We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HI Montreal Hostel

Save
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (167)
Dining (30)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good49%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bed dorm”(17 reviews)
“free breakfast”(20 reviews)
“own bathroom”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for HI Montreal Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
82
105
41
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
82
105
41
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree breakfastown bathroommetro stationbagelslarge kitchenawesome stayplace to sleepboiled eggsclose to downtownbell centreminute walkenjoyed my staywi fihockey gamelocation is greatroommates
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

For backpacker probably it's ok.. but we have got a room for 8 person without bathroom and towel .. and anything .the 🚽 was dirty and of course no toilets paper.. I don't wanna come back in this hostel again .More

Thank Monika T
Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 1 August 2017

Hello Monika T, I will write you a private message to clarify the matter, but I believe that you may have been to another hostel, and not the Auberge HI-Montréal hostel. 100% of our private rooms and dorm rooms have ensuite bathroom and we do...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

(+) Good location to Montreal Downtown Very friendly and helpful staff Spacious room (-) Breakfast food is old and tasteless Dining area can be cleaner Generally, rooms and furniture are old Room floor is unclean and dusty

Thank The-Jellyfish
Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 25 July 2017

Hello and thanks for the review. It’s great to see that you had a good time with us and your suggestions of improvements are fully noted! Hoping that you had a good time in the city! Nic, hostel manager

Reviewed 19 July 2017

HI-Montreal is a really nice hostel with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and friendly staff. I thought the free breakfast was quite good, and there's a large kitchen if you want to do your own cooking.

Thank ParisMarx
Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 21 July 2017

Grrrreat! I hope that you also had a good n' fun time in the city! Happy Travels, Nic, hostel manager

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Our stay here was very nice. Clean and had a good breakfast, They were able to help considering our French was poor. They room was comfortable and clean. In a good location to wander and see the city, not far from the Metro.More

Thank KathleenFowler
Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 21 July 2017

Hello Kathleen and thanks for the review. If French is normally used among the team, we have staff members from all around the world, making the HI-Montréal a multi languages spot where people from all horizons will be comfortable. Hoping that you could envoy Montréal...More

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Thus hostel ist amazing! The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are a bit small, but they are only for sleeping so everything was great. The best at the hostel is the breakfast. They do not have cheese or bacon, but diffrent cereals,...More

Thank Louisa B
Response from AubergeHIMTL, Directeur général at HI Montreal HostelResponded 11 July 2017

Bonjour Louisa, What a pleasant review to read this morning. On behalf of all the team of HI Montréal hostel: THANK YOU! :) Hoping to see you again soon at the hostel! Nic, hostel manager

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Montreal, Canada
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
USD 22 - USD 122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 22 - USD 122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (167)
Dining (30)
Amenities (21)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the
Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and
commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship
stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate
headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by
nightfall transforms from a business district into a
youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and
restaurants heavily peopled by students and young
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
paulynnita
2 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Don_G_Wright | Reviewed this property |
There are steps up to the entrance, and then only stairs up to the rooms and down to the kitchen and dining area as far as I recall, so probably not wheelchair accessible. But I would suggest contacting the hostel directly... More
1
Vote
Susan K
15 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from laidbackmofo | Reviewed this property |
Hi! I wish I could help more in this situation. My group arrived in a large truck and parked it on the street in front of the building. We did have to pay for street parking. As far as a parking structure, I didn't see any... More
0
Votes
21 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from marijansesvete | Reviewed this property |
I didn't have a car, but there was pretty big and pretty empty parking just in front of the hostel. I can send you photos.
2
Votes
Room Tips
"2nd floor and away from the stairs"
Read review
"best rates, accessibility, enjoyable"
Read review
"all the rooms seem good."
Read review
"I had room 103, it was quiet even though it was on the 1st floor."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing