We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

L'Hotel Port-Royal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for L'Hotel Port-Royal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Louisiana
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This hotel is one of my wife and I's very special hotels in one of our favorite cities. The hotel is not great to look at from the exterior but absolutely special to stay in. The rooms are awesome (the most "home" feeling rooms we have ever stayed in). Old, yet modern, yet feeling like a pair of your most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hclause
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear hclause Thanks you so much for your excellent review which is for our team the most beautiful gifts We will always be there to welcome you to the Hotel Port Royal los of your stays in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Mount Airy, MD
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Classy unique boutique hotel in lower Old Quebec. I can't say enough about the staff. Genuine and friendly with every encounter. The rooms are unique and modern successfully blending the old with the new. The bathroom was luxurious. The bed was comfortable. My only concern is the sheets on the king bed. As with most hotels, the bottom sheet is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pintodoug
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Pintodoug We thank you for your excellent comments which are for us the most beautiful of the rewards. Rest assured that all your comments are taken into account by management We are delighted that your stay has lived up to your expectations and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Arnprior, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Rooms all restored, spacious, full kitchenette, great location in Old City, If you have allergies, no carpet, heated bathroom floor, huge double shower Before booking double check that they have not used air freshner in the room, was our only complaint, scent was quite strong, we booked through travelzoo, so not sure what the room rates are if booking directly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHarbert
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear MharbertThank you for your comments Looking forward to welcoming you again on your next stay in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 19 January 2017

What a charming hotel. The rooms come with a kitchenette and are very clean and modern, but at the same time, somewhat rustic with part of the wall shared with brick. We didn't particularly like the pub and didn't partake at their restaurant. However, I loved everything else. The service was exceptional. Plus you are in walking distance to Old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJGoodell
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear JJGoodell, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your excellent feedback and for your appreciation We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again during your next stay in Quebec Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Great location, within walking distance of major sites of attraction in the Old Town. Parking is available. The lot was completely full when we arrived on our first night, but we were asked to just park our car in the middle of the lot and leave our keys. This was not an issue, and our car was parked in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouperSun
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear SouperSun Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your excellent feedback and for your appreciation We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again during your next stay in Quebec Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holidays, travelling with our two teenagers. The room was clean, a decent size and the kitchen contained everything we needed. The bathroom was really nice. The location was perfect for walking to all the attractions. Two negatives though- we had to call each day to get more bath towels (one each we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Erin M Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Rest assured that these are considered and that we will make the required improvements We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you again during your next stay in Quebec City Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

Ancaster, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Our family stayed one night Quebec City,after spending New Years eve in Montreal. We especially wanted to see old Quebec City in winter,and were so fortunate to be able to stay at L'Hotel Port- Royal,because of its proximity to old Quebec City. All the top-rated places of interest were within easy walking distance:plus there were great restaraunts less than one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Canadeh
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for your excellent comments which are for us the best way to start the year All the team of Port Royal wishes you an excellent year 2017 and we await you with an immense pleasure for your next stay in Quebec Best regards Agnès Marsoin - Manager

england
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

We had a 4 night stay at the Port Royal with our toddler. Upon arrival we were a bit confused by the car park because there was hardly any space to park and no-one was there to help us with bags as expected from the info we received upon booking. The car park is very tight so we didn't want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank milica0207
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which help us to always improve our service. Rest assured that we will take this into account. The parking at the door of the hotel is large enough for all our guests, however it is true that in winter with the snow the space is a little diminished. As for the noise of the snowplows,...

Kemptville, Canada
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Nicely located in the lower part of Vieux Québec on the waterfront. Check in was fast and the staff was friendly and helpful. Parking is on site. The room was beautiful in rustic decor. We could hear the people walking above however. Spacious apartment style room with separate bedroom and kitchen. Pub is very nice. We got a deal with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJ-Kville
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear JJKVille Thank you for your excellent comments which are a very nice reward for us. We are very happy that your stay with us has lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in quebec Best regards Agnes Marsoin - Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We just returned home from our 3rd stay in 3 years. Everything went smoothly from the reservation process to check out. Its always better to book through the hotel directly as they seem to match the rates available on travel zoo,kayak etc... The hotel lobby is always clean (not easy to keep floors clean in winter) as are the rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
Agnes M, Gérant at L'Hotel Port-Royal, responded to this review

Dear Sally S Thank you for your excellent reviews which are the best reward for our efforts to make our guests have a great time with us. The staff joins me in wishing you a very happy holiday season. Looking forward to seeing you again in 2017 Happy Christmas ! Agnes Marsoin - Manager

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#22 of 101 in Quebec City
1,213 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
0.0 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 101 in Quebec City
624 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
1,591 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining. A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. Hardwood in all the suites. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided. In the morning, guests can have elaborated continental breakfast at the Pub du Vieux port or delivered to their room if requested. The contemporary Pub du Vieux port boasts stone walls and plenty of seating. The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about L'Hotel Port-Royal

Address: 144 rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Price Range: $152 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Hotel Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Hotel Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
L'Hotel Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#25 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from L'Hotel Port-Royal staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from L'Hotel Port-Royal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“every room is unique - we enjoyed the extra space of the living room/separate bedroom combination”
 of 5 bubbles B6535ECjanets, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the front parking are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles christianl478, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front. The view is great.”
 of 5 bubbles hclause, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 218 if you are tall. I would ask about the others.”
 of 5 bubbles pintodoug, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook a gas station. Ask for the other side.”
 of 5 bubbles N5449CUerinm, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5