We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sundog Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sundog Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sundog Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 314: English reviews
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We spent four wonderful nights in The Cranberry cabin. The peace and quiet was remarkable! Andrew and Heather were super hosts - we could tell early on that they are truly nice people! Cabin was fully equipped for us to cook all of our meals; ordered a prepared meal one night from the retreat - very tasty! Loved being so...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank John P
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

This is a true retreat! Quiet, clean and peaceful. Very pet friendly. Staff friendly and professional. Lots of space for walks. Cabins are well spread out. If you plan to visit the hot tub often you might want to call ahead and figure out the closest cabins. There are bikes on site if you want to loan one or two....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jolene M
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewed 12 August 2015

While I have to cut Whitehorse some slack for its remote location, the fact is that most of the lodging options are pretty poor. Offerings in town are generally soulless, shabby and overpriced. For better or worse, hotels in town also tend to cater to large tour groups. If you are looking for a different sort of option, the Sundog...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StephenGray_260
Arizona
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We found the Sundog Retreat to be overpriced and few amenities offered. My spouse is handicapped and it was required he do stairs enter the room on top of that there is metal support beam in the bathroom beside shower of which he would strike his head on with entry or exit and there is no caution about this. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Judy572015
Welcoming_Host, Owner at Sundog Retreat, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Five of our six units have no stairs and it's too bad you did not book one of those or inform us of your issues; we also have one cottage with wheelchair ramps and grab bars, etc. We were surprised by your feedback as it is the first time in...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We drove from Anchorage to Whitehorse in one day. The B&B is a little ways away from Whitehorse, but we were so glad to get there it didn't matter much. There is no food at the B&B arriving around or after dinner, unless you've planned to have the owners get some food for you, so keep that in mind. One...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B S
Bowen, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

While visiting my daughter and her husband in Whitehorse in May we stayed in Sundog for our last couple of nights before the daughter had to leave their house. It was perfect for four people and very comfortable. Everything you need is supplied even food if requested..if you play your cards right you may be offered some Bison. The secluded...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughes57
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Definitely a Home run. Beautiful woodsy property with trails through the trees. The cottage had everything we could ever hope for including the large deck table and barbecue. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Last but not least Andrew and Heather always had time to chat whenever they saw us. their two boys were friendly nad very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rod B
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewed 3 June 2015

Great property, great location and friendly staff. I live in Whitehorse, so I'm used to the beautiful nature I experience every day. There is just something special about Sundog retreat though. The views and property are just outstanding. The cabin I stayed in was fully equipped. (Full kitchen, BBQ, TV, books, etc.) This was my second time at Sundog and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaken_bacon
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 June 2015

My friend and I stayed in the Raven's Nest from November 12th to 15th 2014 and had a great time. Raven's Nest is the 1 bedroom unit above the studio and is the perfect size for two people. It was extremely clean and the kitchen was very well appointed. We brought some food with us in our luggage and bought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbozzy
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewed 22 May 2015 via mobile

I've been traveling to Whitehorse on and off for the last 20 years. When company comes to visit me in Alaska we typically drive the Golden Circle and spend the night in Whitehorse. When I was looking for options this year I happened upon Sundigs website I was pleasantly surprised with all they had to offer. The cabin was spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AKtravelers22

286 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
14/06/2017 15/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
25.9 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
372 reviews
25.4 km away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
564 reviews
25.7 km away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.2 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
24.2 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
229 reviews
41.7 km away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 28 in Whitehorse
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Price Range: $147 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sundog Retreat staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
5 months ago
San Mateo, California
over a year ago
Edmonton, Canada
over a year ago
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sundog Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins in the woods are modern and full of amenities.”
jclouts, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very Quite, away from traffic , very clean, very friendly service”
  • From our living room window
, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The cabins have different kind of beds and locations on the property.”
pamelahM3841ZU, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cranberry cabin has excellent northern light viewing location.”
richardfarbridge, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were very pleased with the Cranberry Cabin.”
  • View from the cottage
Arkstfan, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates