We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbour House Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbour House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbour House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,137: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We went here to celebrate a speacial occasion and had a really great time. The atmosphere was laid back but efficient - it was non intrusive but not impersonal. We took a map from the front desk and walked the wine trail. They also helped set up dinner at the Charles Inn for us - which was also great. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mys_terry78
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while going to plays at the Shaw Festival and visiting wineries. We liked this hotel and the breakfast was great. Would likely stay there again. We had stayed in the Shaw Club Hotel a couple of years ago and overall prefer Harbour House. The rooms are much larger and the breakfast was better. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen_the_traveler
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay. It is great to hear that you have stayed at one of our sister properties and now tried Harbour House. Our evening shuttle service is definitely a favourite on a rainy evening. I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson...

Willoughby, Ohio
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Niagara-on-the-Lake has a whole host of quaint venues in which to rest one's body. However, one such place not to be missed is the Harbour House Inn on Melville Street. This unassuming 30 room inn offers pleasantries from check-in to check-out. The staff is ever gracious and accommodating; the rooms filled with luxurious amenities (whirlpool bath, gas fireplace, chaise lounge);...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyceculek
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel after seeing a lot of good reviews here on Trip Advisor and we were definitely glad we'd picked it. Staff is the nicest ever (specially the manager Jennifer); Location is lovely and quite, walking distance from "everything"; breakfast is included and delicious; the bedroom is spacious and cosy, with nice view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franfeliz
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! I am happy to hear that you experienced all the great things that have been mentioned on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you to Harbour House Hotel again in the (hopefully) near future. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spent one night in a premium deluxe room. The service was excelent,from checkin to check out. check in was quick and we were brought to our room by the person who checked us in. She explained the room and all the services available.The room was great with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The king bed was extremely comfortable.Great location only two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10coastal
Dijon
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the first time that I have ever splurged at spent over $300 a night on a hotel room. The staff were amazing, very helpful and always had a friendly smile. The room was nice, very clean and nicely decorated. I only have a few minor complaints: it could use a fresh coat of paint and the carpet in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WIZZLE12
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

I am thrilled to hear that our staff were friendly and welcoming! We are very lucky to have such a great team. I am grateful to hear your suggestions as that is how we can continue to improve. The freshly baked cookies are also a nice little treat just before bed. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager

Sussex
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I (both in our 30s) visited Niagara-on-the-Lake in late August - it's a beautiful town and we were totally captivated. We opted for Harbour House because it receives such a high rating on this website. We booked 6 months in advance and secured the best suite that we could - a Riverview Suite, which you pay a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank InmateSussex
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your stay. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all that is offered within Niagara-on-the-Lake. I am sorry that you we were not impressed with your Suite. You have certainly provided me with some great suggestions as to how we are able to improve and I am pleased to say...

new york
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights at Harbour House and had a wonderful stay. The room was gorgeous, with a Juliet balcony facing the harbor. The service was perfect, and the breakfast was delightful. A little pricey, but it is the nicest place we have stayed in NOTL, after 5 trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank familytraveler075
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your accommodations at Harbour House Hotel. Having the French doors opening onto the Juliet balcony is a great way to fully enjoy the gorgeous weather and the view of the harbour . We look forward to welcoming you back to Harbour House. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We found the Harbour House to be a relaxing introduction to NOTL. The facility is nicely decorated, the beds extremely comfortable, the public areas pleasant. The staff are exceptional - very attentive and thoughtful. From my research into NOTL there appear to be several nice places to stay - but I am so glad we picked here. Close enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wandw
Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2013

From arrival to departure, the staff was helpful and attentive. We arrived mid week so parking was not an issue and after dropping off our stuff, we walked down to the waterfront and back through downtown. The shuttle service to nearby restaurants was a real advantage and the social hour with local wines was a great opportunity to meet up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Dad48
Jennifer D, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to reminisce about your time spent with us in beautiful Niagara-on-the-Lake. We are very fortunate to have such a great team working with us and I will happily pass along your kind words. I look forward to the opportunity to say hello during your next visit. Sincerely, Jennifer Dickson Guest Services Manager

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (97)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Premium Queen Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Queen Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels
0.8 km away
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
#1 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
433 reviews
0.3 km away
Shaw Club Hotel
Shaw Club Hotel
#3 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
881 reviews
0.5 km away
Prince of Wales
Prince of Wales
#5 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queen's Landing
Queen's Landing
#4 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,365 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and Conference Centre
The Pillar and Post Inn, Spa and...
#7 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,852 reviews
13.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a design reminiscent of maritime life in the 1880's, Harbour House captures the essence of historic Niagara-on-the-Lake. Overlooking the Niagara River, Harbour House is within easy walking distance to the Shaw Festival theatres and many fine restaurants, shops and galleries. Our 31 guestrooms and suites feature king-size feather-top beds, whirlpool tubs, fireplaces and entertainment centres. Our tariffs include a European-style breakfast served in the conservatory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour House Hotel

Address: 85 Melville Street | Box 760, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range: $216 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Family Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Luxury Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#1 Spa Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
#7 Business Hotel in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Suffolk, UK
Toronto, Canada
11 days ago
25 days ago
Suffolk, UK

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Harbour House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a shower early!”
 of 5 bubbles matttG8280TJ, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“So far, we've always had a good room.”
 of 5 bubbles rgwhitecan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We like to face the marina or the river. All rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles lswanekamp1, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for fireplace & Jacuzzi room....facing marina”
 of 5 bubbles pammt2015, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Use their amazing shuttle service, and make sure to be there for their wine and cheese hour!”
 of 5 bubbles TiffanieC352, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5