We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 51: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 29 September 2013

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank PannyOxfordshireUK
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

england
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is priced at about double the price of equivalent places. Its handy for downtown places but other than that it is exceptionally bad value. The owner doesn't turn up on time for guests- he did for us but I saw many people waiting over an hour for him to turn up. We had a blocked toilet within a day...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank hopefulengland
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Appreciate that you found us in a good location. The price only reflects the time of year and convenient downtown location. Madam the toilet got blocked and that is exactly why using the toilet as garbage can is not a good idea.

Quebec City, Canada
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Luckily we only had booked this room for one night. Being a Canadian myself, I was expecting a minimum standard for a rented room (120$/night) in my own country. The lobby is surely a good preview of the room you're gonna get. A chaotic space where you can find anything piled up . Our room was smelly (mothballs), without a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jeboubou
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for giving high grade for location. True our prices are higher than what you will find in south east Asia. As far the condition for bathroom is concerned, all we can do is blame the mother nature. Toronto had one of the worst rain fall just about that time. Toronto never gets so much rain fall in such...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The place is a dump. It's very old and dirty. All of the photos you see on the website are really far from reality. My room was really tiny and stuffy, and when I turned on the AC the noise was just unbearable. The door was flimsy and the hallway light comes through... My pillow looked very anorexic and the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank BraveTraveler1
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Ok, I guess your opinion is your perception, and you have every right to have a valid or invalid opinion. The only thing I like to repeat here, is our check-in and check-out time are very clearly posted and you ignored them totally. Knowing fully, the front desk closes at 6:30 PM, you called at last minute that you will...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I'll try to describe my personal experience, I just stayed in this residences one week, in a small baseman room, no direct light, very dark (at 2.00 pm. seemed to be mid-night) with a tinny little kitchen and a small bathroom, the bed was comfortable, the sofa was ugly and dirty, in need of new covers. For this room I...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Addacc
SAINTLAWRENCERESIDE, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

We wonder, if you are describing the correct hotel; as we have no basement accommodation. Further more we have no record anyone staying for 7 nights at $700. The suites that we offer with kitchenette (yes they are small but large enough with counter, sink, and stove, fridge, microwave). Private shower, and internet access We could have given a reduced...

Toronto
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It is hard to adequately explain how awful of an experience this "hotel" was. I would not return for a night there if you paid me $100 to do so. I would plead with you to not stay here. - I was billed close to $70 more than the receipt and had to dispute it - There was noise at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eric B
SaintLawrenceResiden, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

The purpose of a review is to give one's honest opinion about a property, and not mudslinging. You could not explain the experience because you really had nothing to explain. You tried to dodge, and did everything to have stayed without paying. When a guest is allowed a self check-in, we are simply trying to meet their needs, and not...

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The room was simple and clean, no problem with the owner. Very good location. The shower of the shared bathroom was a bit small and no bath mat. The toilet paper is given with the room, dont forget it (when going and leaving) ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacques G
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you. Yes, we are different. Our motto is to provide Affordable Luxury, with an emphasis on Affordable. You will find in every big city the downtown hotels have a parking fee. Of course it can be added in the room prices, but then it will be un-fair to guests who have no car, and still subsidize the guests who...

London, Canada
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel used to be a residence, so might not be quite what you are expecting. The rooms are small, but well equipped. We had two single beds, a microwave, kettle, free tea, coffee, powder creamer and sugar, cups and glasses, and a small fridge, also a tv. There is a communal kitchen, books to read, a computer to share...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie F
SaintLawrenceResiden, General Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for an honest review. It is rarely we get reviews from people who enjoyed staying with us. We get more than our share of bad review from a few disgruntled guest. Most it is their way of teaching us a lesson. We like the customers, the guests, and we do everything in power to make them satisfied. But...

Enschede, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After I could not get an affordable hotel downtown Toronto, I booked a place here. For the price i payed, compared to the other places in town it was a good place to stay. The owner was quite helpfull as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frederik W
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your objective remarks

Toronto
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The room was basic and clean. The best knife the kitchen had to offer was a butter knife, so if you wanted to prepare something fresh, you would be out of luck. The owner lives 50 miles away and maintain office hours when it suits him. You can call if there's a problem, but if it's not there, he'll tell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TorontoWanderlust82
SaintLawrenceResiden, Manager at Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you, that is what we are , an affordable luxury, basic and functional. Talking about knife, you forgot to tell, you were provided with a brand new set of knife and fork. Talk about service. Is it fair to demand, ask us to return to property on a Sunday ( our off day ), simply to retrieve you $10...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Filmores Hotel
Filmores Hotel
#105 of 131 in Toronto
20 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#32 of 131 in Toronto
1,712 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#55 of 131 in Toronto
2,458 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#45 of 131 in Toronto
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown
At the heart of Toronto, Downtown is the destination for cheap eats and fast fashion. Cut through by hip and trendy Yonge Street, the vibe here is young, with a strong student influence from the Ryerson University Campus. As a result, the Downtown area is always in flux: undergoing the construction of new facilities, with fresh retail spaces and pop-up cafes. Home to Toronto's largest indoor shopping mall, a number of vintage cinemas, and a healthy nightlife centered on the area's Distillery District bar and clubs near the East End, it's both an easygoing daytime spot and a popular party place after sunset. It also features some of Toronto's best outdoor landmarks, including Yonge-Dundas Square and the Nathan Phillips Square: perfect for a concert, a skate, or a relaxing sit-down.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of downtown, St. Lawrence Residences & suites is designed to handle all accommodations-leisure travels, business travels, extended stay or student housing. Our rooms are moderately priced and includes amenities such as: -air-conditioner - Color TV -Free wifi -Microwave -fridge -double cook-top -pots, pans & dishes. -Linens and towels provided Dining table or love seat or both depends on room configuration. Guests are welcome to use common kitchen and bathroom. Laundry facilities are within the premises. Phone in the lobby is free for local calls, Free Wi-Fi available all over the property. The dishes, pot and pans are yours to use at no extra charge all we expect is clean dishes, and pots & pans, for the next person. We offer accommodations geared to budget minded travelers. The Linen is provided Free for a limited time and includes bed sheets, pillow cover, blanket or comforter, and a bath towel, Limited secure parking available at property for $35 a night. Neighbourhood unsecured surface parking at reduced rates may be searched A 13% HST & 8% sundry charge is added to room charges etc. Our front desk hours are 2:30 PM to 6:30 PM, Monday to Saturday. Sundays closed. Please contact us 48 hours prior to arrival, by email. Check out time is 11:00 AM House keeping service if required No pets allowed No smoking in the building ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites

Address: 135 Jarvis St, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2H6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Price Range: $78 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Lawrence Residences And Suites
Saint Lawrence Residences Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Saint Lawrence Residences & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles lawrencec62, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“avoid all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles williamd_us, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here....”
 of 5 bubbles angel3213, 17 Dec 2014 | Read review
“If you attempt to use the facilities to their full extent, the long term renters will quickly come out of the woodwork and make you feel unwelcome. Even they couldn't believe the prices I was paying to say here.”
 of 5 bubbles Aguestish, 24 Oct 2014 | Read review
“No Good Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Riker80, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay