We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charles Hotel

Booking.comUSD 161*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

As long-suffering Canadians with our long winters and short summers we love to eat outside whenever we are given the chance. Truth to tell we all know, deep in our psyche, that we will eating inside all too soon and for far too long as we hunker down for yet another winter. Thus, when asked whether we would prefer to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lakesider75
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I was surprised to hear my porch area was not sparkling and ready for service at your time of arrival. The staff do it daily and, only with inclement weather does it gets passed onto the next day (can't have my team out in the rain or cold) nevertheless it...

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We booked the Charles Hotel at the end of a 2 week tour through Ontario. It is just lovely, and the staff make it even more special. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are all totally professional. The rooms are luxurious and we also had a balcony with seating. A great place to sit and read overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Gill H, I'm very happy to hear you were able to end your trip on such a high note! It's great that you were able to take advantage of the guest verandah which is part of the Richardson Room, you're spot-on that it is a great place to sit and relax with a good book and nice glass of...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Three high school friends (graduating in 1969!!) got together to see 3 plays in Niagara-On-The-Lake. We chose The Charles Hotel for our overnight adventure. Our room was great and had a little balcony off of it. The hotel was within walking distance to everything and this was convenient because we left our vehicles in The Charles Hotel parking lot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudithGray123
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review JudithGray123! It makes us all very happy to know that you enjoyed everything about your stay, it sounds like you and your friends had a wonderful reunion together and I'm thrilled that you spent here. I will be sure to pass your kind comments along to our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef....

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

we spent only one night at the Charles Inn last week. There was an issue with our air conditioning the night we arrived, we were told breakfast the next day would be on the house. Sure enough, no mention had to be made to the staff after breakfast as the night staff had obviously communicated this to the following day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbaraayoub
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello barbaraayoub, thank you so much for the lovely review of your stay at the Charles Hotel! Our entire team takes great pride in this historic property and the professional yet warm service we strive to provide to each guest. I'm glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you had such a wonderful experience with us. I hope that...

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped here with our friends for our first taste of Canada. What a lovely location and establishment. The staff were kind and the food was very well presented. We would call again if ever we were that way. Worth looking at especially as it's out of the general way of the masses

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stlo01
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Stlo01 & thank you for the review! The location of the Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant is perfect as you noted. While it is on the main street it is just far enough down to avoid the noise and the crowds . I'm happy to know that we had the privilege of starting your trip to Canada off on...

Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We enjoyed our first stay here that we won't stay anywhere else. A wonderful traditional inn, which is hard to find, with excellent customer service. All the staff ;make you feel right at home. The food is excellent, both in the bar and the restaurant. We were treated to chocolate covered strawberries as the staff remembered that we had visited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann B, Thank you for the lovely review. It is our goal to make all our guests feel at home when they walk through the doors of the Charles; I'm glad that your second stay with us this year was no different. We hope you have a wonderful fall and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Charles Inn for our 12th Wedding Anniversary. We were greeted promptly by Kim Lin and shown our room. Room 4. Absolutely beautiful. Romantic. Private veranda. We had a wonderful bottle of Ontario sparkling wine compliments of the hotel along with a hand written note. We felt very special. We freshened up and went downstairs for dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mezzopiano62
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm thrilled that you had such a memorable anniversary with us! With its private verandah the Richardson room is definitely a guest favourite in the summer months. It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy your special dinner with us as well; I will be sure to pass along your kind comments...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 20 August 2016

My husband and I stayed for the night while attending a concert. The room was nice but a bit weathered in some areas, which I guess is to be expected given that the building is over 200 years old. Since we were visiting during a peak weekend in summer, the rate was quite high given the quality of the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Julia D, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. One of the great things about the Charles is that with only 12 beautiful rooms each of our guests can receive superb and personalized attention. I'm thrilled to know that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your night by arranging shuttle service...

Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We were a group of 8 and had a reservation in the front dining room. Very lovely. Tables are well spaced so even at such a large table you could hear everyone speaking. Servers are terrific as is food. We arrived at 5:30pm so we would have plenty of time to get to the Festival Theatre for an 8pm show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doug100worth
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you doug100worth for taking the time to let us know about your visit to the Charles Hotel & HobNob Restaurant. We are a popular spot before theatre and I'm happy that we were able to provide you the memorable start to your evening that we are known for. Coming in at 5:30 is the perfect time to avoid rushing...

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 August 2016

When my husband and I decided to go to Niagara Falls for a few days, we had never heard of Niagara on the Lake. Fortunately a friend suggested going there and we were so happy we did! We stayed at the Charles Hotel, which is so unique and lovely with a first class staff. Our room was so comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborahChatt
Kyle B, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy that your friend suggested Niagara-on-the-Lake and that you were able to stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on being able to offer consistent "first class" service to every guest we have the opportunity to take care of and I'm glad your experience was no exception. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy a wonderful meal...

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Petite Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Premier Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.3 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
446 reviews
0.9 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
898 reviews
1.1 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,599 reviews
1.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,403 reviews
1.0 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From the moment that you walk through the door, you will know that this 1832 Inn is truly a special place. This luxurious Manor House offers 4-diamond accommodation and dining. Many of the rooms have wood burning or gas fireplaces; glass enclosed rain-head showers or jet-air tubs and private verandahs to enjoy the view of the golf course, main street or Lake Ontario. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $194 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#8 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The jet tub/shower combination was difficult to get in and out of. If you have knee/mobility problems, ask for a walk-in shower.”
MartineM368, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wait until they renovate/repair”
892allenj, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Veranda Room was the old kitchen and overlooks the park. 1st floor so some noise from people coming and going to the parking lot.”
michelemP7795IB, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stairs to rooms”
WJR47, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We only dined here -- next time we would love to stay at the hotel too!!”
B1183VJmelissap, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 161* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 161
PricelineUSD 161
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates