We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Show Prices
#33 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
Panoramas (59)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 469: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 July 2016

When My Dad Was having Surgery we Stayed here based on Location ... The Room was nice clean cool AC ... The only thing that was bad is the vending machine on my floor never had any drinks in it .... ( 2nd Floor) I had Breakfast there a few time Food was very good Also the Black guy with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BOSSDOGG
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Good day BOSSDOGG. We hope that your dad is doing well after his surgery. Thank you for the nice comments about your stay with us at the Best Western PLUS Ottawa City Centre. It is great to see that Stephanie was pleasant and helpful. We certainly appreciate your feedback on the areas where you feel we should show some improvement...

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

We were 2 friends meeting up to visit old school friends in Ottawa. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly & we didn't have any issues or difficulties. We had a quick swim in the well kept pool,& ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant both mornings. The breakfast was quite good & very reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea S
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Andrea S. What a "perfectly pleasant" review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre. It is great that you had an opportunity to enjoy our full service restaurant as well as the outdoor heated pool. We truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us. With best regards, Darren

Michigan City
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Good location. Easy off/on freeway access. Coffee shop across the street. Fair price. Large room, very large TV. Fun outdoor pool. However: room smelled, to me like a cigarette-smoke killing chemical. This was not addressed. Beer from the hotel bar was wonderful after our late arrival... but then the bar closed for Canada Day, when the hotel was full of...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rafal G
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Rafal G. Thank you for your very direct and honest comments about your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre. It was great to see you enjoyed several aspects of the updating that has been complete. As you noted, we still have some steps to go to finish our fresh look. I apologize that the guestroom...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Found hotel very convenient as I had to use a bus along Carling Avenue every day. Friendly & efficient staff, both with check in & out. Clean, good size room with 2 double beds. Microwave in room an added bonus. The pool area was nice & well kept. The restaurant look interesting but I did not use. Hotel opposite a...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol D
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Good day Carol D. It is excellent to start the month of July with a positive review. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western PLUS Ottawa City Centre. I love the comment about our staff and the good size room. I look forward to sharing your thoughts with our entire...

Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Just got back today from the BW Macies and it has by far been one of the worst places I've stayed..(this was a school trip by the way). In our room, there was a huge bug in the bathroom, there was no ventilation in the washroom, and the shower in the tiny washroom just didn't work at all. It sprayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Puneet P
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello Puneet P. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a great experience while visiting Ottawa. I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you the issues that you have described at your earliest opportunity. Our goal is to deliver a great experience with all of our guests and when we fall short we want to make it right. Please...

WINCHESTER, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. Everything worked perfectly from the wi-fi to the shower to the TV. The staff seemed a little disinterested, yet helped when you could catch their attention. The only downfalls are the lack of fresh air and the smell in the hallways in the morning.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank William C
Ontario
Reviewed 27 June 2016

When my husband and I checked in and went to our room, I checked the refrigerator (since I travel with soft drinks and bottles of water). The refrigerator was cool but not cold. I went and informed the desk. They sent someone to adjust the controls on the back of the refrigerator. The room was nice and clean. Near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PleasantOntario
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello PleasantOntario. Thank you for taking the time to communicate your experience at our hotel while visiting Ottawa. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. It is through feed back from our guests that we make changes and review where we have fallen short in providing a great experience. Moving forward we are expecting to remove all...

Reviewed 25 June 2016

I was sent to Ottawa with a group of people on my bus. My room had already been booked by the people that had arranged the tour. The staff asked for my credit card number "for incidentals". In good faith i gave it to them. When I checked out, I found they had charged the whole stay to my card....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sailor B
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sailor B. I apologize that you were inconvenienced in any way regarding the method of settlement for your stay. We do ask for a credit card for all of our guests upon arrival to cover any incidentals such as restaurant charges or in-room dining from our on-site full service Cafe 1274 Bar & Grill. We do have a procedure...

Reviewed 23 June 2016

Great location very close to The Ottawa Civic Hospital where my sister had a brain surgery. People at the hotel were very nice and the food at the restaurant was excellent. They have a good taxi services at this location and it makes a difference when you have someone not feeling well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loredanap264
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello loredanap264. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel because of the convenient location while you were spending time with your sister. Our staff will adore the wonderful comments you shared about them. We hope to see you again soon when...

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The front desk staff was superb. Easy check-in, and within 10 minutes received an in-room call from the desk asking if everything was ok. How often does that happen? The room itself was clean but small, barely holding one queen bed. But, we used Priceline, got a great deal so expected to get a lesser room. Dining room for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david g
BWOttawaCityCentre, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre, responded to this review

Hello david g. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Best Western Plus Ottawa City Centre. I look forward to sharing your comments with our entire team. It is important for us to be certain that everything is great in your room upon checking in. I will also forward the comments of the understaffed...

497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (432)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Business Plus King Room (30)
Viewed
Mini Suite with Fireplace (36)
Viewed
Queen Room with Seating Area (40)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Studio Suite with Kitchenette (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Two Double Room (35)
Viewed
Two Queen Kitchenette Suite (45)
Viewed
Two Queen Room (25)
Viewed
Two Queen Room with Pullout Couch (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ottawa Downtown Suites
4.9 km away
The Business Inn & Suites
7.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Ottawa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
5.0 km away
Cartier Place Suite Hotel
7.2 km away
Courtyard Ottawa East
Courtyard Ottawa East
#13 of 67 in Ottawa
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Ottawa accommodations are comfortable, tastefully-decorated and complete with just the kind of convenient in-room amenities we know our guests deserve. All of our rooms feature pillow top mattresses, free wireless internet and 48 inch flat-panel Smart TVs. Every room is also outfitted with easy to use climate control (heat and air-conditioning) and stocked with a fridge and microwave. In addition, you'll enjoy important, everyday items like an iron and hair dryer, an ergonomic workspace, and domestic comforts like a coffee/tea maker. Choose a room to suit your needs and budget and book with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre

Address: 1274 Carling Ave, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z 7K8, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Macies Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range: $117 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ottawa
Ottawa Best Western
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Ottawa
#18 Family Hotel in Ottawa
#24 Business Hotel in Ottawa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel.”
CanuckW0rldTraveller, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you ask for a single queen bed you get the smallest room in the hotel”
20140219, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms are closer to parking.”
gdl_8, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apparently the new renovated suites are the best!”
Traveler19912017, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the ground floor and it was very quiet”
drountree, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5