We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Narrows Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Narrows Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Narrows Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
London, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

located right downtown with a great owner living on site. very helpful. we had the top floor room- comes with a sitting room. Breakfasts were excellent and the owner was always willing to help with new ideas. great stay!

Thank catchacoma123
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your stay here hope to see you again someday. Once again thanks. Ann O Brien

Reviewed 21 July 2016

We loved the house. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Annie made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed her wonderful sense of humour. It's a great location, close to downtown and George St. I loved the parlour and the little porch where you could sit and enjoy a drink. The breakfast certainly wasn't the best I have experienced but was...

Thank Patricia A
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay here with us and glad you enjoyed it here. There's plenty of yogurt in the fridge you should have asked us we always have it on hand. Hope to have you come back again someday. Ann

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 17 July 2016

An opportunity to stay in a colorful row house. Short stroll to harbour, downtown shopping area, beautiful jellybean houses and other sightseeing opportunities. However I think I may have misunderstood the advertisement that stated " panoramic views of the city". Perhaps one of the rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors may have offered that view. The room we were...

Thank Jzjsolo
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for staying here as inmost old houses here not all the rooms have a harbour view. It all in all you seemed to enjoy your stay here and the beautiful city we have. Hope to have you stay again in the future. Ann

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with 4 people and it was really nice. Rooms are clean and rennovated. Bathrooms i really liked. Anne has a great common area that is new as well. We had 2 nice breakfasts. Anne is a little bit of a "character" in a good way. Shes quirky, funny, and very nice. We got along with her very...

1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Usually when we travel our favourite stays are in B&B's and all of them were fantastic except this one. We decided to stay there based on some of the reviews... Wrong choice!!! Location was good but that's about it. Breakfast terrible, portions extremely small, one breakfast we had pancakes and they were worse we had ever eaten. Nothing else was...

Thank LizRzym
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoybyournstay. As for breakfast we always offer guests more if they want and there is yogurt in the fridge always again just ask and fruit is on the counter at all times

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Narrows! Ann O'Brien is a wonderful innkeeper and the accommodations were comfortable and immaculate. We stayed in a breezy room with lovely furnishings, a comfortable bed and a great shower. Breakfast is served family style in her own kitchen that makes you feel right at home. We had delicious, simple meals that left...

Thank Ruthmh14
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comment. It was a pleasure having you and your husband stay with us. You were very easy to please and pleasant people would love to see you again in the future. Ann

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The place over all is perfect. It was clean and in the perfect location in St. john's. I don't find the breakfast was sufficient even another guest made a comment at the table "that's it". When the booking was made we asked for 2 beds. One bed is a lovely comfy bed and the other is a couch/futon type. Granted...

Thank eligau
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi As I recall you have a bad back which I feel for you. No one else have complained about the bed as for breakfast you could ask for more and we always ask each guest if they would like more. Plenty of fruit and yogurt in the fridge. Glad you liked us in general.

New Brunswick
Reviewed 29 April 2016

The Narrows is a great little spot. This isn't a traditional B&B in that you have your own bathroom that is modern and spacious. My room was very comfortable, one of the best pillows outside of my house. I arrived and left at odd hours and the check in and check out was a breeze. The breakfast was very good...

Thank cct223
Narrows2015, Manager at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for the lovely note to trip advisor really appreciate it. Glad you had a good time here and I hope to see you again someday. Take care. Ann O Brien

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Ann was the kindest, most generous host and made my brief time in St.John's a very comfortable and relaxed experience. Not only was the room beautiful, the bed extremely comfortable and Ann's homemade pancakes and blueberry sauce to die for, but Ann herself was kind enough to provide me with any information I needed about St.John's and even drove me...

Thank jocelynewhitehead
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment you were so easy to please and I want to wish you the best of luck with your studies. Ann O Brien

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I promised to write a review when I stayed here, just getting to it now. Such a beautiful place to stay. Half way up the hill in St John's (if you have been there you will understand :) it is quite a climb up from the main street, the Narrow's is well worth the walk up) Beautiful décor and absolutely...

Thank debjoy018
Narrows2015, Owner at The Narrows Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thanks Deborah for your lovely comments. Ann O Brien

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (52)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Dining (2)
Room/Suite (9)
View from Room (3)
Bathroom (3)
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
534 reviews
#2 of 24 in St. John's
229 reviews
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 24 in St. John's
363 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#7 of 24 in St. John's
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Narrows Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 Gower St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range: $195 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Narrows Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Narrows Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Narrows Bed And Breakfast Newfoundland, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Narrows Bed and Breakfast staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Narrows Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter if away from Prescott street but still ok if not. Traffic disappears after 8 pm.”
 of 5 bubbles Murray_1066, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are two people who choose to sleep separate get your own room.”
 of 5 bubbles eligau, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“second floor best, view to the narrows on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles debjoy018, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“WiFi connectivity wasn't great - if you are looking to do work while in town you may want to make other arrangements.”
 of 5 bubbles WishfulTraveller_12, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Request room on main floor to avoid lugging your suitcase upstairs to 2nd level.”
 of 5 bubbles 515lynna, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5