Arbutus Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arbutus Inn

2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9 Canada
Traveller (43)
Panorama of the Deluxe King Room at the Arbutus Inn
360
Panoramas (8)
Room with Two Double Beds, Includes mini fridge and microwave, free parking and free wifi.
Room & Suite (122)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$237
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#36 of 42 hotels in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Victoria Intl Airport
23.3 km
See all flights
Inner Harbour Airport
282Reviews9Q+A52Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 104
  • 83
  • 57
  • 19
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Elyse wrote a review Oct 2021
Caledon, Canada188 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The hotel was newly renovated with new beds and a nice new and clean bathroom. Both my husband and I found the hotel to be slightly on the pricey side for a standard room. This hotel did not offer a pool nor Hot tub. Parking was available at the premise for no additional cost. About a 20-25 minute walk to the parliament buildings in downtown Victoria. Friendly staff. They need to upgrade their inferior in room coffee makers to make it past a 3 star location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claudio DiPiero, General Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to see that you did enjoy your stay. Unfortunately we do not have a hot tub or pool. We glad to see that you were able to make it walking to the Parliament Building in 20-25 mins and got to see the sites of the inner harbor. All the best in future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Winstongate wrote a review Mar 2021
Vancouver, Canada164 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a still being renovated old hotel. Price was very good almost cheap, free parking, staff were friendly, polite and engaging. If you had questions about the city they would be happy to help. Had room 218 right outside office and lobby, could hear every conversation in lobby and people walking in and out into the corridors but at night it was very quiet. Bathroom was amazing! A dimmer switch would be nice for a relaxing bath, light was bright or a nightlight would work too. Tub was the best and shower was lovely. Only used the rainfall shower head. Couldn’t work the wand. Fab microwave and fridge, would have loved a kettle. Reminded me of staying in England, older hotel but lots of modern amenities! Peep hole was too high for me but safe hotel. Would recommend and definitely stay again. 💕
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cla DiPiero, General Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. It was great to have you as a guest in the hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again on a future trip to Victoria. All the best in your travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan S wrote a review Aug 2023
Vancouver, Canada39 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The facility is basic but quite adequate and clean. It's set back, off Douglas Street. My room was on the building's back side and was very quiet. The weather was hot when I was there, but the room can be cooled with AC. Soft drinks and snacks (e.g. chips) are available in the lobby. Other than that, no food service is on site, and no restaurant is nearby. Therefore, if one wants something to eat before heading out in the morning, it's a good plan to bring breakfast supplies. The room has a microwave and coffee maker, as well as a small 2-door fridge-freezer. It's ideally located on Douglas Street, with easy city bus access to downtown Victoria. I was very comfortable and will book again if I'm in Victoria.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There's adequate guest parking and no need to drive the car when exploring downtown Victoria.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ron t wrote a review Jan 2022
20 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First off, I found all staff members to be friendly. My room was exceptionally clean...I felt very comfortable in there, it was obvious the cleaning team was conscientious and detail oriented.
My reason for giving only a one star review is due to the fact that it seems street people frequent the lobby of the hotel to use the vending machine. I was confronted and threatened by one individual, a raging drugged up fellow, and judging by the non reaction off the staff member, I would suggest that this wasn't out of the ordinary at all. The situation was frightening and there was no support from the staff member. The individual wasn't asked to leave, or to not return, the staff member didn't leave his seat behind the counter to offer any support in the event that I was attacked.
I did mention to the fellow who assisted me to check out in the morning, who did show concern; however no one from the management team has contacted me in an attempt to try to make this right and encourage me to give them another try.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mountain820 wrote a review Sept 2021
Winnipeg, Canada146 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Although the staff is friendly and the building is well maintained, I had two significant problems during my stay. My room (main floor) was unbelievably hot due to a hallway radiator that I could not control.

Sound travels easily between rooms, and I heard quite a bit of noise. I had trouble sleeping.

I did look at other reviews before booking this stay, and I think the property reviews (skewing to Excellent) are not representative. It's possible that the upper floor may be quieter.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Upper floor may be quieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claudio DiPiero, General Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and comments. I am sorry you had some trouble sleeping due to sound travel. We do appreciate your business and wish you all the best with your travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helgala@live.com wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 night in the Arbutus Inn recently and found a constant smell of active cigarette smoking on both floors. The cigarette smell came into our room through the door, we had to use articles of clothing to seal up the door . Each time we brought up the smoking with the desk staff they pretended to show concern, then walked down the hallway seemingly to find the source of the smoke only to simply turn around and walk back to the desk without doing anything. Staff and guests alike were openly smoking cigarettes by the open front door. Cigarette butts all over the ground. Staff attempted to disguise smell with heavy perfume air fresheners. On one of the mornings an alarm went off in one of the suite doors. The alarm went off at 7:45 a.m. Staff neglected to turn off the alarm until 8:48. Rude and dismissive manager conducted himself as a mafioso not a professional hotelier. Our experience here ruined what should have been a nice holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian K wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They did not respect my space and entered my room while I was at work when I was told they they do not enter rooms on extended visits. If they had asked to inspect the room after the third day I would have obliged but they broke their promise as it was their announcement that they do not enter the rooms. I feel like they don't trust their customers and I feel that this business deserves the low reviews it gets from it's customers simply because they do not respect their customers privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cla DiPiero, General Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 7 Feb 2024
Hello. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate the feedback, and we apologize that you had the feeling of no respect. We do respect all of our guests. While yes, we do not enter the room during your stay there may have been some mis communication that a request may have been made to do the housekeeping in your room. Again, apologies, we do appreciate your business and all the best in any future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barbara D wrote a review Aug 2023
Qualicum Beach, Canada329 contributions118 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent. Basic motel/hotel but very clean and comfortable. Pleasant check-in and check-out, good WiFi, lots of parking, beds a bit hard for our liking, but that's just personal preference. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doug H wrote a review Aug 2021
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After having my mother admitted to hospital, and needing to find last-minute accommodation for my father so he could stay close, Claudio and the team really stepped up to make sure everything was taken care of. Being stuck behind closed borders in Australia and trying to coordinate things from half a world away, having the Arbutus Inn team help out my father was such a wonderful and comforting experience.

