We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lord Berri

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lord Berri
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Lord Berri
 Click to rate
Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately this was the worst hotel that we stayed in when travelling around Canada. We didn't like the location, two girls travelling together -- we simply didn't feel safe. It immediately put a downer on our trip, hotel is also in badly need of renovation, there was posters up saying it was going to be taking over by Fairfield Inn...

Thank Mags365
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

ALWAYS helpful and very welcoming! Comfortable beds, clean rooms, attentive employees and what seems like soundproof walls! We go back every year, with lots of friends and sometimes for concerts throughout it..and pick this place first each time. Great pricing, great location!

Thank Samantha C
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

I red your comments with great interest and thank you very much. You will be more than welcome anytime The Lord Berri hotel is you home and we are at you disposal to make sure your stay will be the most enjoyable each time.. Yours sincerely. Med Laaouan General Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to be a good option, reasonably priced, but dated. It still is a very convenient location. Stayed here several times over the last 10 yrs or so. This was my last visit. Basically, they're doing nothing to the hotel but let it decay. It is scheduled for a reno and re-branded to a Fairfiled Inn by Marriott. Carpet in...

Thank boeingATL
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We are very surprised to read your comments regarding the corridor carpet and bedspreads. Yes they are old but not filthy as you describe them to be. In regards, to the planned renovations, we are almost there. The renovation program will start next fall in order join the Marriott Fairfield Banner summer 2018. In the meantime, we hope to have...

Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
Thank 437jaminc
Niagara Falls,
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We came to Montreal for a festival, I won't book anything under a 3 for reasons like this. The hotel needs upgrading, it has horrible floors, bathrooms we WOULD NOT AND DID NOT bathe in. We immediately checked the mattresses for bugs. I would never book here again. Even the parking was shady. I would lower this to a 1...

Thank chaarliem
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We are sincerely very surprised by your comments. We do agree that the hotel needs upgrading but the floors are not horrible as you seem to describes them, all bath and shower are very clean and we do not have beg bugs. In general the beg bugs in Hotels are broth buy customers themselves in their luggage's. When it happens......

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location in Montreal. Very close to restaurants, fast food, groceries, metro and SAQ. Room was a bit outdated but is big and has everything you need. Front desk staff was also very friendly. Hotel deposit was a little pricey at $200. All and all great hotel and would stay again.

Thank Connor S
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We are very happy to see that you stay with us was the most enjoyable. Our primary goal is to do the best we can to provide the best and conformable stay to our customers. Thank you for your comments. Med Laaouan. General Manager

Reviewed 20 February 2017

It's located like two metro stations (or a 20 minutes walk on René Levesque Blvd) from Downtown. In itself the facade is basic and quite alright. But the surroundings aren't incredible. It's got the advantage to be real close to the hipster LGBT friendly trendy neighborhood called Quartier Latin. But the rooms don't look like the photos at all. We...

Thank Lena B
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your comments. reported in detail. You can rest assured that we will address them one by one to correct them immediately. For your information, we are completing a renovation program for the entire property to start next fall in order to join the Marriott Fairfield Banner spring 2018. In the meantime, we hope to...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Good location, but didn't sleep much... Pillows too small, lack of duvet, had to ask for another room because the first one was too noisy around. Since I had to be downtown at 8h00, the location was fine.

Thank nick001ca
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As you probably noticed, we are announcing a major renovation starting this coming spring. New bedding is part of those renovations. In the meantime. we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General manager

Halifax, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Just awful. The rooms are clean. The staff are lovely and friendly. The location is ideal. But the noise... The noise coming from other guests got to the point where I complained twice. With lower than average room rates, this place attracts a crowd which has absolutely no respect for others. I'm 54. It's New Year's Eve and I am...

Thank Charlie B
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We sincerely regret what you have experienced during your stay at Lord Berri on the night of December 31st, 2016. During the New year eve, we run into a serious problem with small group that stayed with us and partying. The members of this group were running all over the place. We had to call the police to contain them...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I have read a lot about the hotel, and was a bit hesitant to book this hotel. However, it turned out to be good. A bit dated, and needs a renovation. However good price, clean and comfortable. Nice and helpful staff. Coffee machine in the room with perfect coffee. Fridge in the room. Safe box in the reception. May be...

Thank karl11614
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments. For your information and to better serve our customers, we are undertaking a major renovation beginning of January 2017 in order to join the renoun Banner Marriott Fairfield next summer. In the meantime, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (50)
Room/Suite (14)
Bathroom (7)
Dining (1)
View from Room (5)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Other (3)

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood


  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Price Range: $92 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lord Berri staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Berri staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Queen sized bed isn't the room from the photos AT ALL.”
702lenab, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you don't have a room near the elevator”
nick001ca, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay at a different hotel!”
donIreland40, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try the travelodge”
walks1, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a king size bed on the 10th floor.”
DeiviCrockett, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5