We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Swiss Hotel

Show Prices
#28 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Swiss Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Swiss Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 279: English reviews
Mexico
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The best thing about the hotel is that is strategically located in the downtown/Byward Market area. You are close to the Market, the Rideau Center, University of Ottawa, tons of restaurants and even a few embassies! The rooms are comfortable, the beds are sumptous and the service is great. I have stayed here several times over the past few years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuizadelaLoca
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at the Swiss Hotel during a conference, and was happy that the conference organizers recommended it. The staff was very helpful - because there are no elevators, a strapping young man ran my suitcase and briefcase up the stairs - and they went out of their way to make sure I had the information I needed to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rahelab
Edmonton Alberta
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time in Ottawa. The Swiss Hotel is in a great location in Ottawa. I enjoyed the layout and architecture of the building- including the creaking stairs. We were in the King suite which is a huge space; more than enough room for the two of us. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlamourRunner
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are a European style boutique hotel and we decided not to include our breakfast in our room rate for a few reasons: To begin with, many of our clients are either business people who leave early in the morning or are on holiday and would like to sleep in past our serving hours, so...

Shanty Bay, Canada
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We loved the location as it was close to the market but this B&B doesn't include breakfast!!! You have to pay extra!! What?! It wasn't mentioned on the site or emails and it was a surprise when I got there. They also charge you 4$ upon check out no matter how you pay. The breakfast was great but the $12...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KM H
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this review. A note about our Swiss Hotel bedding: our beds are made with a white 100% cotton fitted sheet and duvet cover in the European style. We do not use flat sheets. When we made up the room in question, we realized that the guest who came down and asked for the "missing" flat sheet...

Edmonton and France
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The first impression of the outside of the hotel was fairly good. However, when you go in, the second look is somewhat disappointing and confusing as there is no clear sign to the reception which is downstairs, no elevator to the rooms and the overall look of the hotel appears very grey and somewhat shabby. On the other hand, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bertie012
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The location of this hotel was awesome almost everything was within walking distance. We liked the modern feel if our room some might find it small we found it just right. I appreciated them allowing us to drop our bags off before our room was ready. I also liked the thought towards the environment. Products and bathroom fixtures all worked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarissa S
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon! A note about taxis: we book our taxis through Blueline Taxi, Ottawa's largest taxi service with over 540 taxis working full time. We have made Blueline aware of your comments, and hope you did as well in relation to the specific offending driver....

Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Honeymoon Suite for two nights & we loved the room loved the jacuzzi tub and LOVED the bed. Thanks to the helpful & friendly staff for giving us all the information we need to be able to purchase one for ourselves. Just wished the suites had a fridge and microwave. Other than that it was perfect. Close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissCStapleton
United States
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you are looking for a lovely, boutique-style hotel close to all the attractions and are comfortable with the culture of an inner-city, then The Swiss Hotel is for you! My family and I opted for the Traveler's Suite which was on the third floor, attainable only by a central set of narrow stairs. We absolutely loved the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sunrise07
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great location, only about a 10 minute walk from parliament. The rooms were clean, and sharp. Nice touch with the iPad. And very cool bathroom layouts, considering they didn't have a lot of space to work with. Don't get confused that the "front" desk is in the basement. ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
Wales
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in May. The staff were very friendly and polite, as was the owner. Though I initially didn’t intend to have breakfast every day, I ended up doing so because it was great - lovely cappuccinos and French toast with maple syrup. The room was clean, well-lit and nicely decorated. I’ve seen other reviewers mention...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JellyBaby24

435 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (294)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Fireplace (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room with Fireplace (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (54)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Plus Room (25)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room with Fireplace (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#18 of 67 in Ottawa
164 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
1,148 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
631 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#26 of 67 in Ottawa
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiss Hotel is ideally located in downtown Ottawa in the heart of the Nation's Capital within easy walking distance to tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars, and convention sites. This European-style boutique hotel has modern flair and offers its clients a warm, cozy and intimate accommodation experience with friendly service in a quiet, stress free environment. Each of the 22 rooms has private bathroom, A/C, European style white bedding that is 100% cotton with plush duvets, hardwood floors, free hi-speed wifi internet, an iPad and a Nespresso coffee machine in every room. For business or pleasure, choose from standard, superior, deluxe rooms with a fireplace or our romantic getaway suite with a double Jacuzzi. The hotel offers an optional healthy Swiss buffet breakfast, as well as opportunities for small meetings. The hotel also has a pretty courtyard garden patio for relaxation - a true oasis in the middle of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $154 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#21 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Swiss Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rm (205) overlooked the quiet street, I could check on my car parked on the street. Parking is available on hotel property ($12).”
  • Breakfast table centre piece!
  • Very comfortable bed.
  • We loved the bright red tiles in the compact but well appointed bathroom.
  • Owner (Sabine) tells us about Ottawa & her renovated 22 room hotel.
 of 5 bubbles rudysterr, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is probably quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles LDarian, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 203 is too light to have a restful night”
 of 5 bubbles traveloften399, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early for a room on the 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles mandkmorrow, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There is no elevator in this 3-story hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles HansieDub, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5