Thank you to you and your team for being so caring, accommodating and adaptable to our constantly moving situation.

In the midst of COVID shutdowns, high season and an influx of students, this could have been a horrifying experience; instead, it was a heartening and easy one. I know it wouldn’t have been an easy feat, and the nature of what you’ve been working with isn’t lost on me or my family.

What wonderful service.

Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claudio DiPiero, General Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2022
Hello, Thank you for your review and kinds works. We appreciate your feedback and the hotel was more than happy to help out your father during what was a very hard time for your family. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dianna463 wrote a review Feb 2020
Nanaimo, Canada43 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was welcomed by very friendly desk staff even though I arrived a little before check- in. I was offered assistance more than once for th A/C, or anything else for that matter.
Room wasn’t huge but certainly adequate for 1 or 2 people.
Fridge/freezer, microwave & coffee pot in room. Free Wifi, flat screen TV with cable.
Everything was very nice indeed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I was in a ground level room facing a busy road, I was worried about noise. Didn’t hear a thing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Hello Dianna463, Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful words and comments of the hotel and the staff. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We are very happy to see that you found that the hotel fit your needs for a nice stay in Victoria. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again for your review on Tripadvisor.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MAL153 asked a question Jan 2019
New York City, New York1 contribution1 helpful vote
If our flight gets in at midnight will it be a problem to get a taxi to the Inn?
Answer from TIGGERALA
Alamosa, Colorado232 contributions67 helpful votes
Shouldn’t be a problem. It is on a major highway, taxi’s and transportation services are available. In fact, the hotel has a rental car facility attached to them, you might ask the hotel for assistance, maybe they will be able to pick you up. Cheers
Andrew S asked a question Aug 2017
1 contribution
How long walk to down town Victoria ?
Answer from ArbutusInn
Victoria, Canada
To walk to Chinatown from the Arbutus will take about 15 to 20 mins and then from there to the Empress Hotel which is in the harbor would take about another 15 or so mins. You can always google on mapquest for the walking distance. Hope this helps.
Answer from ArbutusInn
Victoria, Canada
Hello. No we are not in walking distance to the BC Ferry Terminal. You would need to take the bus or a taxi. The BC Ferry terminal is located in Sidney BC which is about a 30 min drive from the hotel. There is other boat transportation to Victoria that arrive into the inner harbor which is a 10 min taxi ride from the hotel. These would come from Seattle or from Port Angeles and come direct to Victoria.
Answer from ArbutusInn
Victoria, Canada
Hello Nancy, At this time the rate for the two days you are asking a rate on is $179.95 plus taxes per night. This price is subject to change. It will only be confirmed once you decide to book. This room would include a full kitchen and one king bed, free parking and free hotel wifi.
Susan S wrote a tip Aug 2023
Vancouver, Canada39 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There's adequate guest parking and no need to drive the car when exploring downtown Victoria."
Read full review
mountain820 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Winnipeg, Canada146 contributions110 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upper floor may be quieter"
Read full review
dianna463 wrote a tip Feb 2020
Nanaimo, Canada43 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in a ground level room facing a busy road, I was worried about noise. Didn’t hear a thing although I did have the A/C running."
Read full review
CherieTanya wrote a tip Apr 2019
Vancouver, Canada19 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to test the beds first, and check that the window can be opened."
Read full review
jack123156 wrote a tip Oct 2018
calgary,canada38 contributions69 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"book elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Victoria area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$150 - AU$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arbutus hotel victoria, travellers hotel victoria, travellers hotel central
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travellers Inn Central
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictVictoriaBurnside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARBUTUS INN (AU$150): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Victoria, Canada) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arbutus Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Arbutus Inn?
Nearby attractions include Point Ellice House Museum and Gardens (0.8 km), Capital Iron (1.2 km), and Gorge Waterway Park (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arbutus Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a 24 hour front desk.
Which room amenities are available at Arbutus Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Arbutus Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arbutus Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Ruby, Spoons Diner, and Glo Restaurant & Lounge.
Are there any historical sites close to Arbutus Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Legislative Assembly of British Columbia (2.3 km), Craigdarroch Castle (2.8 km), and Empress Hotel National Historic Site of Canada (2.2 km).
Is Arbutus Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Victoria HotelsVictoria Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Victoria
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars