We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in October.. Location is amazing! Staff were lovely... Convenient en suite kitchenette was amazing! Grocery store about 10 minute walk away... Gym about 5 minutes away... Rooms could use an update but I'm not that fussy!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caltp
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you loved our location, and that you had such a great experience with our staff. We are making some exciting updates to our rooms during our non-peak seasons, so we hope that when you come back to visit again, you will get to see some of the many improvements we are making, as...

Bear River, Canada
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Spent three nights at this hotel as part of an east coast trip, booked through Hotwire and had concerns at some of reviews. We had no car as travelling by train so no issues regards parking. Think we had one of the rooms that had been refurbished. Had everything we needed although would have been nice to have had larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beckybearriver
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review the hotel based on your stay with us this winter. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, and that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. Our room refurbishing project began in mid-December, so you would have been hosted in a room...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hotel is in a great location for all the main sites in Ottawa. It is within walking distance of many and has a taxi stand outside for more distant sites. It is reasonable, clean, and comfortable. Not luxurious but acceptable. On the downside, there are no in room safes and the TV reception is poor and sporadic. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celizabeth125
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are a 3 1/2 star rated hotel, so we do our utmost to offer a great location, with clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price point for downtown Ottawa. Although we do not have safes in every room, we do have safety deposit boxes located at...

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I am staying here as I write this and frankly it is a bit tired and if I am honest and based on my experience would not make a 2 star grading. The decor needs updating, it is very dark and dingy throughout. My room is very tired nobody has cleaned under the beds or the sofa for a good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon G
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

The best thing to be said about this hotel is the location to Parliament and the War Memorial which is why we were in Ottawa (Remembrance Day Ceremonies) and the Byward Market. The parking is atrocious so it is a good thing we could walk everywhere. The room was adequate but nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarbonLilies
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016

This hotel is ideal for those of you who want to get as close to Parliament Hill as you can get. With Tim Horton's a few steps down the road and a Starbucks right around the corner! While staying in Ottawa we decided to walk instead of trying to find a decent parking spot as there isn't many options for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rls246
Urmond, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 November 2016

To start off with the positives: This hotel has a great location. The rooms are very spacious, with a separate seating room and bedroom. Parking lot behind the hotel. BUT; the rooms are really old fashioned and in need of a make-over! It smelled a bit musty. Everything looked worn out, cables are not tidy eliminated, there was a weird...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saskia-W
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing your experience. We have been monitoring and taking note on all of the feedback provided from our guests, and we are in the process of planning some exciting new changes to our guest rooms, which will be implemented in phases beginning this winter. The first, being new mattresses throughout, followed...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Location-wise, Capital Suites is a very short walk from the Parliament buildings, Byward Market, National Gallery, Rideau Centre, Shaw convention centre, the Canal, etc. Tim Horton's is only a few steps down the street. However ... Upon arrival, there is extremely minimal on-site parking (good luck finding it). Not even a decent / safe place to pull in to unload...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kproulx
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

It is always very unfortunate to learn when someone does not fully enjoy their stay with us. We read each and every review which allows us to look at the different areas we can improve upon to meet the needs of our guests. You are most certainly correct in that we do not have a swimming pool or hot tub,...

Montreal
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I might be close to 60 hotel nights this year only, and this is the worst hotel I've stayed in so far... This hotel is seriously lacking in many ways. Staff is not particularly friendly. Horrible parking, tiny and packed with cars in a total mess. Self parking but you need to leave your keys so they can move your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dudeneverstop
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As a 3 1/2 star rated hotel, we do market to the budget conscious traveller who would like to stay directly in downtown Ottawa in a clean and comfortable hotel at a fair and reasonable price point, with our amenities clearly outlined on our website. That being said,...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Just 400M from Parliament Hill, and a 15 minute walk to Byward Market this is a great place to stay for the budget conscious traveller. $140 a night for 2 queen beds, private bathroom, sitting area with two chairs and a couch and coffee table, desk, kitchenette with fridge microwave sink and dishes. We stayed in room 602 at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel based on your visit with us this October. We are happy to hear that our Front Desk staff were both friendly and helpful and that you found our price point to be in line with your budget for a downtown Ottawa hotel. We have on-order brand new mattresses and box...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Room/Suite (103)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Ottawa Downtown
1.0 km away
ByWard Blue Inn
ByWard Blue Inn
#15 of 67 in Ottawa
655 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#23 of 67 in Ottawa
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
85 reviews
0.7 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
0.3 km away
Alt Hotel Ottawa
Alt Hotel Ottawa
#19 of 67 in Ottawa
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $107 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors have less road noise”
 of 5 bubbles SulinQ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jong661, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Great location for sightseeing , shopping and eating . We had a back corner room very quiet .”
 of 5 bubbles D5103OQwendyl, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book any room, all good.”
 of 5 bubbles IanF24, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“enjoyed the room I had”
 of 5 bubbles Gennie099, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5