We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jetty House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Jetty House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of The Jetty House
 Click to rate
sydney
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family (of 5) and I stayed 4 nights here - renting 2 rooms on a bed and breakfast basis. Ros and Carl are fantastic hosts and as previously mentioned by others - the breakfasts are wonderful - delicious muesli, fresh juice and eggs, salmon, home made jams and bread etc. Our rooms and beds were really comfortable and Ros...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davis05
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had such a happy, fun time staying at the Jetty House - a fantastic big rambly, quirky character-filled house right down at the bottom end of Tasmania in a beautiful, peaceful location. Our hosts and the other guests made us feel welcome and we had such fun interaction with them. Ros cooks wonderful breakfasts, with local produce, their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
Rosalind50, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. It' is rewarding to know that you appreciate our kind of hospitality. We love our life in beautiful Far South Tasmania and enjoy sharing with people who love it too.

Perth
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This is a large period house full that will suit those that want to escape to a peaceful idyllic location , pretty close to the end of the road in Tasmania. However , if you want to go fossicking , fishing , walking , ride an old logging train and sit in Hot thermal springs then this is also the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinmq
Rosalind50, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Thanks for the informative review. It's true that there's plenty to do down here if you want to get out and explore. Hope you can get back one day. Cheers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

This place is an absolute treasure as are the hosts Rosalind and Carl. The house is a stunning weatherboard built in 1876 and although they have repaired and renovated parts of it the original theme is retained. We were greeted with Latte and a pot of Tea and home-made brownies. The open fire was on in the main lounge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
Rosalind50, Chief cook and bottle washer at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. And thanks for keeping me entertained with amazing singing and piano playing. It's people like you that make B&B really fun.

Reviewed 27 July 2016

When we scheduled four days in Tasmania during a one month trip to Australia, I was worried about hitting bad weather (it was July, so winter, and there was strong possibility of being rained in the whole time). It was chilly but we had sunny and clear days and the house was cozy and warm. Carl and Roz made fires...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betsey F
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

It is brave to come to Southern Tasmania in winter, we love it and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit

Mlebourne
Reviewed 30 April 2015

A pleasant surprise with a beautiful period house with character and charm with warm hospitable hosts. Sitting by the fireside at night with engaging repartee with other guests something very different, Rosalyn was especially nice looking after my wife's GF requirements

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff A
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

I have only just been able to log in and respond so excuse the lateness. Thank you for the lovely review. It's easy to do gluten free as long as i get notice, thanks for bringing that up.

Melbourne
Reviewed 9 April 2015

A beautifully maintained rustic early Tasmnian timber mansion has been beautifuly preserved by the hosts. We had th attic all to ourselves, so we did nothav to share the upstairs bathroom which onl has very basic facilities. The downstairs shared bathroom is outside and was rather dirty. The heavenly breakfast compensated us for this negative. At $130 per night/double a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen002002
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Sorry about the outside bathroom, it is usually only used when we come back from the beach. You were late additions so we put you upstairs and as you mention, the upstairs bathroom is basic. Next time we will give you one of the downstairs rooms. I love the attic rooms though.

Bundaberg
Reviewed 27 March 2015 via mobile

Carl & Roslyn have themselves a real gem here. They are friendly, welcoming hosts to what is a gorgeously renovated antique house by the sea. Beautiful facilities and yummy breakfast! Great meal at the Southermost pub in Australia up the road.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterJillB
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. The pub (only 700m away) is very friendly and does great meals

sydney
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Great location if you want to explore the southern tip of Tasmania. This is the last accommodation before the tip unless you want to get the tent out :) Room and food were excellent and hosts Carl and Ros very knowledgeable about this wonderful part of Tasmania.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rcfinc
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I have only just worked out how to respond! We like our address- go to the end of the road and we are the last on the right! It's cheating of course, there is a dirt road going further south to Cockle Creek but we are at the southern end of the highway in Australia.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Friendly hosts Carl and Ros, lovely cooked breakfast, peaceful location, comfortable bed. Museum like interesting historic items and driftwood paintings by local artist. Beach and jetty close by for those who like to fish and close to caves and forest walks. What more could you ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roy H
Rosalind W, Owner at The Jetty House, responded to this review

I can't think of a single other thing! Thanks for the lovely review.

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
13.3 km away
Smugglers Rest
Smugglers Rest
#1 of 1 in Dover
74 reviews
13.4 km away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
124 reviews
1.0 km away
Southern Forest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Ashdowns of Dover Boutique B&B
29.6 km away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
14.1 km away
The Peninsula Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Jetty House is a lovely spacious timber home built in 1875, situated bayside in Southport- a tiny fishing village in Far South Tasmania ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Jetty House

Address: Main Rd, Southport, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Southport
Price Range: $100 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Jetty House Southport, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Jetty House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Jetty House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Steep stairs for upstairs rooms”
 of 5 bubbles RobynJ49, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Any room - just turn on the oil heater the moment you get in...and leave it on.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisH93, 20 Nov 2011 | Read review
2 of 2