We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Templar Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Templar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Ottawa ON
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Templar for 3 nights and quite liked our stay but the design features make the rooms a little less than comfortable. Our room was clean, the staff friendly and we found the bed comfortable but I can see why others did not. The location is great but of course that means traffic noise which is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stang1sk
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was a solo female traveler for a medical conference and paid around $230 for this hotel. They initially gave me a room that had hair and a sticky spot in the bath tub. I was then given another room without a functional door lock. When I informed the staff, I was told not to worry and that only management... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank stargrit

Travellers are raving about these Toronto hotels

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean, stylish, comfortable, ideally located with very helpful and attentive staff. A short walk from Union Station where the UP Express from Pearson Airport terminates. The finance district within walking distance as well.

Helpful?
Thank Arnar G
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Arnar, Thanks for the review! We do have a great location makes it easy for guests of the hotel to get around the city. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards, John Paterson More 

Ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is downtown and close to Adelaide Hall which was the reason we were there. It is a small trendy little hotel tucked away inconspicuously (almost drove right past it!). There is parking available through the hotel and also nearby for around $30 - $40. Check-in was easy, the front desk staff were polite and professional. We stayed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mymillymolly
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Mymillymolly, Thanks for the review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking into the few items your mentioned to ensure they are fixed. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Regards, John Paterson More 

Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first review that I've ever made of a hotel, restaurant, or any type of business that one could review online; but I felt that it was necessary. My s/o and I were looking to spend a weekend in the city and experience something other than the typical chain hotel and tourist hot spot. Templar was the worst... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Frets14
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Frets14, We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. This is not a normal experience for guests at the Templar. I sincerely apologize and we have followed up to make sure that much of what you have mentioned is no longer an issue. We have plans to improve the hotel continually and your feedback is... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very modern. Loved the location. The tub was massive and it was an interesting layout. I felt it was very clean and I felt comfortable there. It was very affordable. I was not disappointed whatsoever and I was happy to spend mine and my boyfriends weekend there.

Helpful?
Thank SniderOliver
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

SniderOliver, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience. We hope you and your boyfriend return! Regards, John Paterson More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

My husband and I spent our 2nd wedding anniversary in Toronto for the weekend and wanted to stay at a boutique hotel. We found Templar Hotel and thought it looked great, and a perfect location! The design of this hotel is beautiful. We really loved the look and feel of the lobby and our room. The bathroom was really cool,... More 

Helpful?
Thank scc6
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi scc6, We are glad that you generally enjoyed your stay and that the service was excellent. We will be looking into the issues you mentioned and will make sure your next stay is even more enjoyable. Thanks, John Paterson More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I recently spend a night at the Templar Hotel as my usual hotel was fully booked during the Jays playoffs. The website described the hotel as a "zen" hotel which I am not really sure what you should expect. The pictures however seemed minimal but very nice. When I got there, after walking by it the first time as it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JEM2803
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

JEM2803, Thanks for the review. We apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are a unique hotel, and though we try to suit everyone, we apologize that your experience was not a positive one. We will be looking into the issues you mentioned and dealing with them as soon as possible. Thanks, John Paterson More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I really liked this hotel and its chic design, minimalist, industrial. But still rooms were welcoming. Floor to ceiling windows in my corner suite on 5th floor with a great big-city view. Comfortable bed, nicely appointed throughout, full-length mirrors, high tech bathroom with a fabulous shower. A few hooks in the bathroom would be nice but that's about it for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryhouse
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Rosemaryhouse, Thanks for your review. Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again. Regards, John Paterson More 

Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I stayed here for a night just to get out of the house and had dinner downstairs. The style is very modern, there was construction so I am sure it will be better once it is completed, but the heat did not work in the room and there were holes in the ceiling of the room, the acoustics are not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke M
templarhoteladmin, General Manager at Templar Hotel, responded to this review

Luke M, Thanks for the review. I am glad that you generally enjoyed your stay. Most of the issues you mentioned are temporary. The in room issues were being fixed as you are aware and the heating was being turned over so those issues are no longer a concern. We hope that you come back again now that we are... More 

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#80 of 131 in Toronto
126 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#25 of 131 in Toronto
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 131 in Toronto
959 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
Hotel Le Germain Toronto
#7 of 131 in Toronto
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Monk Kitchen at Templar Hotel
Cuisines: Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Templar Hotel is a small, uber stylish, unique boutique hotel in the heart of Toronto. There is so much that makes the Templar Hotel a special place - its people, its secretive history, the chic, trendy and minimalist design, or its affiliation with TIFF and private exclusive events and parties. Located in the heart of Toronto's entertainment district, the Templar Hotel promises to provide an experience that you won't get at a standard large chain hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templar Hotel

Address: 348 Adelaide Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V1R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $172 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Templar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Templar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Templar Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Exeter

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Templar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid facing Adelaide if for some reason you decide to stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles JEM2803, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check location of room/suite if you are expecting a view of the City.”
 of 5 bubbles christinebY9684GW, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing East on a higher floor have a great view of Adelaide”
 of 5 bubbles 813arlenem, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our view was a blank brick wall. Room 5.1. Can't speak for any other room.”
  • Sink is almost totally non-functional, but looks nice. Shower is great, but floor is very slippe
  • This is the tub. Does it look invited and comfortable?
  • Cool, clean and impersonal
  • Bed and tv, with toilet behind chair and frosted glass wall. Note the position of the bathroom l
 of 5 bubbles notbornyesterday, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Away from elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles kymmy3, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay