We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Seattle
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked a 2 Queen beds in a apartment that clearly stated 4 adult occupancy. After the booking, within few minutes the owner called and said the room rate is only for 2 adults and she will charge me 120$ extra for the additional two adults, which is outrageous!! She was Rude and Sarcastic when I mentioned the travel website...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Journey_4Ever
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I have been attempting to resolve this issue and have determined that the third party booking agent misinterpreted the information on Hemingway's website. To this end, I am prepared to return payment to these guests, however it cannot be done through the third party agent. Since I have no way of contacting this guest directly, I am asking for these...

Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Loved this B&B, the breakfast was wonderful with farm fresh eggs, homemade jam, yummy sausage, and perfect coffee. Owner goes above and beyond with making you feel welcome. She is very knowledgeable about the city and has great activitie suggestions. The house is nice and cozy just like visiting family.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Volguy1984
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that I could make you feel like you were with family. That is about the highest compliment I could get. That has always been my purpose, so your feedback warmed my heart. Many thanks. Ilona

Fleming Island, Florida
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My first experience with a bed and breakfast, and I was completely enveloped in warmth by our wonderful hostess, Ilona! Our room was very clean and comfy, and was a short 10 minute walk to the little boat taxi that takes you to town. We would definitely stay here again. Our breakfast was amazing, and Ilona was very knowledgable about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind review. Our last review "Let Down" was quite shocking as we rarely get negative reviews. The warmth of your wonderful review more that made up for the terrible feeling we got from the last negative review. We work very hard to make sure our guests are well looked after and we try to keep the...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 July 2014

While the owner of this B&B tried very hard to accommodate us, we were extremely let down and felt misled by the website. We expected to see lots of old world charm in this place and knew that it wasn't going to be 'new', but we didn't expect there to be outdated carpeting throughout and a dirty odour. Everything seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank kickin_11
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Reading your review is quite shock. If anyone looks at our overall reviews you will see that the majority rate us excellent or very good. So when we get a very poor review like this it disturbs me. We certainly look into every complaint that we get and attempt to rectify anything we find out of place. We are constantly...

Oregon, Ohio
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent very wonderful time for staying. We got a lot of advices for sight seeing from host. It was very helpfull for us. We want to stay next time . Also we want to recommend this B&B for my friend or family.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank d_style0901
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay and that I had a small part in making your trip memorable. I look forward to your return. Ilona

Oceanside, New York
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This a nice house situated in a residential neighborhood. Ilona is a very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hostess. The breakfasts she cooks are good and substantial. Just be aware that the location is fairly far away from town (we did walk it, but it is a very long walk) and this is not really a bed and breakfast per se,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elliot S
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments. I try hard to make sure every customer enjoys their stay and gets what they need to make their visit enjoyable. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and stayed there for the last two nights of our visit to the Island. It was a very nice and relaxing place to stay. Ilona was a great hostess who was a delight to talk to and provided great breakfasts.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian L
hemingwaysbythesea, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice review. I am glad your found our place relaxing. I try to make it that way and so it is nice to hear that it is working. I also take pride in my breakfasts, so it is great to hear that they are enjoyed. Come back again. Ilona

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and I came here for my birthday week and it was so relaxing. The B&B was right by a beach/ park called Macauley Park, so it was nice that the beach was right there. The B&B was in a very quiet neighbourhood which was nice b/c we're from a busy city. The owners were so nice and quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan N
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your birthday week. We are happy we could help make it better. That is our job, so it is really nice to get the feedback. Come back again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My friend and I booked our weekend stay at Hemingway's via Hotels.com where we paid $178/night plus tax for the 2 bedroom apartment (named as The Lion's Den on Hemingway's own personal website). Upon arrival, we were disappointed to find that the property was not quite as pictured on the websites (hotels.com and hemingway's own site). Although we were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soni k
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you are disappointed in your stay with us. Your booking came through from Hotels.com and it was for one room for two people. When you arrived, for some reason you thought you had booked two rooms. So, to accommodate your needs, I gave you a very special rate on the two rooms. If you had...

Redmond, Oregon
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary with a trip to Vancouver Island. Hemingway's-by-the-Sea was our first stop. We stayed four nights. My husband and I have been staying in Bed and Breakfasts for almost 30 years. Ilona stands far and above any of the innkeepers we've met. We stayed in the Key West room. Waiting for us was an anniversary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorri W
Ilona154945, Owner at Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the very kind words. We are oh so glad that we could make your anniversary a bit more special. Ilona and Nicole

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
956 reviews
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
267 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hemingway's By the Sea is a beautiful B&B in supernatural Victoria British Columbia Canada on Vancouver Island. Hemingway's is an elegant Victorian Tudor-Style B&B filled with charm, comfort, romance and warm hospitality. We are only 3.8 km (2.36 miles & 7 minutes from downtown), 2 blocks from the ocean (Fleming Beach) and just 1.6 km (1 mile) to spectacular Saxe Point Park with stunning views of Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1028 Bewdley Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 6S9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $149 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hemingways By the Sea Bed and Breakfast Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is a huge suite with private balcony overlooking the back garden.”
 of 5 bubbles B1948WSmaryl, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Being a B&B some rooms have bathroom inside, some dont.”
 of 5 bubbles Totello, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger suite as it has ensuite bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles xpla, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room with the bathroom in the suite.You do get a bathroom assigned to your room, however.”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniebY9373MZ, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A front facing as on a clear day you can see the sea.”
 of 5 bubbles dianed712, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5