We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Explorer House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Boston, MA
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Our first time at NOTL was definitely amazing and unforgettable because of our stay at Explorer House. We stayed in the Cloud Forest Suite - absolutely beautiful decor, comfortable, clean, and well stocked with everything you need. Every room has a large private bathroom, private balcony, and jacuzzi tub. The backyard has a beautiful garden with a great hot tub...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris L
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Chris, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us on your very special occasion and we are so pleased to have been able to be part of it. Thank you for the wonderful review we are so happy you enjoyed. Congratulations again and we hope you may have an opportunity to come and stay with us again.

Reviewed 21 July 2016

Awesome B&B on a short walking distance of main street aniagra on the Lake. Beautifull rooms, great facilities ( next to your private balcony also use of the garden and the whirlpool there ), tastefully decorated spacious rooms, lovely hosts and the best breakfast I have had in Canada.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erwin V
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time/travel in Canada and that you may have an opportunity to visit us again.

North Tonawanda
Reviewed 21 July 2016

I have been at B & B'S in the past instead of hotels and I was quite impressed with the Explorer House, the décor was amazing and our hosts were very gracious and helpful, we ended our stay with this delightful breakfast..i know the B & B's are pricey at Niagara on the Lake but this one is worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ronald S
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Ronald, thank you for your very kind review and pointing out that Niagara-on-the-Lake can be pricey. Not everyone knows this and can be surprised once they are here so it is good to point this out. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear you felt you got value for your money. Hope to see you...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Room was very nice ...shower wasn't big enough for my tall but slim husband. Spent more on this expensive B & B than most places in the area for " the experience". Disappointed being served "frozen" packaged French toast...went out for local & fresh breakfast. Would never have written a negative review but when this is a hospitality business one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin035
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

In response to your two primary concerns: Firstly, please get your facts straight: All of our food is fresh made daily, including our Chai Spiced French Toast. On your arrival you advised us that you are Gluten Free, and so we tried to accommodate you. We prepared a Gluten Free Scone for you, and then you advised us that you...

Bradford West Gwillimbury, Ontario
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My wife and I stayed two nights at Explorer House and we were quite impressed with the décor, and the pictures and paintings with themes of the hosts' travels, also the room we stayed in was very well decorated. The backyard was like an oasis, with great landscaping, and a hot-tub. Our hosts were very friendly, and helpful with assisting...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rjv323
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Great to hear you liked the oasis we have tried to create in our backyard and happy to have been able to assist with reservations. Thank you for the great review and we do hope you will come back again!

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is one of the nicest places I've stayed, and the owners were lovely. The rooms were beautiful, it was quiet, the backyard was amazing (loved the hot tub!), and we hung out on the balcony. The breakfasts were delicious.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vdoers_939270
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope to see you both again!

Shell Knob, Missouri
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Part of me wants to keep this place a secret! The hosts were wonderful and so helpful. I agree with the other reviews- they made you feel like visiting family! The breakfasts were amazing, the rooms were fabulous! I just cant say enough. To put this in context, my husband travel quite a bit, so we have no lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan R
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Glad you didn't keep us a secret :) and thank you for such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure to have all of you stay with us and we do hope you will return!

Toronto
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We had a lovely stay at Explorer House on our weekend getaway to Niagara-on-the-lake. The room was exactly as described - clean, cozy and comfortable. The property is beautiful and very conveniently located. Deanna provided excellent winery recommendations for us and passes which was a bonus. The breakfast was delicious as well - we will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet_AlexH
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Happy to have been able to help with winery recommendations & passes, I know it can be nice to go explore on your own. We will look forward to having you visit again & thank you for the review!

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We booked last minute at the Explorer House. This was a quick overnight trip following a trip to Niagara Falls. We wished we had longer to enjoy all the amenities the Explorer House had to offer. We especially liked the private patio. The Explorer House was tastefully decorated with fine furnishings and extremely comfortable. Terrific host and breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jaybird810
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and also for choosing to stay with us even if it was a quick overnight, we hope you will be able to stay longer next time. Glad you enjoyed the private balcony - it is a nice spot to just relax, I know many guests appreciate that all the suites have private balconies in addition...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We feel honoured to stay in such a beautiful home with such lovely hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were made to feel very much at home. They went the extra mile for me as I'm gluten free. We only wish we hadn't gone to The Falls for a few days before moving to Niagara on...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crober_473701
D B, Owner at Explorer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were happy to accommodate your gluten free diet. Thank you for the wonderful review and we do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again!

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
1.8 km away
Harbour House Hotel
Harbour House Hotel
#2 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,158 reviews
1.3 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,579 reviews
1.5 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#6 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,889 reviews
1.8 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,384 reviews
1.4 km away
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
Oban Inn, Spa and Restaurant
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A boutique global styled bed & breakfast in historic Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario. This modern, elegantly appointed home has been built specifically to address the needs of Bed & Breakfast guests. Explorer House reflects the owner's passion for travel and offers an opportunity to explore and experience Niagara while staying within an environment of pampered luxury. We have an adult-oriented, smoke free environment with beautifully appointed suites that are uniquely decorated and inspired by different continents. All of the suites are extra-large, and have hardwood floors, private balconies, jetted tubs, separate showers, gas fireplaces and sitting areas. Adjacent to the suites is the guest lounge area complete with a guest refrigerator and coffee maker and a full selection of glassware, with complementary snacks, water, pop, tea & coffee available at all hours of the day. A sunny balcony extends off the guest lounge area. Guests can also relax and enjoy the backyard garden, hot-tub and gazebo. To round out this upscale boutique experience a gourmet three course breakfast will be served at 9am daily, focusing on both local seasonal and artisanal ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorer House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 275 Anne Street, PO Box 1434, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $219 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Explorer House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Explorer House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Explorer House Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Explorer House Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one of the rooms that faces the beautiful backyard.”
 of 5 bubbles D8316TCmikeg, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you can, book directly with the inn. Rates are the same as any of the booking websites, and they add a personal touch to the process.”
 of 5 bubbles dpg1988, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnel271, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lovely room, comfortable bed, balcony, jacuzzi, common room with coffee system, refrigerator. Beautifully decorated bed and breakfast. Want to go back for longer stay:)”
 of 5 bubbles helena3417, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We liked the silk road with its balcony overlooking the backyard. ”
 of 5 bubbles 929DavidE929, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5