We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lord Berri

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lord Berri
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 233: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have read a lot about the hotel, and was a bit hesitant to book this hotel. However, it turned out to be good. A bit dated, and needs a renovation. However good price, clean and comfortable. Nice and helpful staff. Coffee machine in the room with perfect coffee. Fridge in the room. Safe box in the reception. May be... More 

Helpful?
Thank karl11614
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments. For your information and to better serve our customers, we are undertaking a major renovation beginning of January 2017 in order to join the renoun Banner Marriott Fairfield next summer. In the meantime, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was within the price range I was wiling to pay. The hotel delivered and met our expectation. I'm sure the location is good, but the weather prevented us from taking advantage of the location. Room was spacious and should be better after renovation.

Helpful?
Thank eliseljh
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are definitely undertaking a major renovation this coming January 2017 to better serve our customers in the futur and to join the Banner Marriott Fairfield summer 2017. In the meantime, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during your next visit to Montreal. med Laaouan General Manager More 

Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although this hotel could use a little bit of a facelift as others say, there is absolutely nothing wrong with it. It is not old, but it is not new. It's in the middle and that is the only reason I've rated it as "average", because it is. The room was always warm and cozy. Bathroom was clean, shower had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle K
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As you may have noticed in our posters in the Lobby, we are renovating the property this coming winter in order to adhere the renoun Banner Marriott Fairfied next summer. In the meantime we hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General manager. More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The rooms are noisy on the street side. Service is poor for Canadian standards. Wait for IBIS to take over the place in a year's time (or so they are advertising in the hotel lobby). On the plus side there is a nice cooked breakfast for $5 in the small café next to the lobby. Hotel is right next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank donIreland40
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and regret very much that the accommodation you occupied did not met your expectation. As of this coming winter we are renovating to the entire property in order to join the renoun banner Marriott Fairfield as soon as next summer. In the meantime, we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again during... More 

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Booked a room with a large double bed and were alllocated a room with a standard double. It was very hot during our stay and the antiquated air conditioning made a lot of noise and only blew hot air. Asked for a change of room and we were allocated the one next door which was identical but the noisy antiquated... More 

Helpful?
Thank walks1
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and regret very much the inconvenience caused by a noisy AC. As you might have noticed in our posters in the Lobby, we are undertaking a major renovation this coming winter to joint a renoun banner Marriott Fairfield next summed 2017. In the meantime, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming again... More 

Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We really enjoyed staying at the Lord Berri, the location was excellent, the bed was very comfy and the restaurant was good value. We found the room to be very clean with an interesting view. Wifi was good. I gave it a 4/5 however due to the cramped parking. We found it very difficult to get our car in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlene C
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We always try our best to provide our customers with the best service possible. We look forward to welcoming again during your next visit to Montreal. Med Laaouan. General Manager. More 

Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This hotel is not convenient to old Montreal or the hub of the convention center etc., it's a good 15 mi ute walk from all. The rooms are old but clean. Not a bad experience but also not a first choice accommodation. If hotels were not all sold out I would never have chosen to stay here. On the plus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert F C
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We have red your comments with interest. The convention center and old Montreal are very accessible by taxi from the hotel, maximum 5 minutes. Yes, our renovation program will start January 2017 to joint the renoun Banner Marriott Fairfield. These renovation will allow us to better serve our customers by offering them better accommodation and service. We do hope to... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Very good location and value for money, room furniture is a bit old but the location was just perfect. There is a chargeable parking next to the hotel (not part of the hotel), you might need to wait for some time to get your car out during office hours as car jammed beside each other. Couldn’t complain, I got what... More 

Helpful?
Thank triptaker80
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We always try to do what we can to satisfy our customers. Med Laaouan General manager More 

United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel's location is good. The rooms are little outdated. Wifi didn't work in the room which was an issue for us. We had to walk in the hallway to pick up signal. A lot of restaurants and shops in the area which was a plus

Helpful?
Thank bishAi
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Yes we are experiencing some problems with WIFI and working on it with the supplier to improve it. Med Laaouan General manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The hotel is super old, the smell in the Lobby as well as in the room was horrible. The beds were poorly done, the lights did not work. Nobody would answer the phone at front desk. Staff would not help you. I tried to ask where the ice machine was, I was told that they don't have any and found... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
Med L, Directeur général at Lord Berri, responded to this review

We have red your comments with lots of interest and are at same time shocked with its content. We sincerely regret that you did not take the time to bring to our attention all those concerns while staying at hotel . Yes the hotel needs renovations which we are addressing soon but not dirty. All the information you need to... More 

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Quality Hotel & Suites Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#55 of 163 in Montreal
752 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#80 of 163 in Montreal
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#100 of 163 in Montreal
288 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
#81 of 163 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centre-Ville (Downtown)

Neighbourhood Profile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal's towering skyline is concentrated in the Downtown area, its nexus of commerce and commercialism. A suffusion of luxury hotels, flagship stores, high-end restaurants, and corporate headquarters characterize the neighborhood, which by nightfall transforms from a business district into a youth-culture hotspot, with hip bars, clubs, and restaurants heavily peopled by students and young professionals. The once-seat of millionaire's 'Golden Square Mile', an incongruity of stately mansions and dapper brownstones sit between glass skyscrapers, creating a visually lush urban landscape. Beneath the sidewalks lay the Underground City, the world's largest below-ground mall, a labyrinth of over 1,500 shops and eateries that echo the profusion of cafes, gallerias, cinemas, and fashion outlets above. From the scholarly array at McGill University to the carousing crowds of Rue Crescent, visit Downtown to shop by day for what you'll wear there by night.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel located downtown close to all major activities. Walking distance from metro shuttle bus to airport ($) every 30 minutes. Walking distance from old Montreal and shopping mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lord Berri

Address: 1199 Rue Berri, Montreal, Quebec H2L 4C6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Price Range: $94 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lord Berri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Berri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Berri Montreal
Lord Berri Hotel Montreal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lord Berri staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Berri staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at a different hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles donIreland40, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try the travelodge”
 of 5 bubbles walks1, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a king size bed on the 10th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles DeiviCrockett, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on first 3 floors in case elevators break down and you can use stairs”
 of 5 bubbles PanchitoMontreal, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Never ever stay in this hotel if you want to be treated with respect and dignity.”
 of 5 bubbles _T8143YJ, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay