We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

AMOMAUSD 98*
View Deal
#18 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 152*
USD 98*
USD 114*
USD 115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,032 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 975: English reviews
Friendship, Maine
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Easy walk to Chinatown and Government Blvd shopping and restaurants. Great room, helpful staff, comfortable bed.Would definitely stay here again!! We took a taxi from the Black Ball Ferry to the hotel for 7 dollars.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quita1961
Lina J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Quita, for taking the time to write this review. We are centrally located in the downtown, Victoria. Our location gives us the benefit of being close to all the main tourist attractions, shopping of all kinds, and transportation. We definitely hope see you again.

Nanaimo
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This old hotel has been kept up nicely. Our room, upgraded by the front desk staff unexpectedly, was updated with modern amenities and clean. The staff all very friendly and helpfull semmingly going out of their way at times to accomodate. The valet parking is a nice feature, considering the buildings city core location, which makes it alot less stressful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale8675309
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Dale for this great review! I'm glad to hear you had a nice trip to Victoria. As stated in this review we offer suites as well as traditional rooms at the hotel. They boast a full kitchen, pull out sofa and seating area and tend to cost $20 more per night than a traditional counterpart. I will be...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at for any stays in Victoria. It is centrally located and just a walk away from the two main streets and downtown areas for shopping and sightseeing We always use this hotel whenever we are down for the weekend as it is so versatile for our needs.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter r
Lina J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for such a nice review. As stated in this review, our hotel is in the heart of the downtown, Victoria. We are surrounded by many restaurants, shopping of all needs and tourist attractions. We are extremely happy that you enjoy staying at our hotel and it suits your needs. Thank you for continuing to choose to stay...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 20 September 2014

NEVER ever stay at this hotel. They take your money for a room and do not disclose at any time that you will not be able to sleep. A club plays deafening techno music with drums and bass. If you call to complain you are then told to take the earplugs out of the top drawer of the nightstand and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jensen59
Lina J, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

On behalf of entire team, we sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced and thank you very much for the information that you have provided in this review. The issue with noise you encountered is unacceptable and any sound from the lease establishment should never be heard in any of our guest rooms. It is written agreement that we...

Crescent City, California
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Spent 3 nights on the fifth floor corner suite, very nice. Hotel offers bicycles to guest for free, which I thought was neat. Cars are parked by valet at 15 dollars a night with no other options, but valet were quick to retrieve when needed. Did not offer free breakfast that I have become used to in the states. Stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie N Paul G
Rebecca S, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Julie and Paul for your kind review and supplying future guests with wonderful images of our hotel. We do offer complimentary bicycle rentals for all our guests, which can be used all year round. We are located in the heart of downtown Victoria and bicycles can be a convenient form of transportation. As mentioned in this review we...

Santa Rosa, CA
Reviewed 17 September 2014

My husband and I spent six fabulous days in Victoria. Not wanting to spend much money on this trip, I booked the downtown Carlton Plaza for its central location and reasonable room rates. It's one of several Best Western properties in Victoria. Although the hotel could use a facelift, we got more for our money than we expected. Location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgreene
Rebecca S, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs. Green for this lovely review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful. We are in the middle of doing some renovations on our rooms and building to help provide more value for our guests. As stated in this review we are centrally located in the heart of...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We were in Victoria for 2 nights and went with our travel agents recommendation for accommodation rather than investigating it ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly but the décor was very "tired" and old fashioned. The location was ok, within the easy walking distance of the key Victoria attractions, but was not on the actual waterfront....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jo for your review and the kind words you have about our staff. We are happy to announce that over the winter we will be replacing all of the furniture on the side of the building you stayed in. I am also bringing your concern of noise to the owner of the bar. They are obligated to never...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Horrible! Do not stay here unless you want to stay up all night listening to the techno music pounding from the ground floor nightclub until 2:30 in the morning! I didn't sleep at all. After the music finally stopped, the garbage trucks made their entrance at dawn, beeping and slamming dumpsters. This was all made worse by the sparse room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter L
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for the information provided in this review. We are very sorry about the experience you had at our property and will be taking this feedback to improve how things are run. The issues you had with noise from the bar three floors down (the 1st floor, and Lobby floor are both in between) are completely unacceptable. Noise...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2014

This is a great place to stay, Location is great, within walking distance to the Inner Harbour and local attractions. Very large, clean room with kitchenette, large fridge and two double beds; came as a total surprise as we were expecting a standard room. The staff were very friendly and helpful; valet parking is the only way you can park,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean, thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade into one of our studio suites. The room described has two double beds, and also a full kitchen with seating area and pull out sofa. For any guests planning on doing a bit of relaxing and spending more time at the hotel, I...

Surrey
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Love staying at this hotel, very central and staff is always very friendly and helpful. I wish there was on site parking because I feel bad for valets as I come and go quite a bit. They never have a problem with it though.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Norman, thank you very much for taking a few minutes to leave us this great review! I'm glad that we're able to make your stays in Victoria a bit more comfortable when you're traveling on business. As stated in this review, we do have valet parking (like the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking...

361 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
Family Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
1,378 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,515 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $131 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
West Linn, Oregon
over a year ago
Gig Harbor, Washington
4 months ago
Gig Harbor, Washington
4 months ago
Kalispell
6 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
385bettyc, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Johnson Street have views over the city to the mountains. A room at the end of a corridor away from lifts are quieter.”
  • Late afternoon from our room
977tonyc, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just one block from the center of activity; 8 blocks to Empress Hotel.”
PeterGunnOne, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for back of hotel or a high floor”
paulcU2272BY, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving use the valet, its worth the price.”
164dons, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
USD 98* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 114
BestWestern.comUSD 115
HotelQuicklyUSD 152
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates