We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville\/Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 549: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
 Click to rate
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was very reasonably priced. It's location was just 2 blocks away from St. Catherine Street. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The whole hotel was very clean. The parking garage that is attached was a nice convenience. The only downside to our whole experience was we arrived just after 1:00pm and they would not allow us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tsbond
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at hotel espresso, both times to attend games at the bell centre. I've found this to be the best rate available right in downtown. It's just a 2 minute walk to st. Catherine st. Bishop st and crescent st are both within 10 minutes. The bell centre is also less than 10 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor B
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is fine in terms of distance for walking into the main part of town, however not in a great area so as a solo traveller I felt a little uncomfortable when walking back later in the evening. The rooms were very basic and a little dated, but clean with comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet had a nice choice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CT11camb
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We got the king bed room... Great size room, visiually appealing! Cheap in price, Comfortable bed and couch! Up to date with everything! And we loved the city view. Only downfall is! The housekeeper who tended to our room seemed to put no heart into actually doing her/his job. Tv was SO dirty. Shower wall tiles were grimy and dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

I m sorry that things were perfect and you are totally right in your comments. Can you please e mail me or call me to give me your room number so I can explain to the housekeeper where she went wrong. This would be much appreciated Thank you Paolo paolo@hotelespresso.ca or 514 2479 4900

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time I came here was about 4-5 years ago, this hotel was newly renovated, just did some promos on some online group buying sites, and I was very happy and impressed. So I booked again this weekend and was unbelievably disappointed..maybe they gave me a horrible room because I booked off expedia? Here are the highlights: - Waited at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamilio
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

I m sorry you had such a horrible experience .Please contact me and we ll try to rectify the situation. I can be reached at 514 249 4900,. thank You Paolo

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

How to tactfully review... So parking is expensive, $25, but we are in Montreal after all, and that's just how it is. The cost is the same all over the city give or take $5, so the complaining should stop. The lobby is okay, I was checked in very quickly and the lady was very nice. When I got to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

I m sorry things did not go as well as we would of liked during your stay. There is no reason for room cleanliness to be sub par. We take your comments very seriously and would love it if you could take a moment out of your schedule to call me to discuss the matter further. My direct line is...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night while visiting Montreal. The room was large and clean with access to free wifi. Free coffee is served in reception and there is access to other amenities such as a laundry. We had a car and were charged $21 for secure parking in the parking lot next door (which was quite steep considering check in is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chief_Chalky
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank You for Your review

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel was great, everything you need. Location was great, staff was great, rooms were clean simple and cozy. Great value for the money. Walking distance to shopping. Will stay there again for sure. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review its much appreciated. Best Regards Paolo

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2017

this is a nice location and comfortable beds. the prices are reasonable and you are close to the heart of downtown montreal. The hotel dispite being under construction is clean and quite, and has parking at a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoconne
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for understanding that we have some on going renovations. We renovate a floor per year therefore none of our rooms are older than 4 years. Hope to see you back soon. Best regards Paolo

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Went to Montreal for a Habs game and was pleasantly surprised how close the hotel was to Bells Centre, Parked the car and didn't touch all weekend. Bar-B-Barn within walking distance. Will stay again when the Habs go to cup final this year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
Paolo1005, Director of Sales at Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to post a review hope to see you soon GO HABS GO! Paolo

463 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (235)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
Executive Suite (62)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Superior King Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 163 in Montreal
598 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 163 in Montreal
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 163 in Montreal
172 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#43 of 163 in Montreal
1,574 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville / Downtown is located in the heart of the city, 3 blocks from the Bell Centre, a few steps away from the lovely cafés and boutiques of Crescent street, Ste-Catherine and from Old-Montreal. The Hotel offers a warm hospitality in a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and many other services that you will enjoy during your stay.Our features & services description:• 205 rooms / suites - 75% with Laminated flooring• Rooms with soy based eco-foam mattresses• All rooms and suites equipped with a FREE in-room computer and High-speed Internet access (FREE)• Restaurant / Bar (200 seats)• Meeting and banquet rooms (10 to 200 persons)• Club Physique spa• Outdoor swimming pool (seasonal / weather permitting)• Sauna• Fitness centre• Gift shop• Enterprise rental car office($)• Indoor parking ($) & car wash ($)• room service (7 AM to 10 PM)• Business center• Tour desk / reception (24 hrs)• Dry cleaning service ($) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown

Address: 1005 Guy Street | Quebec, Montreal, Quebec H3H 2K4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Price Range: $127 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Montreal
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Hamilton, Canada
4 months ago
Falmouth, Massachusetts

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hopefuly you'll get a recently renovated room!”
Shake2, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is a budget hotel, not a luxury one.”
Tailwag15, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“West side has a street view - higher floors are better”
crobinson2014, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not recommended”
bull808, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“dont bother”
karen19752016, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5