We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Le Champlain Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Champlain Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,570 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Champlain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,168: English reviews
Export, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 April 2015

This is a very nice, well maintained, well placed and well priced hotel in the Old Quebec area. All attraction points are within 10 minutes walk. Very friendly staff, and a great breakfast spread. Even has its own parking, but for an extra charge.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SLowenfeld
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour SLowenfeld I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. As you have mentioned, we are one of the rare hôtels in the old Quebec (with the Château Frontenac) to have a parking on-site...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We were thrilled with our recent stay at the Champlain! The hotel is extremely well put-together, clean, and comfortable. We only wish that we would have had a couple additional days to stay and enjoy the location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Every detail...from the beautiful wood trim and light fixtures in the hall, and leather paneled walls,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jhan D
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Jhan D, Your comments regarding your entire stay with us makes me proud of our Hotel! We strive everyday to ensure that our guests fully enjoy their stay with us and we definitely reach that point, reading your amazing comments on our rooms and their decorations! You will be pleased to learn that we have just finished renovating 40%...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2015

This was a perfect location for our visit and the hotel itself was superb. The room was well appointed, and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was outstanding with a great variety of lovely dishes each morning. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants and ordering taxis for us. We will go back again many times.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Painter516
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Painter516 I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us and that your were able to enjoy all of our services at the hotel. I will definitely pass the good words to our...

New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This was a very comfortable hotel for our family. We had a spacious room with two queen beds and two plush chairs. Delicious breakfast -- yogurt, cereal, cheese, bread, muffins, crepes, boiled eggs, OJ, and plentiful coffee. We talked with a lot of the other guests in the dining room and everyone seemed happy and content. Prime location for walking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MWJPN
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MWJPN, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your previous stay with us. Our unique breakfast environment makes our guests feels like home and everybody can enjoy themselves with our large breakfast variety. Our rooms are very spacious and we are able to accommodate single business guest, romantic couple and large family! Thank you again...

Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Stayed twice now at this hotel on ski trips to Mont Ste Anne and Le Massif, drove out to hills each day so we could enjoy old Quebec. Clean and comfortable rooms. Easy walking distance to main attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BowmanvilleRaisin
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BowmanvilleRaisin, We would like to thank you for your time and comments on TripAdvisor for your last in Quebec city. As you have mentioned it, we are 45 minutes driving distance to Mont Sainte-Anne and 1h15 minutes to Massif, 2 of the greatest alpin skiing mountain in Eastern Canada. We are pleased to learn that you had such a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

The rooms were spacious, modern and clean. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Complimentary coffee was a perk. Location of the hotel is excellent, in the heart of old town Quebec and steps away from restaurants and shopping. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Affordable rates for a downtown hotel. In every aspect a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eur0lady
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear eur0lady, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us and that your were able to enjoy all of our services at the hotel. I can read that your have enjoyed our marvellous...

Selkirk, Canada
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Where do I start. Parking lot is so tiny, it is a joke. Would be funny if it were not so hazardous to your vehicle. Slowest elevator known to man. Renovating again, so you constantly run into trades people. Very rude front desk staff. Nonexistent Wfi in rm. 39. Don't try to bring this to the attention of the manager,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don S
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Mr Don S, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay at Hôtel Champlain. I was very disappointed to learn that we were not able to make your stay a memorable one, and I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere apologies. As one of...

Thornhill, Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2015

We were in Quebec City for March Break 2015. It was an unexpected last stop add on to a Montreal vacay. It was for 3 of us...a couple with a 11 year old girl. As soon as we checked in we were greeted by a friendly front desk clerk. We had a wonderful suite with hot tub and king size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Adina S
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Adina S, Wow! Your comments regarding your entire stay with us makes me proud of our Hotel! We strive everyday to ensure that our guests fully enjoy their stay with us and we definitely reach that point, reading your amazing comments on our Deluxe continental breakfast, our incredible staff and our large and comfortable Junior suite. And our location...

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This is a lovely hotel with a great ambiance, and wonderfully attentive staff. It's proximity to great restaurants was of particular interest to us - as we travel to Quebec quiet frequently on business - and easy access to great spots to eat after a long day - is a definite must - and the Champlain fits this need perfectly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dev J
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Bonjour Dev J, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your last stay at Hôtel Champlain. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay with us. As you have mentioned it, our location int eh Old Quebec makes us the perfect location to easy access all great spots...

Portland, ME
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Le Champlain for Carnival (and a couple of days prior) and it was absolutely perfect. The staff were helpful, friendly and extremely professional. The room accommodations were simple but complete--everything you needed and nothing you didn't. Breakfast was *fantastic* and changed every day. The free espresso/cappuccino was exactly what the doctor ordered after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt B
Jean-Luc F, General Manager at Le Champlain Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Matt B, Thank you for taking the time to write such a marvellous comment on your last stay with us. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great stay and I can read that you enjoyed our marvellous espresso machine in the lobby and the variety of our breakfast as well! We are offering parking to...

643 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (362)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (35)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 104 in Quebec City
3,641 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
992 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
1,818 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
1,370 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#37 of 104 in Quebec City
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Le Champlain Hotel

Address: 115 Rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $109 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Champlain Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Champlain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Champlain
Hotel Champlain Quebec
Le Champlain Quebec City
Le Champlain Hotel Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Le Champlain Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The back side of the hotel faces Chateau Frontenac.”
 of 5 bubbles carboqueen, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book directly on their site, you'll get delicious complimentary breakfasts!”
 of 5 bubbles ItstheClarkes, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It appears if you book on the hotel's website, breakfast is included in the price, but costs extra if you book on a search engine.”
  • Room at the Champlain
 of 5 bubbles dave1405, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rm 31 faces front and has fireplace and jacuzzi,”
 of 5 bubbles saltandsea, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is an elevator as well as stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles Nate1954, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay