We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Halifax Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 566: English reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My spouse and I were able to walk everywhere from this hotel - the location is great. It's right next to the boardwalk plus downtown Halifax is very compact so dinner and drinks are all within a 2 - 12 minute walk. If you have the time and are inclined, I would recommend going to the 8th floor patio where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraveL0re
GuestServices5120, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hi TraveLOre! Thank you for staying with us! Stephanie J

Ontario
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Because of our great experience at this hotel 5 years ago, we decided to return. Our vacation dollars are hard-earned, and are very happy that we chose to stay here again. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful from the front desk to the room attendants. The room was quiet and spotless every day (we stayed 5 nights), the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank far2go2
GuestServices5120, Front Desk Supervisor at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We are so glad you came back after so long away from Halifax. The Courtyard is in a great location here in Halifax, like you said very close to many restaurants and services, including the boardwalk. We hope to see you here again soon! Katie

Moncton, NB
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We stayed a couple nights at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown and were very happy with our stay. Staff were friendly, hotel was clean and welcoming, rooms were comfortable. We also really enjoyed the terrace on the 8th floor. The Courtyard is close to everything, there are tons of great restaurants, attractions, museums, basically everything is in walking distance. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic7895
GuestServices5120, Front Desk Supervisor at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Nic7895! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here in Halifax with us at the Courtyard Marriott. We agree with you, the location is perfect; close walking distance to many different restaurants and service, also with great views from the Terrace! Hope to see you again, Katie

Montreal
Reviewed 2 October 2016

If you like Courtyard by Marriott, you will not be disappointed by this hotel. Rooms are of good size, clean and quiet. It offers all the standard Courtyard amenities, with the added comfort of valet parking. The hotel is right by the water, so it offer nice views. Front desk staff, as well as the breakfast staff were splendid! Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Churros79
GuestServices5120, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Churros79! Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again in the future! Stephanie J

Cornwall, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Travelled from out of province for a festival and when we arrived the front desk told us this hotel wasn't pet friendly . THEIR WEBSITE says it is !!!! We were in town, with our dog , for a festival and now couldn't find a hotel . Thanks for a false feature on your website. 😡

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k_p823
GuestServices5120, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hi k_p823! I am sorry you had a negative experience at our hotel. Our pet policy is outlined on our website in the FAQ section. We strive to be an allergen free hotel to ensure that all of our guests can enjoy a comfortable stay with us. I can understand your frustration with our policy and I am sorry for...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed a weekend at the Courtyard. Usually we stay down by the Casino but figured we would try out this Marriott this time. We were very happy with our room. Very clean, spacious, and comfortable. Our view was looking out to George's Island which gave us a great view of some cruise ships and the Bluenose II that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitchel H
GuestServices5120, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Mitchel H! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Halifax. I hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you return to Halifax. Stephanie J

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This hotel was an excellent place to stay in Halifax. The location was great, place was spotless, and the staff friendly. I had a view of Georges Island / lighthouse from my room and down the hall on the 8th floor was a great balcony with comfortable chairs to view the harbor. I felt welcome in my room by receiving...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travmama
GuestServices5120, Front Desk Supervisor at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Travmama! I am so happy to hear you felt more than safe here, and also had the chance to take in the wonderful view from the Deluxe Harbourview Rooms, but also the 8th Floor Harbourview Terrace! We would love to have you back, if your travels bring you back to Halifax. Katie B

st. john's
Reviewed 25 September 2016

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Halifax Waterfront for 4 nights for a conference I attended last week. The hotel is in a great location on the waterfront very close so some of Halifax's best bars and restaurants. You can also step right off the back step on to the lovely harbor front boardwalk. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebigdmb
Newport, Vermont
Reviewed 24 September 2016

If you love watching the sunrise over a harbor, schooners and pleasure boats sailing and huge cruise ships arriving in port, this is the place. A wonderful deck on the 8th floor with lounge chairs and patio dining sets for your lunch or cocktails overlooks the busy harbor. The rooms are large with a small fridge . We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jags2012
GuestServices5120, Front Desk Supervisor at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review Jags2012! We are so happy to hear you had a great stay with us and had a chance to enjoy the view! We are in a fantastic location here in Halifax with easy walking distance to many local attractions. We hope to see you again soon! Katie

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We had a room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the Halifax harbour. Check-in was quick, the room was large and clean and quiet (most of the time), with a very comfortable bed. Valet parking was included in the price and was super efficient. The pool is small and the whirlpool was murky and uninviting, but they have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbruptlyBiff
GuestServices5120, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review

Hi AbruptlyBiff! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Halifax. Although we hope to give ever guest a flawless stay, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Stephanie J

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Price Range: $160 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Halifax Downtown staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Montreal, Canada
Saint John, Canada
over a year ago
Sullivan, Maine
7 months ago
London, Canada
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Halifax Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room on third floor had no view, no ice machine, was not good.”
 of 5 bubbles buffettelizabeth, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room with a”
 of 5 bubbles karaannehill, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor rooms are the only level with balconies, but roof top patio is available to all guests.”
  • View from rooftop patio.
 of 5 bubbles far2go2, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try the 7th floor, still great views, but no drunk people walking to the terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles Nic7895, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not pet friendly despite their website details.”
 of 5 bubbles k_p823, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay