We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 209: English reviews
Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I booked here somewhat in a hurry based on trip advisor rating and a few pictures I looked at here. Upon first arrival, very late at night we were a bit surprised as it wasn't how we pictured it based on the pictures. It seemed more sketchy than cute. lol After staying for a few days however, it wasn't to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your reviews and thank you for your request of updating. Yes we make renovation every winter ( the low saison) , and of course we will paint our hotel also. I hope that next time you will appreciate more our hotel. We work hard to improve our hotel and our service. I hope to welcoming you...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stay away from this place! Found bugs in the hotel room;underneath the building there is a sex shop and you can hear their music running from 10am to 12am during your stay in the room. Room is dirty, and the area is very unsafe. Front desk is very rude and we saw him argue with other customers many times. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayHolidayV
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I'm so disappointed that you really don't like our hotel , our location and our staff. I don't know what happened, but the house keeping clean the room everyday. I have also exterminator to come every week to check the rooms. Almost our guest appreciate our location, our staff and our service. You are right that we are next...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I chose this hotel because it seemed like it was in the middle of the city. It ended up being the center of some exciting events going on in the city. I took the 747 Bus from Montreal-Trudeau. On my day of arrival, I had to wait for a second bus because I arrived at the same time as other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aznmadscience
Ho H, Owner at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the time you took to write this review. we know that one of our main problems are the stairs and I'm sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced. But if you really think about coming back next year don't be shy to ask for help with your luggage or request 1 pillow more . Thank you...

Martigny, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A good hotel, very central and with a clean room. You are directly on one of the most popular pedestrian street. Just be careful with the choice of the room. Ask for a quiet one, not on the street. The man at the reception desk said me that" Montreal doesn't sleep"... it's very nice but also not so easy if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CedricTrotter
Ho H, Owner at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Trotter Thank you for the time you took to write this review. We always try to improve the soundproofing of the rooms, but as you rightly said, our hotel is located on one of the most busy streets of montreal. So it sometimes difficult but we tried to do our best. Thank you again for the comment Hop...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Had to traverse three sets of stairs to eventually reach the room. Wifi signal is weak and unstable. Ran a test on the wifi service: 1. Provided by TELUS 2. clock speed is anywhere between 0.17-0.74 Mbps. So not even 1 Mbps. Standard is at a minimum 50-100mbps ("high speed" begins at 100mbps). 3. Upload speed is 0.25mbps. (High speed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback. As we are located inside an historical building , the city doesn't allow us to build an elevator. Your comment will be taken with great consideration as we always strive to improve our services and amenities to our guests. We would like to sincerely apologize thought in regards...

Chandler, Arizona
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This hotel is in a great location close to the Metro, restaurants, a large mall and the contemporary art museum. The neighborhood is safe and seems to always be busy with families, couples and groups of students. The hotel is located from the second floor up and the lobby is up a very long flight of stairs. The gentleman at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelli Z
Ho H, Manager at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us your review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed our establishment and it's prime location. Our staff is currently under change and I'm afraid that the person who performed your check-in is one of our new employees. A notice will be brought to his attention. Thank you again for...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Bad service desk and man in evening very unpolite!! Location in the poor side of st.catherine's where bums and street people beg - sad, underneath a strip joint..yes strip joint, towels with stains, and not so clean rooms. never again will i stay there even it it was for free....seriously expect screaming drunks at 02-03:00am coming out of the strip...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thechoj
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We made a booking with booking.com. On arrival the receptionist told me there was no booking, he did not want to check my booking confirmation. The entrance of this hotel looks awfull and its above a sex shop. Happy we needed to move to a different hotel. Never book with this hotel!!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin D
Ho H, Owner at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I'm so sorry . Booking has made an error on the promotion , that's why your reservation didn't go to our system and we didn't have the room for you. When I knew about that, I tried to reserve another hotel for you to make sure that you had the room. I understand that you are upset, I'm really...

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We left glasgow &flew to Montreal got a bus to just around corner to hotel.asked directions & everyone said look for the sex shop & you are there.found hotel easily &proceeded to book in at 1450hrs. The man at the desk told us your booking is at 1500 can we come back later (5 mins?) We asked to leave our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank byllis5
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The room was clean, spacious and in a great location but the staff at the front desk were rude and not helpful. The wifi did not work in our room for our entire stay and when we enquired with the front desk we were rudely told that it was working. Consequently, no attempt was made to fix it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth J
Ho H, Owner at Hotel Quartier des Spectacles, responded to this review

Hello, I'm happy that you appreciate our location, our room. I don't know what happened with my staff and the wifi but I will work on it to make sure that it will not happen again. I'm sorry if it disturbed your stay. Thank you for your review and I hope to welcoming you back again.

289 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (192)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (30)
Viewed
Superior One Queen Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Room with Sofa Bed (32)
Viewed
Superior Room with Two Queen Beds (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Viewed
Two Queen Studio Apartment (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#72 of 162 in Montreal
558 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#83 of 162 in Montreal
292 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#44 of 162 in Montreal
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 162 in Montreal
250 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 162 in Montreal
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Quartier des Spectacles

Neighbourhood Profile
Quartier des Spectacles
The bar-none entertainment district for music and arts, Quartier des Spectacles is an interactive playground that delights the senses. It totals over 30 performance halls, with the vibrant Place des Festivals at its heart. The outdoor event space features glowing towers, glass edifices, and granite-lined bike paths, and hosts annual festivals, concerts, and comedy nights. The cinema, theatres, and exhibition centres are entwined with external art projects, exemplified at Montreal's Contemporary Art Museum and appearing along every walkway of the Promenade des Artistes in the form of sculpture and public works, from digitally-enhanced swingsets to glowing fountains. Design, performance, and alternative music come together here, a stone's throw from the lively Latin Quarter along Rue Saint-Denis, the quintessential after-party spot for dinner and a drink following a day of jazz, poetry and play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Quartier des spectacles is a budget boutique hotel located in the heart of Montreal's entertainment district, the Quartier des spectacles. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is adjacent to Hotel Abri du Voyageur, sharing a common main entrance & lobby.Hotel Quartier des spectacles has recently been renovated keeping with its historical character. Our hotel with its charming rooms and modern studio-apartments is the perfect choice for business clients and tourists alike. Hotel Quartier des spectacles is within proximity of the convention center and its prime location is perfect to discover Montreal's tourist sites and participate in the numerous events and festivals of Montreal.Hotel Quartier des spectacles' warm hospitality will charm the discriminating, yet budget conscious traveller. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Quartier des Spectacles

Address: 17 Sainte-Catherine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1Z5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $50 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quartier des Spectacles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Quartier des Spectacles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Quartier des Spectacles staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Quartier des Spectacles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for room on main floor”
 of 5 bubbles simonr652014, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no more comment”
 of 5 bubbles thechoj, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you choose a "suite" as we did, you have to climb down the 31 steps, past the sex shop, and up 34 steps to your very spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles lindakennon, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Noise on the street side might be disruptive, you may ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles AlicjaKijewska, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to check if everything is working properly in your room”
 of 5 bubbles mariosantanaquintero, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5