We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Agriturismo Il Ruspante

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Agriturismo Il Ruspante
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Bondi, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This was our second trip to Castro Dei Volsci Il Ruspante Agriturismo and we enjoyed it even more. We have made real friends with Antonella, Pasqualino, Annalisa and especially Marianna. What did we like about our southern Italian holiday? Learning how to cook genuine southern Italian food, visiting where the locals make top quality olive oil, walking in the hills...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barbaramichael999
Reviewed 2 October 2016

It was a great retreat suggested by my wife's cousin who knew the owner. Excellent choice on our behalf. We stayed above the restaurant and walk down each morning to a great breakfast then headed out to visit family or explore country. I would definitely recommend this stay to experience the life of the area. We were made to feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gino P
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We wanted to find a " real Italian " experience in the beautiful Italian countryside, and Castro Dei Volsci's Agriturismo II Ruspante was the perfect answer. We were very impressed at the beautifully renovated farmhouse where we stayed. Each room was decorated in stunning detail and tastefully done. Our room was very cozy, with a comfortable bed, and exceptional cleanliness....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbr187
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Be warned be careful the website is not all it pretends to be ... We were shunted into a room above a very noisy restaurant, this across the road from the building portrayed on the website, the breakfast was very disappointing as the owners watched over us .. We were on a Euro Road Trip May/June 2016 and we can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oks93
PasqualinoRossi, Direttore at Agriturismo Il Ruspante, responded to this review

Hello Frank and Lynne, Although the percentage of our reviews are excellent we are always sorry for not having a satisfied customer. Sorry a lot and it would be more useful to know immediately when you were here at the Locanda, so we could solve the problem immediately. If you did not like the room we would have tried in...

Broseley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

What a wonderful establishment, we arrived quite late, driving up after our flight to Naples and went straight into the restaurant across the road (linked to the hotel). The food was out of this world - during our week stay in the Italy, nothing came close to the quality of the food here. It was only on check out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom083
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We decided to stay at Il Ruspante because of its proximity to a number of places that we wanted to visit. Although Castro dei Volsci is pleasant and well worth the visit, it is just small hilltop village and unlikely to capture the attention of its most ardent fans for too long. Aside from this, I don’t know if there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatesRatesGB
Amsterdam
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Absolute recommendation. The place is spotless, extremely well done and affordable. The restaurant (same owners) is across the street and it is the kind of Italian family restaurant where you feel like you have been part of the family for a night. While there make sure to go up to Castro dei Volsci, buy a drink at Cafe Mama and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1980
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

The structure was recently renovated. it's done in a typical Italian country style. Location about one hour from the seaside in green and relaxing environment. possible to do sports: hiking, horseriding and biking. the hosts are very nice, attending and welcoming people. we stayed in the upper suite room with the hydromassage :) great and relaxing place!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marcin G
Kuna
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We spent 3 nights and 2 days. We had our adult children and their spouses with us. It was wonderful. We went into the mountains with the goats one day and then to the Abbey and the olive grove the next. Several of our family members enjoyed the cooking class. We had breakfast every day at the restaurant and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Experiencing the Food and Cultural Tour at Il Ruspante was the highlight of our family trip to Italy. Pasqualino, Antonella and Annalisa welcomed us like family and toured us around the region over the next several days. The food we enjoyed on the tour was exceptional, especially the local fare and salamis prepared by the owners. Every day we visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gringogeoff

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castro dei Volsci
8.3 km away
Hotel Villa Ida
Hotel Villa Ida
#1 of 2 in Ceprano
172 reviews
38.5 km away
Tenuta di Vico Moricino
29.5 km away
Agriturismo la Pesca
Agriturismo la Pesca
#1 of 2 in Broccostella
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Agriturismo il Pioppeto
Agriturismo il Pioppeto
#1 of 4 in Cassino
20 reviews
34.8 km away
Agriturismo di Charme Erbadoro
0.0 km away
Agriturismo Colle Sant'Erasmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"La Locanda del Ruspante" is a beautiful country house, recently renovated, with 9 charming rooms. We are in Castro dei Volsci, an interesting medieval village, only one hour from Rome. It is the ideal place for those who want to quickly get to the Rome-Naples highway connection, to the most important Abbeys (Montecassino, Fossanova, Casamari, Trisulti), to the Ulixes Coast (Sperlonga, Gaeta, Pontine Island) or for those who want to be based here to visit our beautiful historic monuments of "Ciociaria" Lazio region. The house has been converted to host guests with all the comfort, while keeping the charm and style of the old tradition. Guests can enjoy the on-site Restaurant, cooking lessons, food and wine tasting and cultural visits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Ruspante

Address: Contrada Collenuovo 1, 03020 Castro dei Volsci, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Castro dei Volsci
Price Range: $83 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Il Ruspante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Agriturismo Il Ruspante staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms were tastefully decorated. We were very pleased.”
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles tbr187, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay