We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Airport Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Airport Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 26 September 2015

This has to be the worst place I have ever stayed. The rooms were dirty. I had ants in the room and when I reported them to the desk they said they would check to see if they had any bug spray and would call me back so I could pick it up at the desk. The lock on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David I
Toronto
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This is, by far, the sketchiest hotel I have ever stayed in. A few things: 1) It is no longer a Howard Johnson. It is called the "Airport Inn." I can only guess that it dropped below the HoJo's already rather low standards. They have just torn the logo off the front. 2) It is half abandoned. The restaurant beside...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Colin L
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I stayed 4 nights, one of which had no hot water at night (which is when I usually take my shower, before going to bed), and in another, I ordered in food, and left the pizza box on the floor. Next morning, I opened it and it was full of ants! I've never seen soo many ants in the 21...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hussam K
Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 13 December 2014

The hotel was dirty, the staff slow to check in and check out and my credit card information was compromised in the process.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 73family
Smithville
Reviewed 9 December 2014

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliemY6847LF
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

Welland, Canada
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Room was simple, but clean. Room was large, but chilly. Hotel is old, but acceptable. If you're looking to pamper yourself or sink into luxury, go somewhere else. If you need a bed to sleep in on a budget, come here. You get what you pay for, people. This is exactly what I expected for $65 per night. Would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Miriam M
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are a simple, clean hotel. It is what we strive for on a daily basis. We hope to see you once again in the future. Merry Christmas, General Manager

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Plaster & paint had large cracks on one wall, old electrical pipes were exposed on the ceiling, where there was also the roughest job of plaster or drywall patching I have ever seen, the drapes did not cover the entire this problem. When I persisted I was offered paper clips which they never brought to the room. I used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I2660IFmarys
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of the Howard Johnson of Hamilton. I appreciate the time that you took to bring this matter to our attention. I assure you that the matter will be looked into.

Welland, Canada
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Motel was filthy. People living & smoking in room below us. Fridge leaking, room was hot & stuffy. Towels & bedding stained. Unclean... I would never recommend to anyone. Can't believe I paid $85 !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 505ashleyv
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at hour hotel of. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room.All rooms at the Howard Johnson of Hamilton are non-smoking, there is a $100 penalty fee if smoking occurs at our Howard Johnson. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced...

St. Catharines
Reviewed 12 November 2014

If you desperately need a bed and really have a terrible issue with sleeping in your car, well, I guess it's a bed. Rooms were very poor looking, parents room had holes in the walls ceiling was terribly repaired. Personally I've stayed in hundrends of hotels all across this country from big cities to holes in the wall in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AJSss
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your letter expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Howard Johnson of Hamilton. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At Howard Johnson of Hamilton, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness, Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. We certainly to...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2014

this was not a very nice place at all it is very run down and the bath room was very dirty the rugs were dirty i would not bring a dog to this place it is very old the room need a lot of work i had know heat in my room

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joeyjosepht
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Airport Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are sad to here that you had such a negative experience on your recent stay. I do recall speaking with you quite a few times at the front desk, with such positive conversations we had on the accommodation industry. Any issue's that came up, I along with our departments handle...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Courtyard Hamilton
#7 of 20 in Hamilton
216 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Visitors Inn
#5 of 20 in Hamilton
206 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#13 of 20 in Hamilton
437 reviews
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Airport Inn

Address: 1187 Upper James, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hamilton)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Price Range: $68 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Howard Johnson
Airport Inn Hamilton, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Airport Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“not a nice place at all it nears a lot of work very dirty rooms”
 of 5 bubbles joeyjosepht, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here.You'd be better off sleeping in your car!”
  • Nasty hair clog
  • Bad bathroom
  • Dirty looking door
  • Q-Tip found on check-in
  • One of the bed bugs found on check-in
 of 5 bubbles techieinside, 13 Aug 2014 | Read review
“I doubt there are any...”
 of 5 bubbles StevieOntario, 17 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Go to different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 944deanp, 5 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Corner rooms are quite large. Park as close to your room as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles hammer74, 27 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay