself?

England
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked a night half board at The Lion as it was both in the countryside and close to Ludlow. It has been refurbished recently and the room we were in and the public areas were very nice. The meal in the restaurant was excellent with what we thought was a great choice for all three courses. Staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuart1e
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good morning Stuart Thank you for review. I am glad you managed to see the Kingfisher, at other times in the year we have been known to have otter sightings in the river and of course our friendly neigbourhood swans always look very regal floating past as you eat breakfast. Im really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward...

Hornsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Whilst staying nearby in Walford passed through Leintwardine and discovered The Lion. Over a pleasant pint or two overlooking the river my wife and I obtained the evening menu from the extremely friendly and efficient bar man. A very interesting and wide ranging choice tempted us to book a table for that night. How glad we were that we did...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XavierQuill
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Thank you Xavier for your very positive review. I will definitely pass on your comments to our staff and particularly our barmen. Really glad you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again soon.

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stopped off for a quick afternoon drink by the river in the sunshine ended up staying hours and having a bite to eat ! If I had a week to try and hunt out something negative to write about this place I doubt even then I could find anything. All of the staff are friendly (in a genuine way) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike c
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Well, Mike C, Thank you for your really positive review - glad to hear we are now your local and hope we will see lots of you.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Only discovered The Lion by chance and we're soooo glad we did. As the other reviews say its a delightful setting by the river and the staff are exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful. We sat outside and sipped Twinkles (prosecco and elderflower liqueur) in the sunshine by the river. Then we had lunch on the terrace with gorgeous bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxineT653
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon Maxine I am really glad you enjoyed your visit. The thought of those twinkles by the river are making me want to leave the office right this minute and go over to the Lion and do the same! I think the sunshine is a real factor in the enjoyment stakes when eating and drinking in our garden but...

Shropshire, England
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our second stay at The Lion. Beautiful setting by the river, very friendly staff and comfortable hotel. Room was overlooking the river and nicely decorated with large bathroom. Excellent meal in the restaurant. Breakfast is included in the price and is cooked to order and served in the breakfast room overlooking the bridge/ river. Proximity to Ludlow is also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamaria
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Hi Emmamaria, firstly thank you for visiting us again. The best compliment we can be paid is for guests to return. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and hope that you will continue to visit and that we can continue to please you with our service, rooms and food.

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having only called in for coffee over the past couple of years, this time we had time for lunch. Perfect setting by the river, wonderful staff and great food. Thoroughly enjoyable. Will definitely call in again. It would be great if some of the hoteliers and restaurateurs in the Cardigan area could match the Lion's standards. Congratulations to all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kikindle
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Many thanks Kkindle for your glowing review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your meal and I will pass you kind comments on to our staff. Please come again soon -who knows maybe one day we will open in Cardigan ! (but maybe not for a bit!)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had no idea how good The Lion would be. The setting is fantastic on the river and we were shown to such a pretty bedroom looking on to the water. The beds are super comfortable and breakfast is something else, sitting outside with fresh baked breads and croissants, and anything cooked you want. Above all though it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaB71717
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon Georgia - thank you for your review - its always helpful to see what people think about their visit to the Lion, and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and liked your room. We think our staff are fantastic and try to remember to tell them, but when a customer says so it means a whole...

Prestbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a delicious lunch in a lovely setting by the river. The menu was varied, food cooked to perfection and all served with a smile. There is a good selection of wines and real ales are served from the bar. It is definitely worth a visit and next time we will book a room and enjoy their dinner menu.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmainz
Penn01, Owner at The Lion, responded to this review

Good afternoon Imainz Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you when you come to stay.

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leintwardine
10.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
11.3 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
827 reviews
10.4 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
698 reviews
10.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
413 reviews
8.3 km away
The Clive Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Lion

Address: High Street, Leintwardine SY7 0JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Leintwardine
Price Range: $170 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lion 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Hotel Leintwardine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Lion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seemed good . We were in 3”
 of 5 bubbles susandm2014, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would suspect all are good. I was in Room 6”
 of 5 bubbles 267fionap, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have baths and some showers only; ask at booking if you prefer one or the other”
 of 5 bubbles WendyL534, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can not rate the accommodation as we only used the restaurant”
 of 5 bubbles 436mro, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book well ahead”
 of 5 bubbles GB23C, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5