We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is run-down and dirty. The hallways are not maintained, the walls paper thin, the rooms are old and dingy. The comforter on our bed reeked of body odor. And only a small sheet to cover ourselves after we threw the comforter off. Very VERY disappointing. We realize that at 85$ a night with groupon that this was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justinhoagster
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bought a Groupon for this hotel and definitely should have paid an extra 100$ to stay at the intercontinental Hotel up the road. Wanted a place close to the ROM and was disappointed and never really comfortable here as the rooms, hallways, and decor) are so very dated. First room had window coverings that you couldn't see out of, only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times in the past few years and can say that I have always enjoyed my stay. I am a student who commutes to University and a few times a year there are events where I would rather spend the night than commute back home. For this, the Hojo is always my first choice! The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcB1113
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoy the Howard Johnson Yorkville and you find it a clean and a comfortable home away from home! We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found blood splattered on the walls in our room and when we brought it to the managers attention, she said "it's slow season. We will be painting the rooms soon" and then say back down..... They gave us $10 off and that was only because we argued it.. yuck

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah F
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We consistently strive to provide the best customer service possible and it seems we fell short in this instance. My apologies. It is our policy to address guest concerns immediately. Rest assured that I have spoken with the team member you referenced and have addressed your concerns. We welcome you...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Getting old and run down but the staff were great. The place needs improvements. Room was large and comfortable but nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is close to Bloor street and parking is not free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4l7278
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Won't go back there again. They charged in US $ even to I am Cdn, using Cdn. Scotiabank credit cards. I booked at their regular $109. one night but bill charged $173.70 plus ? total bill for one stay was $227; $455. for two. If I hadn't checked my credit card statement I wouldn't have known how grossly overcharged I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank blueheron2017
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do not charge in US Dollars. If you made your reservation directly with the hotel, we will gladly investigate further. Please contact me at 419-964-1220. If you paid a third party, unfortunately, you would have to deal with them directly.

Port Dover
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V5329MXjeremyr
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Nice place. Nothing fancy. Could have had more to offer for breakfast. Needed some patch work sanded and a new coat of paint. No fridge in the room. Good location. Front darkness nice and helpful. Clean and no bugs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have mini fridges available at an additional cost. Can be arranged by the Front Desk Agent.

Montreal, Québec, Canada
Reviewed 15 November 2016

This hotel is verry old and would need some renovation for the look but is verry clean and well situated near metro, grocerie, stores en downtown. Verry good service and attention from the staff. Bed was comfortable. Free breakfast was simple but ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benoit_Gagnon
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are a clean hotel located in the wonderful neigborhood of Yorkville. We are 2 blocks away from the subway line. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic and there are a lot of great things to see in Toronto. It is the cheapest option in yorkville but the pictures made it seem nicer than it was. The lobby is well decorated but the rooms are old and out of date. The room was very spacious and the bed was decent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Siobhan W
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had trouble with the internet connection. Our internet was just updated this past summer and we have not received any complaints about it. We will certainly look into it. Glad to hear you enjoyed the location.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
Downtown
Isabella Hotel and Suites
Isabella Hotel and Suites
#108 of 132 in Toronto
317 reviews
Downtown
Town Inn Suites
Town Inn Suites
#67 of 132 in Toronto
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtown
Downtown
Comfort Inn City Centre
Comfort Inn City Centre
#82 of 132 in Toronto
245 reviews
Chinatown
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#101 of 132 in Toronto
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Midtown

Neighbourhood Profile
Midtown
Midtown is a dynamic part of Toronto with some of its most stylish high-rise residences and heritage buildings. The area sees busy shoppers with bag-laden arms balancing lattes in paper cups as they travel from one luxury brand to the next, taking advantage of the proximity of high-end shops. The reflecting pools, jogging trails, and nature treks of the Rosehill Revision are always a hub of outdoor activity, and after a workout from either running or splurging, many take advantage of the spas and massage parlors Midtown has to offer. Away from the bakeries, boutiques, and glamorous old theaters of the district's center, locals use the weekend to embrace the more suburban feel of Midtown's parks, tennis courts, outdoor markets, and the manicured grounds of Casa Loma, while families indulge the area's state-of-the-art playground and learning facilities. Of course, no high-brow district is complete without a healthy counter-culture: Midtown boasts some of the wildest street art and full-wall graffiti of any neighborhood in Toronto.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of upscale and trendy Yorkville-Bloor Village. Our hotel in Toronto, ON, provides you with high-speed Internet access, free Rise & Dine continental breakfast and use of our fitness room. We offer around the clock coffee and tea service, and children under 12 stay for free. Public transportation is just one block away, providing quick and easy access to many areas around the city. Our wonderful location and 24-hour front desk staff makes our hotel near Queen's Park the answer to your Toronto lodging needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown , Yorkville
Price Range: $97 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
London, Canada
8 months ago
Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Toronto Yorkville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a room on a floor with the ice machine, can't remember exactly which one it is”
 of 5 bubbles MarcB1113, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book with ccl*hotelresv.getaroom”
 of 5 bubbles blueheron2017, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles observeryyz, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher up, rooms facing road may be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles CatieM269, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very old scratchy funiture”
 of 5 bubbles annielB6714BW, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5