We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel on Pownal

Save
Share
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (2)
Overview
146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6 Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Fitness centre
2.5 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
209
139
45
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
209
139
45
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookieshotel has free parkingwithin walking distanceno elevatornice lobbyhard boiled eggsbath towelsdowntown charlottetownbeer and winemotel styleincluded breakfastthe pilot housecomfortable hotelcomfortable bedsbreakfast areaqueen streetconvenient location
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

The only thing going for this hotel is the location. I was very disappointed with it. It seems that some of the rooms are newly renovated by looking at the photos on the hotel website, but, our room was tired looking. It was a big...More

Thank FelineOnTheGo
Response from THOPManagement, Manager at The Hotel on PownalResponded 2 days ago

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and also for giving us constructive feedback from your stay here with us. We are sorely disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We have done a complete remodel in 37 of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was a return visit to this hotel. The room was updated there was no carpet. Loved it. Nice clean fresh room. The bed was comfortably and the bathroom was a little on the small side, no counter space for toiletries but nice and clean....More

Thank 362Denise
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at "the hotel on pownal" the weekend of Aug 31 - Sept 1. We where there as part of a wedding and where not disappointed. From the moment we walked into to your lobby you had us! BEAUTIFUL is all I have to...More

1  Thank Extraordinary512104
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights here in August (Fri-Sat) for a friends getaway and had an enjoyable stay. Hotel is extremely well located with restaurants, bars, attractions and shopping within easy walking distance, so it was great to be able to come back and forth throughout the...More

Thank LAK1970
Response from THOPManagement, Manager at The Hotel on PownalResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while you were in Charlottetown. We hope you come and stay with us again in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are tiny but nicely renovated. There is no elevator so be ready to carry your suitcases up three flights. Breakfast is basic—nothing fancy here. But the staff is warm and friendly. I did not feel the hotel warranted the price they charged but...More

Thank DHHWWH
Response from THOPManagement, Manager at The Hotel on PownalResponded 3 weeks ago

We’re glad to hear that you found our team here to be warm and friendly during you stay. Although we do not have an elevator on-site, we can accommodate first floor requests or we are always happy to help with luggage. I would recommend if...More

View more reviews
About
Description
The newly renovated Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal ...More Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Air Conditioning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
45
Price range
USD 96 - USD 195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
,
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Location
Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel Style
Family
,
Business
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
45
Price range
USD 96 - USD 195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
,
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Location
Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Photos
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
598 reviews
.06 km away
Dundee Arms Inn
285 reviews
.14 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
523 reviews
.22 km away
The Harbour House
841 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 282 restaurants in Charlottetown
Cows
239 reviews
.15 km away
The Pilot House
501 reviews
.10 km away
Feast Dinner Theatres
51 reviews
.08 km away
Dundee Arms Inn Restaurant and Pub
175 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 137 attractions in Charlottetown
Confederation Centre of the Arts
1,005 reviews
.22 km away
St. Dunstan's Basilica
710 reviews
.26 km away
Victoria Row
439 reviews
.27 km away
The Mack
85 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hotel on Pownal staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms on conference side have standalone balconies on second floor. No elevator here though."
Read review
"Ask for a room that's along the hallway inside the building so it won't feel like you're in a..."
Read review
"We were on ground floor facing parking and still quiet."
Read review
"the room was on parking lot side but not noisey at all"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing