We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Senator Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Senator Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Senator Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a wedding. Good food during dinner, great service the whole time, decent room, bad elevators (but I was told that's being addressed soon), claustrophobic parking garage. Overall a good stay, would stay here again in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad F
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit this great review!!! We appreciate your comments and yes new elevators are being installed as I type this!!! Do come back soon!!

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 10 June 2016

There was a mining convention on and I had to stay in the tower part of the hotel. It is old, dingy and smells like smoke. The parkade was looks like a bomb went off, peeling paint, rust and looks terrible. Others have told me the is hotel is almost like two hotels with the new part very pleasent to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marycentral2013
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

From your description of your hotel stay, you were registered in the original hotel building and on a smoking floor. The tower is the new section of the hotel. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your accommodations but the rooms in the tower were all renovated and are quite beautiful and comfortable. On a good note, thank...

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here in January because my flight to Toronto was cancelled. My airline gave me a voucher so it was paid for. Everything appeared to be pretty standard at first. I inspected the bed before going to sleep, there was a blood stain on the far left bottom corner of the sheetIf I hadn't inspected the bed, I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashley d
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize that you found blood stain on your sheet. I wish I would of known this the day that you left the hotel. I could of addressed with our housekeeping staff then. I assure you that this is not our Hotel's standard of cleanliness and was obviously overlooked by the cleaning person. Thank you for bringing it to...

Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We have stayed there over the last year with our three dogs. Now out of the blue they change their policy to two dogs no exceptions. What a piss off. Now had to find another pet friendly hotel in Timmins tried to speak to the manager but the front desk girl refused Not happy about this either. Will not recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I do apologize for your inconveniences but our policy has always been maximum 2 dogs per room. I don't understand why I was not aware that you brought in 3 dogs. My office is situated in front of the front desk and always available to our guests, but perhaps I was not in that day. Please feel free to discuss...

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The ambiance needs a major makeover. The restaurant is full of out dated, tacky art. Why not feature local artists around the restaurant instead ? Our waitress Pam was amazing, and was working the entire restaurant alone on a Saturday evening . She was polite, knowledgeable and all around pleasant, I wanted to compliment her on my way out but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bella B
Louise B, General Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Pam is a definite asset and we do appreciate her. Your suggestion to showcase local artists is great! I will look into that. I will also discuss your comments regarding the items you ordered with our Chef Jason. Thank you.

Timmins, Canada
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We held our meetings at the Days Inn and received exceptional service from Jeannine. The meeting room was not exceptional but the service from Jeannine was very professional and friendly. Thank you for your smile!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank corinneivancic
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Corinne, I will make sure Jeannine reads your review.

Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

The elevators are an adventure in this hotel. I stayed on the seventh floor so stairs were out of the question but the elevator was unpredictable. One working periodically, the other one going up then down then up collecting more and more people along the way. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but there is no fan in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank northernangell
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your comments. We take all comments, positive or negative, very seriously as they confirm our strengths and weaknesses. I am happy to write that new state of the art elevators are being installed this summer with safety features such as keycard floor entry. Also all our guestrooms do have wall fans which are situated just above...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 28 April 2016

My family stayed in this hotel for a wedding. The food was great, service was good. We were not impressed with the "suites", which are actually a single rooms. I traveled with two small children and the reason I got a suite is because unlike them, I don't go to bed at 6:30. In the end things worked out, as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JuanM525
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

I am happy to read you enjoyed our food and services. Our goal is to accommodate business, recreational and family comfort and pleasure. Thank you for your positive comments on our beds and pillows and hot and cold breakfast buffet. We value your business and hope you will return. Thank you.

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

My fiance treated me to yet another wonderful meal at the Days Inn's finest restaurant, the Senator Dining Room. As always, we were greated by Pam and her nice warm smile. I had the prime rib which is to die for and he had the lobster alfredo...I had a taste and got hooked. You must try the baked brie....it's absolutly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie A
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Nathalie for your great review! Very pleased you are returning guests. It is the foundation of our business. Thank you for your continued patronage!

Kirkland Lake, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I have stayed here a few times over the past 3 years. The staff are always very friendly and go out of their way to help. There have been a few housekeeping mishaps but they have been fixed quickly. In October of 2015 we did notice a smell in our room but we were there again in February of 2016...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hwick2016
Louise B, Manager at The Senator Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always appreciate positive comments. I am very pleased that you find our staff friendly and helpful. I will pass this on. As for the odour in your room, please let us know as soon as you enter your room and we will address the problem immediately. Have a great...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timmins hotels
4.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Timmins
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Timmins
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Timmins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Travelodge Timmins
Travelodge Timmins
#11 of 12 in Timmins
217 reviews
4.0 km away
Ramada Timmins
Ramada Timmins
#7 of 12 in Timmins
124 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Timmins
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Book a room at the Senator Hotel for value and warm hospitality in beautiful downtown Timmins. With a prime spot in the heart of the city, our Timmins, Ontario, hotel near Timmins Square makes it easy to reach in just minutes. From an on-site restaurant, sports bar and room service to in-room microwaves and refrigerators, our pet-friendly Timmins, Ontario, hotel offers all the amenities and special touches to make your stay memorable. All Rooms feature Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Wake up for an early morning workout in our fitness center before enjoying free Hot Buffet Daybreak breakfast. Book our spacious conference center or ballroom for your meeting or event. Guest laundry facilities, non-smoking rooms and executive suites are available. We offer a 5,776 square-foot ballroom, three conference rooms, catering service, audio / visual equipment to take care of all your business needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Senator Hotel

Address: 14 Mountjoy St S, Timmins, Ontario P4N 1S4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Timmins
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Senator Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Senator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Conference Centre Timmins Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Hotel Timmins
Days Inn Timmins
Timmins Days Inn
The Senator Hotel Timmins, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Senator Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for the best views.”
  • Fridge included in the room
  • Could see to the river and beyond, very nice view of the city.
  • Room with 1 king bed
  • Comfy king bed.
  • Microwave and fridge (in the unit)
  • Sitting area and desk near the window. Amazing view.
 of 5 bubbles kristen252, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 646 had a beautiful view of the town, our bed was very big and comfortable. Thank you Kathie this was exactly what we needed”
 of 5 bubbles Bourgoin15, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay in the Tower!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles marycentral2013, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“bad customer service”
 of 5 bubbles punkydo30, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose a smoking room, they are run down and not remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles nancybD5124KE, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5