We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cabot Boutique Hotel

Save
Share
26 Monkstown Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3T3 Canada
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 117
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUSD 117
Priceline
eDreamsUSD 117
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We offer quiet rooms in a refurbished mansion with modern amenities and off street parking for small to mid size cars only. We are pretty much dead center downtown and a 10 to 15 minute walk would take you anywhere from the Sheraton in the east end to the Delta Convention Center / Mile One in the west end with most of the cathedrals, museums, art galleries and restaurants in between. On Military Road, 557 feet to the south of Cabot House, you have: The Rooms Complex (museum, archives, Art Gallery, restaurant) The Colonial Building Commissariat House Government House St. Thomas's Church (the oldest Protestant Church in North America) The Basilica of St. John the Baptist Presentation Convent (housing the veiled Madonna) Breakfast services have ended. The Hungry Heart Cafe is a one minute walk from our front door and has a professional staff on site able to cater to any dietary requirement at modest cost Express check in and check out. Free TV; WiFi; and telephone.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Breakfast available
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic
112Reviews2Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 49
  • 24
  • 19
  • 10
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Laurie W wrote a review 3 Oct
Sherwood Park, Canada7 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a beautiful little boutique hotel. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and the room was huge.the decor is so charming and the bed was very comfortable. This is a fab place to stay. I have not one negative thing to say. We stayed here twice and loved it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is snug. If you are renting a car, go for a medium to small car. If you are ok walking,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
R D wrote a review Jul 2021
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada27 contributions6 helpful votes
This 'boutique hotel' is actually run as a self-serve airbnb style rooms. The bed in #4 has a huge dip in the middle. There was an unadvertised continental breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. There is a Sobeys nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in #4 - bad bed.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Clarke, Marketing at Cabot Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We had made a switch to steel bed frames, to provide for easy luggage storage and to lessen the amount of "fabric" in an effort to be hypoallergenic. What we did not anticipate was the frame slipping apart in the middle. King size beds box springs are in two portions:( We have now wired them together and hopefully this will never happen again. We are very sorry that this happened to you. We use extreme quality mattresses, but they do need proper support. We have two onsite caretakers but with COVID, ever with our staff fully vaccinated, we try to limit guest interaction in an effort to make our clients feel secure. Thank-you so much for having reminded us about the steel bed frames. Even with our Province's high vaccination rate we will follow extreme social distancing where possible.
Read more
Derek S wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Scheduled very early in 2020 for June and was not allowed to enter country due to COVID19 so Canada closed on us. Refused to refund us money, only offered credit. Well here we are in 2021, and Border is still closed, and still refuses to refund us our money or even respond. All I want is to me made right, we are impacted by COVID too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
oriel e wrote a review Sep 2020
Toronto, Canada163 contributions115 helpful votes
You know how sometimes you look at hotel rooms online and when you see them in person they look nothing like the picture? Not the case here, we loved our room. It looked exactly like advertised and we were so surprised about its size, it was a huge room with high ceilings and even a small balcony. The hotel's location is prime, only about 10 mins to Water street, George street and few mins to the Basilica. Just behind the hotel you can find Bannerman park and many other sights. Breakfast was simple and it starts at 8am. They offer some cereals, milk, coffee, bread, and muffins, but there is a fridge and you are free to buy some groceries and prepare your own, as we did. We bought cold colds, cheese, yogurts and fruit and complemented our breakfast. Make sure you label your food as many might be confused to think the hotel provides these items. Our room was clean when we got there but after our 2 night there we had to call housekeeping for new towels. We requested a main floor room as my mother has mobility issues and were happy with our choice as the stairs looked very steep. Our bed wasnt made during our stay despite leaving the sign on the door. As explained by the housekeeper, this is due to the pandemic and they do not enter rooms unless requested which is understandable. Parking is free just behind the property, but it is very tight, I did see an F150 parked there so kudos to that driver! We really loved our stay and will definitely book again on our next trip to St Johns.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Request rooms on the main floor if you have mobility issues, stairs a steep.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Leonard Clarke, Marketing at Cabot Boutique Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We try to alert all guests that our onsite parking is limited to small to mid size vehicles. There is a large public parking lot a few hundred feet to the South which can accommodate vary large vehicles. Your comments on housekeeping are totally accurate. We need a Plan B for towel changes. We have literally hundreds of towels in proper storage and changing them daily is a non issue. It is just a matter of fine tuning a proper alert mechanism without putting our guests to the bother of making a call. Thank you for bring this matter to our attention. Your kind comments are very much appreciated!!
Read more
PSIMKO wrote a review Mar 2020
Manitoba, Canada129 contributions21 helpful votes
Host refused to refund my large deposit despite being encouraged by hosting company (it wasn’t TA) to do so. Host did not care that I have a documented medical condition and that I was giving him over 2 months notice. Told me I should have purchased insurance. Nice. Won’t be staying in any of this persons listings nor would I recommend Cabot House Boutique Hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from CabotHouse, Manager at Cabot Boutique Hotel
Responded 6 Apr 2020
Unfortunately, your request to cancel had nothing to do with covid 19. We tried to offer you different options regarding the cancellation, but none was acceptable to you. We do what we can to work with our clients to mitigate impact of travel changes and resolve all issues in mutually acceptable ways.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
USD 62 - USD 167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Cabot Guest House
LOCATION
CanadaNewfoundland and LabradorNewfoundlandSt. John's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cabot Boutique Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Nearby attractions include North Head Trail (1.0 km), Signal Hill (1.2 km), and The Rooms (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peaceful Loft, Raymonds Restaurant, and Piatto.
Is Cabot Boutique Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of St. John's.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cabot Boutique Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Russian, and Arabic.
Are there any historical sites close to Cabot Boutique Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Signal Hill (1.2 km), Quidi Vidi Battery (2.9 km), and National War Memorial (0.5 km).
Does Cabot Boutique Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.