We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Show Prices
#17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,358: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Chateau Laurier
 Click to rate
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel, old and grand. Our room was very large, overlooking the Byward Market. I was hoping for a room a bit higher but this was on the second floor. The washroom was terrific, with a glassed in shower. I did find the decor of the hotel a bit old fashioned, it seemed to be stuck in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laughingwoman6
Kelowna, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 2 January 2017

If you're looking to capture the same charm as the Parliament and nearby buildings in our nations capital, look no further than this enchanting hotel! Amazing location across from Parliament hill and beside Byward Market and steps to the National Art Gallery! Service is great and some of the rooms have been renovated. No complaints, just great service that's expected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Corey Z
About Hotel's Favourite Review
ChateauLaurier, Director of Operations at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Corey Z, We are indeed fortunate to have the premier location in the heart of our Nation’s Capital. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon! Sincerely, Shawn St-Pierre Director of Operations

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I feel like I'm being transported in Canadian history each time I stay here. It's a beautiful, castle like property with gravitas! Historic without feeling dated. Helpful and friendly staff, typical of what to expect from a Fairmont - my go to chain in Canada. Looking forward to my next stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DROJC
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are proud of our rich Canadian heritage and history. We hope to welcome you back one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Toronto
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Recent winter visit was just perfect. It feels like such a treat to stay in this beautiful castle. From the lobby, to the wide halls, spacious rooms, attentive front desk, valet, and door men. What a great experience. I always forget to take the hotel tour, which is now available on your ipad. Something to fit in next time around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cattas
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are delighted that your visits to Ottawa’s Castle have been memorable ones and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

If you truly want to spoil yourself, this is the place to do it. The rooms are very cozy and clean and the beds are top notch. Very friendly staff and the maids are incredible. The brunch buffet has something for everyone, just remember to wear stretchy pants! Would stay here again in a heart beat. You can't beat the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Q
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Our mission is to turn moments into memories and it is always nice to hear when we have been successful. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent location if you like being downtown. Service is very good. Rooms are very cozy and inviting. The hotel is beautiful, but dated in areas, but considering that it's a very old hotel, I'm ok with that. If you're driving, traffic in the area can be quite chaotic at times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanuckW0rldTraveller
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are indeed fortunate to have the premier location in the heart of the city. You may be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of a renovation program throughout the Hotel, including public areas. We do hope to return one day as we are confident you will be impressed with the improvements. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé...

Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying at Fairmont properties is usually like staying at a city's tourist attraction and the FCL is no exception. In the heart of the city, looking over the canal and parliament hill, you find tourists taking photos of where you are staying. We had a junior suite with a view of parliament hill. Love the Nespresso machines which make for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ELC_Freddy_Beach
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your stay ion Ottawa’s Castle was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and will return. Hotel is great and since they have renovated rooms are up to standard. Very good location and easy access to the market. Valet service is prompt and staff are friendly. Restaurant in the hotel is a bit pricey but very convenient. Excellent wine lis .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanmT4053GU
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Room not ready upon arrival at 5pm and was required to wait 1/2 hour after an exhausting trip. My room was also given to someone else who attempted to enter while I was there and my room keys were de-activated. My Wifi was not working and I was declined late check-out although I had a very late check-in from hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadia F
ChateauLaurier, General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Laurier, responded to this review

Dear Nadia, Please rest assured that your experience is certainly not typical of the high level of service we strive to provide to our guests each and every day. We do hope you return one day soon. Sincerely, Claude J. Sauvé General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked room on website which said rooms had a view of the Rideau Canal. Contacted the front desk when we checked in to our room with no view. Were told that the hotel had no rooms with a view of the Rideau. They asked why we thought we would get that view. We told them it is on the website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan N

938 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (915)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (233)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (345)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
The Westin Ottawa
The Westin Ottawa
#5 of 67 in Ottawa
1,981 reviews
Lord Elgin
#9 of 67 in Ottawa
86 reviews
Ottawa Marriott Hotel
#11 of 67 in Ottawa
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#28 of 67 in Ottawa
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zoe's Lounge
Zoe's Lounge
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
Cuisines: International
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Reflecting the confidence, dignity and style of Ottawa, Fairmont Chateau Laurier stands as a testament to this dynamic, thriving city. Located in the heart of Canada's capital next door to the Parliament Buildings, the landmark Fairmont Chateau Laurier hotel in Ottawa is a magnificent limestone edifice with turrets and masonry reminiscent of a French chateau. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Laurier

Address: 1 Rideau Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8S7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $202 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Laurier 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Laurier Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Ottawa
Fairmont Hotel Chateau Laurier
Fairmont Ottawa
Ottawa Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Business Hotel in Ottawa
#12 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Chateau Laurier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother paying for deluxe room, not worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles laughingwoman6, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles melissaheaslip, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Op for the Gold Floor, the extensive inclusions are well worth the upgrade!”
 of 5 bubbles katherineb733, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was newly renovated. Don't know if they all are.”
  • We didn't ask for a room with a view, but I think this was very pretty.
  • See how pretty the marble is? Not that it's a make-or-break thing.
  • The bathroom was exceptional. The marble is so pretty!
  • One of the beds
  • Our room, taken from the entrance.
 of 5 bubbles beefair2014, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be sure to look for special deals. It is often possible to find good packages that bring the room rates down.”
 of 5 bubbles LWS_Canada, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5