We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 53 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 950: English reviews
Santa Rosa, CA
Reviewed 17 September 2014

My husband and I spent six fabulous days in Victoria. Not wanting to spend much money on this trip, I booked the downtown Carlton Plaza for its central location and reasonable room rates. It's one of several Best Western properties in Victoria. Although the hotel could use a facelift, we got more for our money than we expected. Location was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgreene
Rebecca S, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs. Green for this lovely review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful. We are in the middle of doing some renovations on our rooms and building to help provide more value for our guests. As stated in this review we are centrally located in the heart of...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2014

We were in Victoria for 2 nights and went with our travel agents recommendation for accommodation rather than investigating it ourselves. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly but the décor was very "tired" and old fashioned. The location was ok, within the easy walking distance of the key Victoria attractions, but was not on the actual waterfront....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Jo for your review and the kind words you have about our staff. We are happy to announce that over the winter we will be replacing all of the furniture on the side of the building you stayed in. I am also bringing your concern of noise to the owner of the bar. They are obligated to never...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Horrible! Do not stay here unless you want to stay up all night listening to the techno music pounding from the ground floor nightclub until 2:30 in the morning! I didn't sleep at all. After the music finally stopped, the garbage trucks made their entrance at dawn, beeping and slamming dumpsters. This was all made worse by the sparse room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Peter L
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Peter for the information provided in this review. We are very sorry about the experience you had at our property and will be taking this feedback to improve how things are run. The issues you had with noise from the bar three floors down (the 1st floor, and Lobby floor are both in between) are completely unacceptable. Noise...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 9 September 2014

This is a great place to stay, Location is great, within walking distance to the Inner Harbour and local attractions. Very large, clean room with kitchenette, large fridge and two double beds; came as a total surprise as we were expecting a standard room. The staff were very friendly and helpful; valet parking is the only way you can park,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jean, thanks so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade into one of our studio suites. The room described has two double beds, and also a full kitchen with seating area and pull out sofa. For any guests planning on doing a bit of relaxing and spending more time at the hotel, I...

Surrey
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Love staying at this hotel, very central and staff is always very friendly and helpful. I wish there was on site parking because I feel bad for valets as I come and go quite a bit. They never have a problem with it though.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman R
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Norman, thank you very much for taking a few minutes to leave us this great review! I'm glad that we're able to make your stays in Victoria a bit more comfortable when you're traveling on business. As stated in this review, we do have valet parking (like the majority of downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 September 2014

just spent the weekend in Victoria. did a 3 day Clipper package with this hotel as part of the package. It's conveniently located. A few blocks from everything but off the beaten path. Hotel was clean but the hotel freshener in the rooms was overwhelming but they have hypoallergenic rooms that are perfect!!! This was inexpensive. The hotel has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen b
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen! We're so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Victoria. Our comfy, clean, well appointed rooms, friendly staff and great location attract many repeat guests, so it's always great to hear when someone has a good first time visit as well! Although we do use some scented cleaners, we are of course more than happy to accommodate sensitivities...

Ottawa
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This place was great. Clean, comfy beds and in the heart of downtown Victoria. Very peaceful stay. Typical room sizes and aged looking appropriate. Tad expensive as much cheaper motels and hotels are only a couple kms away, but for downtown - appears to be a good deal. Includes wifi but unlike (all) other BW, no breakfast buffet! What????

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Greg and thanks for taking a few minutes to write us this review. As stated, we are located right in the heart of Victoria- walking distance to everything you might need whether that be transit, sights, attractions, restaurants or local business. Although we do not have a continental breakfast, the Stone's Throw Restaurant is located through our lobby...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Walked in to my room and was amazed by the view from my corner room with windows looking 3 directions. The room even came with a kitchen and was very clean. The valet service is fast and courteous although I would prefer to park it myself, not an option here as they park a couple blocks away. This was my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick G
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your Rick for this glowing review! As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Guests who wish to park themselves are absolutely welcome to do so- though they do require a valet escort to let...

victoria, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Centrally located to all you would want to see in Downtown Victoria. Great eating locations all around Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Valet parking was nice but I thought a bit expensive since they don't have parking on site. Worth the value for sure.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey G
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Jeffery for this thoughtful review. As with most downtown hotels, we do not have onsite parking. Our parking costs $13 per night, and because it is located off site, we provide an unlimited 24 hour valet service. Our location is one of our strengths as we're right in the downtown area just steps away from all the restaurants, sights,...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Had a great stay in Victoria with the help from friendly knowledgeable staff. Our hotel room was upgraded to a suite and a complementary gift surprised us upon our return to our room that evening. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely be staying at the Best Western PLUS Carlton in Victoria again!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
Samantha B, Front Office Supervisor at BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much Liz! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. Our suite rooms typically cost $20 more per night than the traditional rooms and boast a larger floor plan, full kitchen, and a seating area with pull out sofa. We look forward to seeing you again!

350 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (36)
Viewed
Family Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 53 in Victoria
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 53 in Victoria
946 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 53 in Victoria
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Price Range: $123 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
#23 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
West Linn, Oregon
over a year ago
Gig Harbor, Washington
28 days ago
Gig Harbor, Washington
28 days ago
Kalispell
3 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 385bettyc, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Johnson Street have views over the city to the mountains. A room at the end of a corridor away from lifts are quieter.”
  • Late afternoon from our room
 of 5 bubbles 977tonyc, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just one block from the center of activity; 8 blocks to Empress Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles PeterGunnOne, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for back of hotel or a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles paulcU2272BY, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are driving use the valet, its worth the price.”
 of 5 bubbles 164dons, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay