We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Auberge McGee's Inn

PricelineUSD 119*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 126*
USD 119*
Great Deal
USD 125*
USD 126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Auberge McGee\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of Auberge McGee's Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

we were in room 16. cute place, staff was super friendly and helpful. very easy walk to Parliament and the Byward Market area, that has tons of shopping and pubs. We did have to take a taxi to one place, and the company the Inn staff called for us, (not sure of the company name) were totally incompetent, the driver...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mieke B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautifully decorated with many era appropriate artifacts and others that are just interesting. 22 suites of varying size, two with porches. Breakfast selection is decent and delicious and served in either the dining room or parlour. Coffee, tea and cookies available anytime. Parking minimal. No elevator, of course, so if you are on the third floor don't bring a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jul D
Sturgeon County, AB
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had planned our trip around the tulip festival with another couple. We prefer staying in B&B's so when we found McGee's Inn we were quite excited about our stay. Unfortunately, between booking our room and doing the trip, I injured my leg and had a lot of difficulty climbing stairs and walking. I booked a room on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garmax_11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at many different types of accommodations in Ottawa but this was by far the best yet. I loved seeing all the antiques and pointing things out to my son that he had never seen before. It was a little like being in a museum. The room was gorgeous and extremely clean. Breakfast, what can I say?? Apple, brie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The good thing: Breakfast is really good. The maids are nice. The bad thing: The rooms are very noisy. The rooms are very light with no possibility to make it dark. I definitely would try to find another place to stay if you have a light sleep like we do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dabeku
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Stayed in the Family Room to accommodate an adult and teen and it was perfect. Location to University of Otttawa, Shopping, Byward Market and Parliament Buildings couldn't be better. Comfortable, great breakfast and really friendly service. Will definitely stay again. Toiletries supplied were a pleasant surprise and far beyond expectation. Had common computer available for guests which was helpful. Supplied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G H
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Stayed in the annex room off the driveway. Would be very good value for money except for the multiple problems noted below. To start on a positive, breakfast (eggs benny) was better than most restaurants I've eaten at (both in taste and presentation), and the staff were friendly and accommodating. However, some areas of the room were dirty (blinds looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
GladysOttawa, Owner at Auberge McGee's Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are surprised about the bed because we have had no complaints before and it is a fairly new bed, but we will definitely look into it. This was a difficult winter with snow and ice and we had a hard time keeping up with the build up - we...

Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Built in 1886, this B & B is ideally located near downtown Ottawa and the Byward Market,you can park your car during your entire stay. We had a two night stay in the Egyptian room to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. The place was warm, inviting and quiet. We enjoyed the jetted bath, the double shower and the fireplace all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lole994
Restoule, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

First time staying here and it was amazing. Beautiful clean rooms....great breakfast....wonderful service. Close to downtown and Byward market. Everything within walking distance. This will be our go to spot when we are in the city!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milliejake107
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Great place to stay. Awesome location. Great service. Rooms are huge and comfy. Price is unbeatable. Walking distance from downtown. Great restaurants around. They have parking and a mini fridge inside the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvain M

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
ByWard Blue Inn
#14 of 67 in Ottawa
687 reviews
Byward Market Area
Andaz Ottawa Byward Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
1,365 reviews
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#6 of 67 in Ottawa
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Victorian Inn built in 1886, located within walking distance of the ByWard Market, The National Gallery, NAC, the Mint, Ottawa University and much more. Abundant in Victorian charm with all of today's amenities. Historic home of John McGee (member of the Privy Council) and his son Frank McGee (famous hockey player featured on TSN) Full breakfast is included with your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Auberge McGee's Inn

Address: 185 Daly Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $136 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge McGee's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge McGee's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Auberge McGee's Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Auberge McGee's Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 24 opens directly to the parking lot, no stairs”
E4038JYmb, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the annex rooms. Can't speak for the indoor rooms, as I haven't tried them.”
U3131HPcraigm, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from rooms near the porches”
karenaM9193FK, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Staying in the extension of the main house gives you more privacy”
  • Comfort all around!
  • Desk
  • Sitting area
  • Super-clean bathroom
  • Cute toiletries
  • Our cozy room
  • Modern & Clean
  • The Fireplace
OceanLoverLOL, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Call and talk to them”
RoadRage2000, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 119* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 125
Hotels.comUSD 126
Hotwire.comUSD 126
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates