We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Coastal Inn Halifax

PricelineUSD 110*
View Deal
#22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 142*
USD 110*
Great Deal
USD 125*
USD 125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Coastal Inn Halifax
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
On the Road
Reviewed 24 July 2016

It looks more charming than it is. It's a motel, decent but not charming or anything of the kind. Functional. Breakfast ends 9:29 AM on the button or else -- the clean-up lady is literally standing over you impatiently as you as you clean up whatever remnants from other guests (eggs and sausage are gone because they all got eaten,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bikers_Round_World
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Bikers_Round_Worl, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We are truly sorry you did not have a great experience with us and we appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention so that we may be able to address them. We have made note to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, fantastic place to stay out of the city. Rooms comfortable, staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was more than enough, great value for money. Just one small comment, in no way a negative - you can hear the people above moving around. Therefore I would recommend a room on the third floor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thank you so much for your great score and comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our beds to be comfortable and our staff friendly. We are glad you found the breakfast more than enough and great value for the money. It's true, being on the top floor can be a bit...

New Brunswick
Reviewed 12 July 2016

My wife and I traveled to Halifax for a wedding this past weekend. We chose the Coastal Inn because of a great rate offered for a King Suite through Trip Advisor and because of the reviews. It was recommended to us by friends in the area to contact Coastal before arrival to make sure that there were no sports teams...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keeperof4
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Keeper of 4 Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor as we appreciate all feedback our guests may have. Again, we are truly sorry there was so much noise above you and we appreciate you allowing us the opportunity to rectify the situation when you return back in the fall. Thank...

Monterey Park, California
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I say good customer service because I alerted BJ that my suitcase was going to arrive later in the evening. When it arrived, he called and delivered the suitcase. I am grateful for his service. This hotel was right off the highway and easy to find. It was quiet and clean. There were occasional thumps, but I didn't know what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alkeni
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback our guests may have and we are so pleased TeeJay made your stay memorable by bringing your luggage directly to your room. We are also glad you found your room to be quiet and clean. Again, thank you for your comments and we...

Antigonish, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

I came to Halifax along with 3 teenage girls to do some shopping for a couple of days. We usually stay downtown, but this location was fantastic and convenient! Located right in Bayers Lake, 10 minutes from Halifax Shopping Centre! The suite we had was a little small, but really all we needed. Loved the fact that the windows opened....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolin S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Carolin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay with us! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our suite convenient for you especially when travelling with 3 teenage girls! We really are conveniently located for your shopping needs being in Bayers Lake and so...

Reviewed 15 June 2016

As another writer already said, the definition of value is a combination of quality and cost. If that's the case, this Coastal Inn meets the criteria well. Firm (but not too firm) beds; friendly, responsive staff, downtown easy to find four miles away, and relative quiet (we had a crying baby next door that we only became aware of when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Andrew, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We truly appreciate all comments our guests may have and we are so pleased you found our hotel to have the combination of quality and price. Thank you for stating you found it relatively quiet and in a convenient location with responsive staff. We hope to...

Shelburne, Canada
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were upgraded to a suit as they were full, the room was great - large and clean with a nice bathroom and sofa bed, large TVs Fridge , micro wave and small sink and one of those [ awful ] Kurig machines that all places now seem to have; then glass paneled doors to the bed room with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philandrita
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you were happy with your upgrade to the two room suite and enjoyed the nice king size comfy bed. It really is all about the extra amenities such as the microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker and DVD player that help make our guests’ stay enjoyable. It’s true...

Westville, Canada
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Service was great upon check-in. Room was clean and because we were on the 2nd floor, we were able to open the window for fresh air. Location is at one end of Bayer's Lake Industrial park, so we had lots of choices for a place to eat plus it's right beside the Bay Road which is a fairly quick way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi John M. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor with regards to your stay with us! We appreciate all feedback our guests may have as it enables us to focus on any missed details. We are so pleased you found your room to be clean and enjoyed the window that opens along with...

Blue Mountains, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Located in Bayer Lake area, the Coastal Inn is well located for trips into downtown Halifax or Peggy's Cove. The staff are wonderful - dealing with internet and tv problems with smiling assistance. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and adequate. I would recommend this accommodation if staying in Halifax and not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jpatto26
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

HI jpatto26, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor with regards to your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great experience and found your room comfortable and clean. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful staff who assisted you with the internet and TV. We will make sure to share...

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The Coastal Inn was only a few hundred metres from the trade show venue we visited for two days. The room was clean and satisfactory lacking for nothing needed by low maintenance folks. The evening and morning staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was just a tad under my standard. I like protein with my breakfast. The hardboiled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irwin J
CoastalHalifaxGM, General Manager at Coastal Inn Halifax, responded to this review

Hi Irwin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review with regards to your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for mentioning that you found our staff to be courteous and helpful. We are glad you did not find it too noisy with the teams as they are usually quite...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Double Queen (32)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (36)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Comfort Inn Halifax
#17 of 28 in Halifax
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
101 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
197 reviews
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#12 of 28 in Halifax
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traveling on business or with family, we offer the perfect blend of casual charm and the comforts of home. Guests love the blend of comfort and convenience of our spacious guest rooms and two room suites, free Coastal Plus breakfast, free wireless internet service, free movies, free local calls and morning newspapers, indoor pool, exercise room and outdoor patio provide all you need to make your stay exceptional, and at a price you can appreciate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Halifax

Address: 98 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada (Formerly Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner))
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Price Range: $131 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Halifax 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Coastal Inn Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Inn And Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner)
Lakeview Inn & Suites Halifax (Bayers Lake / Exhibition Park Partner) Hotel
Lakeview Hotel Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax Nova Scotia
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Halifax
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Coastal Inn Halifax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking on a site make sure you are paying in canadian. My mistake”
VivianW863, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size beds are awesome!”
jegbd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms appear to be OK.”
duschinsky, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving, it is nice to be on ground floor as patio doors open up to your parking space.”
GAVandGPV, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel”
laffininbl, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
USD 110* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 125
Hotels.comUSD 125
CancelonUSD 142
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates