We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Strathcona Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
Panoramas (61)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,276: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a hotel for the budget concious traveller who does not want to compromise on cleanliness. The place is spotless. The lobby area is nicely appointed, the elevators newly upgraded and the property has been give a makeover. So why is it budget. It is essentially a no frills room. Don't get me wrong. T beds are clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gerry S
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed here on two occasions during our trip to Canada in Dec 2016/Jan 2017. She had stayed here before so I was fairly confident that it was going to be a decent hotel but I wasn't prepared for just how good it was! The hotel is situated downtown and just a 5 minute walk from Union...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheMayneMan2015
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This just might be the best value for your money in downtown Toronto. Rooms are a bit small, but clean and functional. Personnel are very friendly, the morning breakfast buffet is quite acceptable in variety and very good. There is a pub downstairs and it can get pretty busy and noisy on game nights! Overall good experience for under $140...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel1969MTL
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at this hotel. The front desk team were very professional and helpful. The room was fine for a single occupant and was very clean and comfortable. Not sure if the size of the room varies...would have been a bit cramped if travelling with a companion. However great location and option. Worth considering for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CanadianKarma
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here after a Toronto Rock game. The hotel was in a good area, parking available beneath hotel costing $18.00 for the night. The room was very small. Clean room but provided few towels. Had to sign a noise contract upon entering.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica C
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jessica C Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with fellow travelers. We are glad the location suited your needs and we hope you enjoyed the game. We do understand your feedback about the need to sign noise waivers and we do so only to ensure that all our guests regardless of their reason to stay with us...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed as a family with 2 teenagers who we got a separate room for (& it was spacious). Ours was a little small but in good condition except for a squeaky bed but it was so comfortable I couldn't be bothered going down to complain. I expected more street noises and was pleased with the location & service. Wi-fi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn H Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are are grateful for your feedback. I was able to track down your room and thanks to your feedback able to fix it. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our fast internet service and we do hope we become your preferred choice for the...

Salmon Arm, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location very good, but very small rooms, but very clean. they dont even supply a mat for the bathtub, you have to order one from housekeeping, never heard of that before in all my travels, as if someone would steel a bath mat. Even had to pay a damage deposit up front?? another first. About the only good thing about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lerosa2017
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lerosa2017 Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback and it means a lot to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would definitely like to take a moment to address your feedback. We do have a bath mat placed on the bath tub and even though all our bathtubs are anti skid,...

Windsor, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Strthcona over night after a Blue Jays game. Room was clean and tidy and a wee bit tiny. As we were just staying the one night, we didn't need a large room. Bed and pillows were comfortable. There was no view from the window in our room, except that of the concrete wall next to us. Again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christina M Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate it and look forward to your next visit Regards

Edmonton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is a great find. It is just 2 blocks away from Union Station and the UP Express. The hotel has great character. The staff are friendly and the room are tidy and clean. The food is awesome. Chef Tony takes great pride in his kitchen and hotel. He has a great appreciation for his customers. He goes out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdmontonDanigirl
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi EdmontonDaniGirl Thank you so much for your feedback and it makes us all proud that you consider us as your preferred hotel. We assure you we will do everything possible to ensure that we continue to remain your hotel of choice. Thank You once again Regards

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in an awesome location. It's right in the middle of anything you would want to do or go while in Toronto. On my visit it was a very noisy night. The rooms are totally silent but the noises through the hotel and outside are quite loud and travel through the floors and walls. The place is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeborahLovell
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DeborahLovell Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We do understand your concern and assure you we are mindful of our guest comfort at all time. We do sometimes have party revelers due to the nature of our convenient location who probably went overboard. We apologize for that. We thank you for...

799 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (516)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Double Queen Room (Two Queen Beds) (34)
Viewed
Executive Double Twin Room (Two Beds) (30)
Viewed
Executive King Room (One King Bed) (45)
Viewed
Executive Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (38)
Viewed
Queen Room (One Queen Bed) (31)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Single Room (One Double Bed) (34)
Viewed
Smart Double Room (Two Double Beds) (29)
Viewed
Smart Double Twin Room (Two Twin Beds) (26)
Viewed
Smart King Room (One King Bed) (29)
Viewed
Smart Twin Room (One Twin Bed) (23)
Viewed
Suite (98)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 132 in Toronto
973 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#54 of 132 in Toronto
2,491 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#42 of 132 in Toronto
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#19 of 132 in Toronto
2,648 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Downtown West
The Westin Harbour Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Downtown West

Neighbourhood Profile
Downtown West
Downtown West is home to Toronto's gorgeous Inner Harbor, and is a must-visit for lovers of art and the outdoors. The area's rich cultural heritage is celebrated by a number of monuments and museums, giving the neighborhood a mature feel. As a premier destination for modern art, people here stroll through the cool contemporary pieces at the Power Plant, enjoy the outdoor installations along Queen's Quay and Canoe Landing, and picnic among the zany designs of the Toronto Music Garden. The waterfront itself is often suffused with bikers and joggers, and the harbor is always packed with classic ships with masts raised. The vintage boats and ferries to the Toronto Islands make for a charming contrast against Downtown West's backdrop of skyscrapers, condos, and food trucks serving up hot, fresh fare to locals on the go. The area has a peaceful energy, and is popular with tourists and Torontonians alike.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Price Range: $138 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Haslett, Michigan
Newfoundland, Canada
over a year ago
Belleville, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from The Strathcona Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the upgrades available with online reservations”
 of 5 bubbles gerrys48, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are claustrophobic or a light sleeper the Small Economy Rooms are not for you: choose another room at the Strathcona.”
 of 5 bubbles WildCanadian, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to check in early & you may get lucky to stay on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles TripPlannerToo, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles gsjnorth, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the higher floors are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles beachy026, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay