We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spicers Sangoma Retreat

Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (34)
Overview
70 Grandview Lane, Bowen Mountain, New South Wales 2753 Australia See on map
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
4.5 Star accommodation
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
342
9
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
342
9
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amazing weekend million miles special weekend sangoma retreat bath and shower year wedding anniversary perfect escape french champagne plunge pool bush setting open plan included in our package warm hospitality each meal dining experience australian bush blue mountains
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've just had a wonderful weekend at Spicers Sangoma. Everything was pretty much perfect. Thanks to John and his team, including Jess and Lauren when we were there, for your attention to detail, your customer focus and the quality of hospitality you deliver. The location...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Warren B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing couple of nights at Spicers Sangoma retreat. We stayed in the lounge suite - don’t choose this room. It’s directly under the main dining room and so fairly noisy, dark, uninspiring interior, with only a fake fireplace. Fine for $400 per night but not...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Phoebe C
Response from SGiles70, Manager at Spicers Sangoma RetreatResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Phoebe C, Thank you for your feedback. It certainly is disappointing you didn't love your stay with us. This is highly unusual for the retreat. The room price of $1499 is a package rate rather than room rate, so guests certainly get more inclusions...More

Reviewed 4 November 2018

Thank you to John, Sam, Jess and the team for an amazing wedding and stay. This retreat is stunning and the rooms are pure luxury. The attention to detail and service make this venue a standout. The menu was well thought out and delicious. Thank...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2018
Thank OzzieTraveller26
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Every aspect of Sangoma was exquisite. The food was absolutely divine, the service & hospitality was fabulous and friendly. The aroma therapy massage was the best ever. One one downside, the bed was far too soft, and it felt like you were sleeping in quicksand.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2018
Thank smda007
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

This is a blissful escape with the sound of bellbirds as background music. The food is beyond amazing and the matched wines are delightful. Our bush suite is a perfect location for a romantic break with a couples bath, campaign and wood fire to set...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Gingercrew
View more reviews
About
Description
Cocooned by the natural serenity of the Blue Mountains of New South Wales, a mere hour from Sydney, you'll find Spicers Sangoma Retreat. Aptly named after the Zulu word for healer, Sangoma is a place where you'll More discover complete rejuvenation and true reconnection. As an eco-certified retreat, Spicers Sangoma Retreat features sauna facilities, infinity lap pool, open plan lounge and 5 suites that capture the beauty of the natural surrounds, making it an ideal setting for luxurious escapes, romantic getaways, intimate celebrations and anniversaries. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Airport Transportation
Minibar
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Refrigerator in room
Sauna
Beachfront
Spa
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
USD 934 - USD 1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Sangoma Retreat
Also Known As
Spicers Sangoma Retreat Bowen Mountain, Blue Mountains
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
USD 934 - USD 1,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Sangoma Retreat
Also Known As
Spicers Sangoma Retreat Bowen Mountain, Blue Mountains
Location
Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Bowen Mountain
Photos
Traveller (280)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (34)
Pool & Beach (20)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Colonial Motel Richmond
35 reviews
10.58 km away
Pioneer Way Motel
75 reviews
14.76 km away
Hawkesbury Race Club Motel
69 reviews
14.96 km away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
833 reviews
16.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
The Village Kitchen
64 reviews
4.44 km away
Lochiel House
256 reviews
5.73 km away
Kravings
142 reviews
6.63 km away
Feeding Frenze Cafe
58 reviews
4.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Bellbird Hill Lookout
19 reviews
5.05 km away
Valley View Park Horse Riding
7 reviews
5.50 km away
Trees Adventure Grose River Park
65 reviews
6.42 km away
Norman Lindsay Gallery & Museum
209 reviews
12.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MissMotivated
23 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Spicers-Team | Property representative |
Hi MissMotivated! There is a heater in the bedroom area in addition to the fireplace in the living space, so you'll be nice & cosy during your stay. We'll look forward to welcoming you soon!
1
Vote
GurusW
7 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Cookie0278 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry it took so long to reply. They have a few bikes there but it’s first in first served so might be best to take you own.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Chief Suite is the most expensive but couldn't be faulted."
WarrenB139
4 weeks ago
Read review
"we loved the tent suite, but will try escarpment next time. Tent suite maybe best when it's not..."
MissMotivated
6 Oct. 2018
Read review
"tent suite - Glamping Style"
joolee2009
1 Aug. 2018
Read review
"Villa worth it for the size and deck. But,the communal main house is a great with huge deck if you stay in..."
rachdaveNY
30 Jun. 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing