We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON
See the most recent reviews
Showing 224: English reviews
Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Do not stay in this terrible hotel ! We made the mistake of booking this hotel with Hotwire and got screwed over real good. We always had good luck with Hotwire, but not this time, we should have read all the reviews carefully before booking, but we didn't. We had originally booked for 3 nights, but we only ended up...

1Thank alexmp685
hojosault, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this review

Hello guest, thanks for time to post review. Renovation proves that guest are happy to stay at this hotel, so that's why owner is investing. Strongly recommended to understand renovation process for you. During your stay weather was really cold out side while you were wearing thin open zipped jacket out side; definitely everybody will feel freeze in a room...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We stayed for a night passing through on a long trip, the staff was friendly enough and our room was clean enough, but all we were looking for was a shower, and a breakfast. The water ran cold for 10 minutes and we called the front, they really couldn't do anything to help with the tap or make our stay...

Thank Jessica D
hojosault, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this review

Hello Guest. Thanks for comments of your stay. As you called up for hot water issue; you did not allowed us to check if there is issue or not, we checked next room from your room and hot water came within 3 minutes. We have good enough items in breakfast like Coffee, 2 kind of Green tea, 2% Milk, Apples,Orange...

Canmore, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I stayed at the Howard Johnson in Sault Ste. Marie while travelling from Kingston, Ontario to Banff Alberta. It was my first stop on my long drive so I was looking forward to having a decents night sleep. I made the reservation through Booking.com as it was the cheapest in town(also there was a Jaguar out front so it looked...

Thank Emily W
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Water was pouring down from a gutter outside the door, so the carpet was soaked and the room smelled of both mildew and smoke. Hungry and tired, we went to eat, asking the desk clerk for directions to the casino to use the promo coupons, and he gave us the wrong directions, causing us to go over 10 km into...

Thank candelite
Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Thank X8920IDdebbiew
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is an older facility but room was clean and beds comfortable. Staff have always been friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is very rudimentary and not as good as other places. However, price is right.

Thank Ronald S
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Infrastructure of hotel in poor condition. Atmosphere of breakfast room depressing. Clerk reluctant to print receipt on checkout.

Thank Ericg23
Markham, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2015

The motel is old and the room is not so clean. The breakfast was very limited to few items only. But the check in and out was easy and quick. (maybe because I booked it thru Expedia). No security deposit was required and the location was near the highway so it was good as I arrived late at night and...

Thank John F
Jasper, Canada
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Hotel/motel itself looks ok from the front, but really sketchy from the back where we had to leave our car. Check-in and the front desk was fine, the room was super outdated, carpet stained, little "bar area" disgusting, toilet paper missing in the washroom (but fixed asap by front desk agent). The worst part was definitely the "continental breakfast". I...

Thank articok
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Stayed overnight Oct 22 on my to Manitoba. Convenient location and I was helped quickly and efficiently. I got a ground floor room and parked right behind, which was great for carrying my stuff in. The room was very clean and fresh. Quick access to WiFi and TV. Continental breakfast was fresh with great coffee and a local paper to...

Thank Cathy P
hojosault, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON, responded to this review

Hello guest, Thank you very much for submitting review for stay. Thank you very much for encourage us to continue to provide best service to our guests.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (7)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (5)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
4.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
294 reviews
4.0 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
261 reviews
3.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#11 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Sault Ste. Marie
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham...
#2 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
589 reviews
3.5 km away
Pine Grove Motel
Pine Grove Motel
#19 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
34 reviews
3.0 km away
Bel Air Motel
Bel Air Motel
#21 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON

Address: 503 Trunk Rd, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 3T1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range: $81 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Howard Johnson Sault Ste Marie
Sault Ste. Marie Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn Sault Ste Marie ON staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have a pet you will pay a premium. Stay elsewhere if that bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles Ridler36, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay far away from this place”
 of 5 bubbles beveyg2016, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles LYNNEK478, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles ohialehuadef, 13 May 2016 | Read review
“I would never stay here no matter how cheap it was”
 of 5 bubbles 454garyo, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay