We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard St. John\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

396 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Waterloo
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Courtyard St. John's for 4 nights at the start of our Newfoundland vacation. Yes, it is under construction, but it did not impact us at all. We arrived late in the evening, but managed to get a snack in the restaurant and the food was delicious. The hotel is conveniently located and we were able to... More 

Helpful?
Thank wloo11
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your review and 5/5 rating are very much appreciated! Thank you for choosing to stay with the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's, we so pleased to hear that our central downtown location on the harbor front suited your needs and our staff provided such excellent service. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff tries hard but is not well trained. They had no idea if the rooms had voice- mail. Additionally, several staff members remarkably didn't know where many things were in St. John's. They didn't even know several of the major streets. The buffet breakfast served (not included in our room rate) was less than adequate. Lots of carbs and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank fredalynn
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and comments with our team. We are pleased that our central location was convenient for your stay in St. John’s! We strive to provide the very best in guest service, unfortunately we did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We hope that you... More 

Near Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Four of us stayed here June 26-30, 2014. While we enjoyed the town of St. John's, the hotel experience was lousy due to extensive hotel remodelling. We endured - strong paint fumes - a poorly marked temporary hotel entrance with such narrow aisles that two people could not pass side-by-side - no workout area or laundry facilities available, as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce014
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take great pride in ensuring our guests' satisfaction - unfortunately, we did not meet your - or our - expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We aim to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

After an extraordinary, magical 8 days at sea with Adventure Canada, we needed a comfy place to get our land legs back. This hotel filled our expectations with ample room for 3 gals. Check-in was quick, staff were SO friendly and helpful, and the location ideal for lunch at The Duke of Duckworth, shopping and a view of the harbour.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Babe4Birds
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your 5 out of 5 rating and thoughtful review are very much appreciated! It was our pleasure to provide you with excellent service during your stay. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's, with our central downtown location, it was certainly a great fit for your group. Come back to visit again soon! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Currently under renovations which is almost complete. Should be finished by middle of July. Affects lobby, restaurant, fitness area and laundry. Rooms are all newly done, clean and bed is comfy. 10 minute walk to downtown. Current price is $249 plus $42 tax but we got 4 nights on Priceline for $132 incl. tax a night Cdn. Will be really... More 

Helpful?
Thank alsupremo
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very happy to hear that you had a great experience at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's! It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your guest room and took advantage of our complimentary valet parking service. We hope that you will be able to come back again very soon! More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We liked the location of the hotel - especially accessibility to downtown St. John's. For example, Raymonds and the Club - both good restaurants (the latter being far more informal) very close in walking distance. To be honest, looking at the pictures posted on the Marriott site, I was a bit wary about the quality of the hotel. That said,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's. It sounds as though you had an opportunity to taste some of St. John's finest fare during your stay, it certainly is true that we are surrounded by some of the best dining estasblishments in the city! We are thrilled... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of our trip around Newfoundland and it was the base for our stay in St. John's. Check-in was fast and efficient, and they provided us with our parking permit etc with no problems. Hotel is quite close to the heart of town with a large number of bars/restaurants and shops within 10 mins. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil-Chicca S
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your review and comments are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that our central location in downtown St. John's and our clean guest room exceeded your expectations. We will take all of your comments into careful consideration. We are doing our very best to minimize impact to guests during renovations and we promise that the results will be... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a total of four nights - two nights on each end of our Newfoundland vacation. It was a very good choice; our stay was very comfortable and enjoyable. We were in a large third floor suite (room 308) with a view of the working harbour, which was fun to watch at all hours of the day.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KEP55
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

We are absolutley thrilled to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's. It was our pleasure to be able to provide you with friendly service and great accomodations with a stunning view. We will certianly pass along your comments to our team and we hope to see you... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for two nights at the beginning of a Newfoundland vacation and another two nights at the end. We took a junior suite on the third floor which served our needs very well. We had a Queen bed and a sofa bed, both of which were comfortable, in a large room of about 440 square feet.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DandDToronto
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Thank you for your sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. It sounds as though you and your daughter had a great stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's and we are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations. We will take all of your comments into consideration and we thank you for staying with... More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed for one night while traveling with work recently. The booking was exactly as requested and the room was quiet and very comfortable. The only real problem I had was the TV remote wasn't working. A quick visit to the front desk and they replaced it while I was out for a walk. My room did not face the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fusilier111
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review

Your comments are very much appreciated, we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us! We are happy to hear that our staff was able to fix your remote issue promplty and that you enjoyed your quiet guest room. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's! More 

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
514 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
211 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#9 of 24 in St. John's
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A newly renovated, award winning hotel ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district; we are a short walk to Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Price Range: $172 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland Canada
Marriott St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#6 Family Hotel in St. John's
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Hong Kong, China
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterview a must”
 of 5 bubbles henryc00per, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Harbour View is preferable”
 of 5 bubbles Lee_C_B_TO, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some room are larger than other. Discuss options with the front desk or at the time of booking.”
 of 5 bubbles 762louiseo, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the water can be loud early in the morning because of the boats, but nothing the hotel staff can do. It's a major harbour!”
 of 5 bubbles JenniferW743, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a room that faces away from the road, I'd recommend it...”
 of 5 bubbles JB81ontheroad, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay